We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair value for money, but needs to sharpen up”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Makedonia Ltd
Ranked #916 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I stayed here for three nights whilst participating in a conference based nearby. A key point for me was the ability to have internet access throughout my stay, as I needed to get work done whilst not at the conference venue. On checking in I was not advised of any issues, but could not get online, and when I queried it with the folks at reception, I was simply informed that it wasn't working. No word of apology.

The room was OK, reasonably quiet and comfortable, if a little well worn. I didn't get involved in breakfast, so can't comment on that.

On checking out, again no mention or apology about the lack of internet access, no discount offered by way of compensation for the major inconvenience caused.

If I had been able to get online, as advertised, I would have rated this hotel as "Very Good"and in many respects it was good value given the location, but the poor customer service let them down.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2013

Quick business trip stop. Doesn't look much from the outside, but the room was clean, very nicely furnished, had great wifi, and a hot shower - all you need. Friendly staff. Will use again if needed. 3 minutes walk from the tube, and 5 minutes walk from a few restaurants and shops.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
Thank sunshine2107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I took my boyfriend to Emirates Stadium as a surprise for his birthday in October 2012. Very close to public transport stations, excellent customer service and brilliant breakfast. Complimentary fruit, bottle of water, selection of teas, coffees and hot chocolates when we arrived at our room. We even had complimentary slippers. Fab décor and a relaxing environment ad pleasant stay. We even recommended it to our friends who were there July 2013 as it was that brilliant.

Room Tip: Everything was brilliant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NatPat007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Stayed here for two nights over the August Bank holiday and overall the hotel is good value for money (we paid less than £100 for two nights b&b). So to the good and not so good points:

Good
- Cheap (for London)
- Good location for tube and visiting central London
- Rooms clean and modern, good range of fruit, tea/coffee,
- Nice continental breakfast in keeping with the greek theme (olives, feta cheese, tomato's)

Bad
- Overlooks Pentonville Prison - no point in asking for a room with a view
- Seems to be on the most popular route for police car chases - think Hill Street Blues
- Inconsistent room cleaning/servicing - on day two we didn't get left any milk
- Late night plate smashing and loud renditions of Zorba The Greek

Overall would certainly stay here again, just a few niggles but for the price you cant knock it.




PS: Yes "bad" point 4 was a joke...but may be an option for a future theme night!

Room Tip: If your looking for a room with a "view" look elsewhere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smudger2078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

I have no complaints, having considered how much I paid. But the other reviewers are right. Narrow stairs and corridors AND noise are problems. If you are like me from Asia, you should manage your expectations when booking this kind of 'hotel'. Bear in mind this is a family-run small hotel. It's more like a hostel in most Asian countries. You should be happy staying there if you pay something less than 80.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the hotell for 4 nights. I would have given this hotell 5 cause the low price, good service from the staff and good breakfast. The room was not in great shape. The people who have renovated the room didnt do a good job. U could see this in the bathroom, the floor and the toilet was so close to the window i Couldnt sit correctly. So therefor i give this hotell 2. Another pluss is the stairs, free exersice.

1  Thank Steinar S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 16 July 2013

My friend and I stayed from 5th to 7th July 2013. Reception staff always pleasant and helpful as was the lovely lady that served breakfast. The rooms were very nicely decorated and spotlessly clean. Bathrrom facilities were great, tea and coffe, plus a fruit bowl and bottle of mineral water were all in our room on arrival. The maids came in and cleaned up very efficiently (kindly lining up all our alcohol on the dressing table lol) although some guests were a little inconsiderate with slamming doors (tho I'm sure we were just as noisy returning back late at night!!) Plenty of choice for breakfast, all fresh and plentiful. The hotel is 5 minutes walk down from Caledonia Road tube station, and is on the night bus (N91) route home, with a bus stop literally around the corner. Caledonia Road is on the Picadilly line so you can be right in the centre of London in ten minutes. Brillaint hotel, lovely staff, great facilities and very centrally placed without being in the middle of noisy London....what more can you ask for?? The only negative was the stairs (no lit and a little maze like to negotiate when dragging a heavy bag, or indeed drunk!)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank j-lo40uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
0.6 mi away
Corner House Hotel
Corner House Hotel
#761 of 1,077 in London
427 reviews
1.3 mi away
Travelodge London Finsbury Park hotel
1.6 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#660 of 1,077 in London
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Pembury Hotel
Pembury Hotel
#892 of 1,077 in London
412 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Langorf Hotel
The Langorf Hotel
#633 of 1,077 in London
668 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western London Highbury
Best Western London Highbury
#545 of 1,077 in London
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Makedonia Ltd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Makedonia Ltd

Address: 427 Caledonian Road | Islington, London N7 9BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #916 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: £74 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Makedonia Ltd 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Makedonia Ltd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing