We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good quality food”
Review of Pizarro

Pizarro
Ranked #729 of 22,659 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Southwark
Description: The full-sized restaurant is one block away from my sherry and tapas bar, José, on Bermondsey Street. At the front there is a bar, offering a great selection of sherries and Spanish wines, with a spotlight on cavas, Spanish style gin tónicas and Spanish vermút. Here, at the window seats overlooking the lovely church of St Mary Magdalen or at the long communal table or at the bar itself, you can have a drink and graze on snacks, cheese, cold cuts and special tapas all day long. At the rear is more formal restaurant seating - tables for 2 and 4, banquettes for 4-5, a large communal table for 8-10 people and a private dining room for 8-10 people. The restaurant is open for lunch and dinner in the evening all day from Monday until Sunday. When the restaurant area is open, the restaurant food menu is available in both the restaurant and the bar. We offer a selection of small and more substantial dishes that can be served as starters and mains or as tapas for sharing. As usual, I want to bring you delicious food with bright new flavours - the season's best on a plate. We take reservations for lunch and dinner in the restaurant and private dining tables, but hold the bar seating back for walk-ins.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Really good quality food”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We were lucky to only have a short wait when we arrived for a lateish dinner on a Wednesday, as it was understandably busy. The food was really absolutely excellent (I had Octopus starter and Lamb main) and would strongly recommend it. The wine list is impressively extensive. It isn't the cheapest, but the quality does justify the price and you could easily spend a lot more on a meal in London that won't be as good as this.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    145
    54
    19
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Why the fuss?”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

This is a very Spanish restaurant - busy, lively, friendly and very noisy. A lot of people must like that as it was packed the night we went. But, in my view, it has the disadvantage of similar Spanish restaurants. It can't decide what it is - tapas bar with small plates or restaurant with starters, mains and desserts. The result is a somewhat confusing menu and confusing meal. Further, although some of it was good (the chocolate, strawberry and olive dessert is unusual and very tasty), the food does not live up to expectations, the portions are small and it is expensive. We paid £60 a head (including wine) and I would not regard that a good value, given the overall mediocrity of the food. I will not run back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Morris_n2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Saturday luncheon”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Food amazing ... the Pedro Ximenez sherry at £6.50 per glass was to die for. Staff efficient, friendly and knowledgeable about the menu.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank anneboleyn26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Ok food, bad service”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Heard a lot about this restaurant so wanted to try it. Quite disappointing. We had the lamb shank which was ok but quite dry; the potato dish that came with it (for two persons) was so meagre it was laughable. We asked for some more which they gave and for which they charged extra...
The staff was unbelievably arrogant and not-responsive. Really quite unpleasant. After we were served the main course they were never to be seen again and totally forgot about us. We had to go up to the bar to ask for the bill..!! Needless to say there won't be a repeat visit.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank castorLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great fish!”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

I ate with a business colleague here at lunchtime. We both had fish, turbot, which was excellent, good selection of wines and helpful waitresses. Portions were relatively small but the taste and quality of the food made up for this. A good venue for lunch.

Helpful?
Thank RLionheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pizarro also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Pizarro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing