We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price, good for events, but a bit too far away for London centre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis Styles London Excel
Ranked #578 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I chose the hotel purely because I had an early morning return flight from London City a-port. The hotel is clean, staff is nice (apart from one Indian origin guy who practises his goodmorning in all the possible language and shouts Amore to ladies entering breakfast room, which may not be to everyones liking), breakfast ir basic, but ok, you can get good price deals, BUT if you chose it, be aware that it is rather far away from the centre and main atractions. Mind also that there from centre (Bank) there are only DLR routes to Lewisham and Woolwich Arsenal, so to get to Customs House you have to change (no direct trains from city centre).

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ezsme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisStylesLonExCel, Manager at Ibis Styles London Excel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Sir / Madam

Thank you for the review of your stay and your valuable feedback.

We're proud of the hotel, our refurbished rooms and great food offerings. Our location next to ExCel does have excellent links to the London attractions and using teh Jubilee Line rather than the DLR does speed the journey up rapidly with The Shard, London Eye and Green Park all under 25 minutes from the hotel.

We do hope to see you and yor friends again and meantime, many thanks

Ibis Styles London ExCel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,529)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

853 - 859 of 1,529 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014

I never leave reviews, good or bad, and rarely wish to say anything bad, but I feel I had to express my opinions on our short stay at this hotel.

After staying at the regular Ibis hotel on the other side of the DLR station, and how much we enjoyed that hotel we had high hopes for this one.

And, we were disappointed. The rooms themselves were clean, but with WHITE walls there was a lot of black smudges and smears all over the walls that just made the place look grubby. The electronic plug beneath the radiator was sloppily put in place and just harmed the look of the room, it was like not even the staff couldn't be bothered. There just wasn't a "wow" factor with the room that we were expecting to have.

When entering the room there is a noticeable 'lip' that is easy to trip on if don't know it's there, or forget about it. The doors are also troublesome; we had to slam it to close it properly... and this was about 11pm after being at the O2.

The bathroom; I think even Superman would have had trouble in there. I don't mind the style of bathrooms they have; very clean and hygienic and similar to the bathrooms in the other Ibis closer to the Excel Centre. But the Styles bathrooms are way too small and claustrophobic, I had to keep the shower door open!

And to top it all off; we noticed that previous residents had covered the SMOKE DETECTOR with tissue paper, we didn't notice however until we went to bed and looked up at it. We did mention this the next morning and it was dealt with by the time we got back, and I know that this is the fault of the previous residents and shame on them. But should a member of staff have noticed this?

Despite all that, this place does have good points;

Firstly, along with the hair dryer, coffee and tea, and wide screen tele, there was a safe which was nice, and pretty spacious too. All of our valuables could easily fit inside.

Secondly, the location. It is literally a five minute walk to the DLR and the Excel Centre as long as you don't mind the climb up the stairs. Not the hotels fault of course, there is a lot of building going on at the moment. There IS a lift if you don't fancy the climb (note to Oyster Card owners, the Oyster Reader is hidden behind one of the boards to the right at the top of the stairs). From that Station you are only a short trip away from the O2 and Jubilee line.

Thirdly, the staff were polite and happy to assist with any problems.

Overall: It certainly isn't the worst hotel we've been in, however we wouldn't stay here again by choice. And all honesty the Ibis on the other side is MUCH better.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisStylesLonExCel, Manager at Ibis Styles London Excel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Madam

Thank you for the review of your stay here and we're sorry that you were disappointed with this.

Our hotel has been completely refurbished and all our rooms and shower rooms have all been checked by Ibis and are approved by them. We're sorry they aren't to your liking. Maintenance have been advised of your comments and are looking into which room you were in.

The crossrail works near the hotel do not affect our hotel guests as they are only permitted to work daytime and therefore with guests being out at ExCel Shows or seeing the sites, then there is no impact on us.

We do hope to welcome you back and appreciate the feedback

Ibis Styles London ExCel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The hotel ticked all the right boxes for cleanliness and comfort, though the most pleasant surprise was the very good included buffet breakfast, which comprised both cooked and cold options. The rooms are not the largest, but adequate. The TV had the largest selection of channels I have seen in a budget hotel room, not that I had much chance to watch them. I bid on Priceline and got a very good rate, so can't complain about the value. Having stayed twice before near Excel, the Docklands Light Railway held no mysteries for me and it was easy to get into town for a night out. There are also a couple of buses that go to Stratford if you want a change from the DLR.

Room Tip: While the long-term road work is continuing it might be best to ask for a back room, though the work...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wansteader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisStylesLonExCel, Manager at Ibis Styles London Excel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Sir / Madam

Thanks for the review of your stay and we appreciate the feedback,

We're pleased you liked the hotel and what we have to offer, we've got a great hotel in a great location and its so easy to get to the attractions as well as the O2 and ExCel.

Hope to see you soon, just check out the deals on our website for some great offers and many thanks

Ibis Styles London ExCel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Visited the last weekend in June to see a show at the O2 and spend the rest of the weekend in the city. Fantastic location for the O2 and highly recommend getting the cable cars over to it..........back to the hotel. The rooms are small in comparison to other hotels but our room was very clean and quiet (we were at the back of the hotel). The breakfast was lovely and the staff were all very friendly and helpful. The pub that joins on to the hotel was open when we got back for a quick drink before bed. DLR station right opposite with easy access into
London.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donnaandbecs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisStylesLonExCel, Manager at Ibis Styles London Excel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Donna and Becs

Thanks for the review of the hotel and we hope you enjoyed the show.

Its nice and east to get to the O2 from here, so if theres anything else on that you fancy seeing, just think of us as a great stopover option next time you're in London.

The pub's a nice option for some pre-show eating, the O2 can get very busy but as you tested out, the pubs open late for a nightcap when you get back.

Cheers and see you soon

Ibis Styles London ExCel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We had difficulty finding the hotel initially as there are 2 Ibis hotel close to each other and we went to the wrong one.There are road works and road closures infront of this hotel at the moment which can make it a bit noisyif you need to open window.Saying that the work did stop at night.The breakfast was a bit haphazard as there was a lot of parties and foreign students staying there.We went into breakfast quite early hoping to miss crowds but unfortunately everybody had the same idea so there was no cutlery or plates available.Why not give customers a choice of breakfast times when they book in.Might help.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisStylesLonExCel, Manager at Ibis Styles London Excel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Julia

Thanks for the review of the hotel and you feedback from your recent stay.

This is very much appreciated and we do value what our guests have to say so that we can ensure a pleasant and comfortable stay.

I have sent your comments to our Food & Beverage Manager, any groups staying at the hotel are given a time to take breakfast to minimise any disruption to other guests but have noted the feedback and this will be actioned.

We do hope to see you again and many thanks

Ibis Styles London ExCel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Visited IFSEC exhibition in June and this hotel was closest to the Excel that still had rooms available. Hotel has great location - just across the road from Custom House DLR Station.
You can change at Canning Town for the Jubilee Line and get to Heathrow also in one and a half hour for 8.90£ using one day off-peak travel card for zones 1-6.
The staff friendly. Check in was quick and my room was clean and quite nice. Bed was comfortable and I slept good even though there is a railway construction site outside the hotel. They started around 8. Shower booth was very small and kind of plastic. Not enjoyable at all.
Also taxi drivers will take you to another IBIS nearer the Excel this one was not in their navigators but it is just 5 min walk over the railroad

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seppo_Antinpoika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisStylesLonExCel, Manager at Ibis Styles London Excel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Sir / Madam

Thank you for the review of your stay and I appreciate the feedback.

We do have a great location and are well situated for visiting London, the O2 and ExCel.

The hotel offers a great choice of eateries which I understand you enjoyed and thanks for the update.

We have a choice of rooms and different showers in the hotel so we can always offer an alternative room if available should this not be to your liking.

Hope to see you again and many thanks

Ibis styles London ExCel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Stayed for one night to give access to ExCel.

Staff reasonably good, polite.

Bar next door okay, but you really need more space around the pool table.

Rooms appear to be stamped out of a single piece of moulded plastic, and the bathroom looks like aportakabin bolted down in the corner of the room. Quite dreadul, but reasonably clean.

I wouldn't stay again out of choice.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisStylesLonExCel, Manager at Ibis Styles London Excel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Sir

Thank you for the review of your stay and taking the time to give us your feedback.

We do have a great location and are completely refurbished with all new beds, pillows with every room and public areas benefitting from Free Wi-Fi.

There is a choice of rooms and shower rooms available, sme guests prefer our pod bathrooms for the extra space, others prefer the option of a seperate cubicle. We're always happy to assist with a room change during your stay.

We hope to see you again and thank you for letting us know.

Ibis Styles London ExCel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis London Excel Docklands
Ibis London Excel Docklands
#475 of 1,076 in London
2,076 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Prince Regent Hotel Excel London
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Novotel London ExCeL
Novotel London ExCeL
#274 of 1,076 in London
2,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Aloft London Excel
Aloft London Excel
#260 of 1,076 in London
1,884 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Hampton by Hilton London Docklands
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Holiday Inn Express London - ExCeL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Styles London Excel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles London Excel

Address: 272 Victoria Dock Road, London E16 3BY, England (Formerly Custom House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #578 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Price Range: £57 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Styles London Excel 3*
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located opposite the ExCel Convention Centre, 10 minutes from the O2 and the QEII Park (Olympic Park), the Ibis Styles London ExCel is ideally located for both business and pleasure. Adjacent to the Custom House Stop on the Docklands Light Railway, London's attractions are only a short distance away. With a choice of 305 newly refurbished bedrooms with twin, double and inter-connecting family rooms as well as a choice of apartments; ideal for longer stays. We boast 4 eating options from the newly refurbished breakfast room, to our new coffee shop as well as our traditional 'Pub' rather than a hotel bar. Our new A La Carte Restaurant is open daily from 6pm. The hotel has its own on-site car park (charges apply) as well as a 4 meeting room conference centre, with private dining options available. The hotel is modern, fresh and rates include breakfast and unlimited free Wi-Fi throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ibis Styles London Excel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Custom Hotel London
Custom House Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing