We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient for early city airport” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis Styles London Excel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ibis Styles London Excel
Ranked #547 of 1,087 Hotels in London
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Convenient for early city airport”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

As simple as it gets. OK for a late bed and early flight from City airport. Thats about it. Key card did not work on first time, corridors were noisy and bedroom basic. Did not try breakfast. Not that easy to find either.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank npwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisStylesLonExCel, Manager at Ibis Styles London Excel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Sir

Thank you for the review of your recent stay and we apologise we dind't meet your expectations on this occasion.

London City Airport is only 10-15 minutes from the hotel and is easy to get to by Taxi or the DLR.

Meantime, we did upgrade our key card system following some issues and apologise for the invonvenience on this. Our breakfast room is located on the 1st floor opposite the lifts and is open from 6am during the week.

We hope to see you again and thanks for the review.

Ibis Styles London ExCel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    543
    360
    132
    80
See reviews for
190
436
93
361
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Devon, UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

I travelled with my partner to London for a show at the O2. We needed a convenient and relatively inexpensive hotel so booked in here. The room was clean, if a little small and basic, and the shower room was tiny but functional and very clean. Staff were friendly and helpful. At £80 for two of us including a buffet breakfast, and refundable up to the day of travel, I felt this was good value for a capital city as notoriously expensive as London. There's free wi-fi in the hotel, and it is very close to the Docklands Light Railway and Emirates Cable Car, so access is good. There's even free car parking (which we didn't need) which is a real bonus for London. So overall, a decent package for the price.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnADLewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisStylesLonExCel, Manager at Ibis Styles London Excel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear John

Thanks for the review of your stay and we're glad you liked the hotel and what we have to offer.

Our great location makes seeing the sights of London an easy experience using the DLR & The Tube.

Our car park is chargeable at just £10 for 24-hrs so well done!

We hope to see you again and many thanks for the positive review.

Ibis Styles London ExCel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kemnay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

There is nothing wrong with this hotel if you dont mind paying about £100 a night for a hotel room half the size of most others. The rooms are tiny and not practical for longer trips. Many people would say you get what you pay for but even being in london, i expect more for that kind of money. The biggest issue is the bathroom with is not only tiny, but outdated and ours smelled a lot like an open sewer.
The beds are also very hard so if you dont like a firm mattress this hotel will not be for you.
It is also very hot and there is no a/c which got pretty uncomfortable. The area is pretty noisy at night so leaving the window open isnt really an option.

I will say however the staff are all very pleasant and helpful and breakfast was pretty good. We will however not be staying again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pcb7339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisStylesLonExCel, Manager at Ibis Styles London Excel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Sir / Madam

Thank you for the review of your stay and we're sorry we failed to meet your expectations on this occasion.

Our hotel is newly refurbished with all new beds in every room for added comfort and we're sorry if this wasn't to your liking.

We do remain very competitive on our rates in the area and these do vary according to demand however there are always options such as an advance purchase rate if which is a discounted rate but doesn't permit changes.

Our bathrooms are all approved by Ibis and should there be an issue with a room during a stay, then just let us know and we can assist there and then with an alternative.

Many thanks and we do hope to see you again.

Ibis Styles London ExCel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Basic budget hotel, near the O2. You get what you pay for. Room was nice and clean as was the en suite shower and WC. Breakfast included. Pub closed a little early even for residents. Staff were helpful when called upon.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 142Sandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisStylesLonExCel, Manager at Ibis Styles London Excel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Madam

Thanks for the review of the hotel and your recent stay with us, we're pleased you liked us.

The O2 is just 10-15 minutes from the hotel and with easy access via the Tube or Cable Car, we're a great option for concerts etc.

Keep your eyes peeled for some offers at our hotel or just call.

Regards

Ibis Styles London ExCel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evesham, Worcestershire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Went to see Robbie Williams at 02. Good location only few tube stops away.
The staff Were really friendly and we got free parking which was an extra bonus!
However the rooms are very basic and the showeroom reminded me of being on a ferry and not a very pleasant odour. Didn't complain as we only paid £100 which I thought was cheap for London.
Decided to eat in the restaurant and the food was really good at £17 for a rib-eye.
The breakfast was busy and no fried eggs when we went in but probably bad timing.
All in all okay but not memorable!!

Room Tip: If you want a bath ask for one as ours only had a shower. Ask for a parking pass you may be lucky...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank russthefurniture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisStylesLonExCel, Manager at Ibis Styles London Excel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Sir / Madam

Thanks for the review of your stay and glad you liked our great location. The O2 is just 10-15 minutes from the hotel and on a nice day, grab the Cable Car and head over, its lovely.

We did have some feedback and a problem with some rooms and the odour but has now been dealt with and appreciate teh heads up.

Do let us know about a future stay and thanks again

Ibis Styles London ExCel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

I booked this hotel as part of a last-minute secret hotel offer. They advertised this hotel as being quite luxurious, but it was very basic. I have now figured out the reason last-minute hides the hotel details is so you can't look up reviews of it before booking! The room was very basic and small. The bed was hard with a very worn out memory foam topper. The bathroom was the smallest I've ever been in. There was barely enough room to turn around in it and the shower mat wouldn't even fit outside of the shower. When we arrived we were told that air conditioning hadn't been put in double rooms yet and so they offered my husband and I a twin room. As this was a special weekend away we decided to stick with the double, which was a huge mistake. We had to leave the window open constantly which wasn't great as there was quite a lot of noise outside. Breakfast was below average. The eggs were very watery and the hash-browns were tasteless, under cooked and hard.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ilovethebeatles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisStylesLonExCel, Manager at Ibis Styles London Excel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Sir / Madam

Thank you for the review of your stay and we're sorry that we failed to meet your expectations on this occasion.

Our hotel is a 3 star hotel and we are not permitted to advertise ourselves as luxurious, so we apologise if theres any confusion on the standard of our hotel.

The rooms are all newly refurbished including new ibis Sweet Beds which are all less than 6 months old and we're sorry if wasn't to your liking. Our bathrooms are all approved by Ibis and regularly checked to ensure compliance.

Thank you again for the feedback

Ibis Styles London ExCel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Our visit started on Sunday afternoon and I had 4 visits to reception each time to report electricity issues where the circuit kept trip. On my first report i was asked if I plugged a phone charger and it was my fault. I felt it should have taken 4 visit for same problem to be moved rooms.

We moved rooms to a front room - slightly larger room - this time with electric. :) good news.
The room was little more noise during the day because of building site for the new Crossrail line for London.

A couple of review have mentioned a weird smell in there bathroom, I didnt think about it whilst there but my partner has said she noticed it.

Biggest problem was the access from the DLR station to hotel. Currently the road is closed between the two for the site entrance. This now leads to people having to use a path that 'Crossrail' have provided a suitable through an old disused area of Newham. We didnt find it safe at night when travelling back from the city.

As both of us only drink de-caf coffee we wrote a little note for the room maid when she came to clean up if she was able to only provide decaf for us. We were actually left nothing instead even no replacement milk as well. Needless to say - another to the reception to moan.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank macC9446TR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisStylesLonExCel, Manager at Ibis Styles London Excel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Sir

Thank you for the feedback on your stay and we're sorry we failed to meet your expectations on this occasion.

We always appreciate guest comments and glad we were able to assist with an alternative room and assist you during your stay.

The Crossrail project is only operational daytimes but our hotel is well located next to the station, with lifts and easy access from the station.

We do hope to see you again

Regards

Ibis Styles London ExCel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis London Excel Docklands
Ibis London Excel Docklands
#449 of 1,087 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,916 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Novotel London ExCeL
Novotel London ExCeL
#300 of 1,087 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,130 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Holiday Inn Express London - ExCeL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Premier Inn London Docklands (Excel) Hotel
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Aloft London Excel
Aloft London Excel
#268 of 1,087 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,730 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Prince Regent Hotel Excel London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Styles London Excel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles London Excel

Property: Ibis Styles London Excel
Address: 272 Victoria Dock Road, London E16 3BY, England (Formerly Custom House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #547 of 1,087 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Styles London Excel 3*
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located opposite the ExCel Convention Centre, 10 minutes from the O2 and the QEII Park (Olympic Park), the Ibis Styles London ExCel is ideally located for both business and pleasure. Adjacent to the Custom House Stop on the Docklands Light Railway, London's attractions are only a short distance away. With a choice of 305 newly refurbished bedrooms with twin, double and inter-connecting family rooms as well as a choice of apartments; ideal for longer stays. We boast 4 eating options from the newly refurbished breakfast room, to our new coffee shop as well as our traditional 'Pub' rather than a hotel bar. Our new A La Carte Restaurant is open daily from 6pm. The hotel has its own on-site car park (charges apply) as well as a 4 meeting room conference centre, with private dining options available. The hotel is modern, fresh and rates include breakfast and unlimited free Wi-Fi throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Ibis Styles London Excel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Custom Hotel London
Custom House Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing