We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis Styles London Excel
Ranked #578 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A lovely stay”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

A budget hotel so I was slightly concerned with what we would get for our money, I neednt have worried - we requested an extra bed for our daughter and as a result got a larger family/disabled room. Bathroom was a wet room with shower a good
size. cleaned every day to a high standard with towels changed daily. Beds comfy - some noise from the regeneration in the area but did not spoil our stay, breakfast was good. An excellent good value for money 3 night break - thankyou x

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicholaFairchild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisStylesLonExCel, Manager at Ibis Styles London Excel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Sir / Madam

Thank you for the positive review of your stay and we appreciate the great feedback.

Our hotel is 3-star branded offering a great stay at a great rate with popular items such as breakfast and wi-fi bieng included.

The hotel is newly refurbished and we do hope to welcome you and your friends back fora future stay.

Regards

Ibis Styles London ExCel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    567
    382
    144
    91
See reviews for
200
455
97
395
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

I recently went to this place a few weeks ago for a 5 night holiday. It's not the first I went I have been there many times when visiting London. It's got a good location (a walk away from the DLR station at Custom House, there are many buses from there to Stratford so you're not far from the Olympic Park).

When I had breakfast there it was a whole lot different, when I last went it was split into continental breakfast and full english (paying extra for it) but when I went it was all in one so it was busy, also it was refurbished which made it look a bit better. The full english was good apart from the bacon which had a bit of fat which I prefer crispy, but everyone is different so can't blame them for making it that. Also the continental was nice as well.

The room I stayed in was finally finished, I especially liked the frame light above the bed of London attractions, the bed was nice and comfy and the tv had a lot of channels on as it was freeview, the free WiFi included was good and made good use of the 2 device limit. My only concerns were the position of the Tv was a bit too high so I couldn't see the screen properly and the window, which had a lock on it so it could only open to a certain which wasn't far enough, so through most of my stay I couldn't sleep well as it was hot.

Overall I thought my stay was like my previous visits very good but would love the pub and the cafe/grill house to be a bit more cheaper as some of the prices for the food was really expensive. Would I stay here again in the future, yes!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Azddine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisStylesLonExCel, Manager at Ibis Styles London Excel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Sir / Madam

Thank you for the review of your stay and the valuable feedback; we're pleased you liked the hotel.

We appreciate your continued support of the hotel and we do look forward to welcioming you back again in the future, just buzz or check out our website for the best deals direct.

Many thanks

Ibis Styles London ExCel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

If you are attending Excel or the O2 for a concert (as we were) and you simply want a bed and wash then the situation of this hotel is spot on. However, it is in a residential area right next to DLR which is undergoing major works. The rooms are small & very basic with the smallest, strangest "bathroom"! It is literally the bathroom taken from a caravan - it's a pod and not that big!
That being said the staff were very pleasant and helpful all with a good sense of humour. The hotel was clean and tidy.
The buffet breakfast was very good and made up for the other shortcomings.
OK value but a little basic.

Room Tip: Although it overlooks a convenience store car park, ask for the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clavell1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisStylesLonExCel, Manager at Ibis Styles London Excel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Sir / Madam

Thanks for the review of the hotel and we're pleased you liked the hotel and our great location.

All the rooms have been newly refurbished with new ibis 'Sweet' beds as well as the inclusion of Free Wi-fi and a hot breakfast in every rate.

We've got a choice of rooms and bathrooms, always happy to help with alternatives, the pod bathrooms are an ibis feature but we've got other more traditional options available.

Many thanks and keep your eyes peeled on our website for some specials and hope to see you soon

Regards

Ibis Styles London ExCel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Really nice staff.happy to help with directions.Location ideal for DLR,but is in the nibble of regeneration but great air conditioning meant no need for Windows open,food
& rooms good.only problem was the doors need slamming to close so this meant you heard this a lot. Cable car from other side of station is a must. Buy an oyster card. Caps at £7 a day.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shirleyR110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisStylesLonExCel, Manager at Ibis Styles London Excel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Shirley

Thank you for the review of the hotel and the positive feedback on your stay.

Its always a pleasure to be of assistance and we're glad you liked the hotel and what we have to offer.

This has been forwarded to the staff, its always nice to be able to reward hard work with some guest compliments.

Meantime, thank you again and we do hope to see you again, just check out our website for the best offers and see you soon

Ibis Styles London ExCel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Not the hotel's fault. It is very warm in London at the moment, there is no aircon so the windows are open. There is a large building site outside the window, coaches and buses stop right under the window, and the DLR station is a stone's throw away. The planes fly right over the hotel. All good and well for convenient location - forget about any sleep with the DLR train announcements going well into the night. Everything else fine.

Room Tip: I would say get a room away from the front but I don't think there are any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babette O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisStylesLonExCel, Manager at Ibis Styles London Excel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Sir / Madam

Thank you for the review of your stay and we're sorry we didn't meet with your expectations on this occasion.

Our hotel is not advertised as air-conditioned due to only 1/2 the rooms having this option although we do provide fans for guests and are happy to help.

London City Airport does not fly over our hotel and the first flights across the othe side of ExCel don't start until after 6am and is not generally a problem as are off the flight path.

The DLR stops running at midnight and the first service is after 5am with no announcements in between and apologise if from across the road this disturbed you, we are a London hotel and although our rooms are double glazed, with windows open there will be some noise disturbance from passing traffic. Our rooms at the rear of the hotel are quieter and we always happy to assist wtih alternatives during a stay.

Thank you again for your feedback and we do look forward to being of service again.

Ibis Styles London ExCel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I am a frequent visitor of Ibis hotels all over Europe, and all employees are always friendly and helpful. In this hotel, we arrived for a few days, and my daughter was ill when we arrived at about 11 o'clock. Any effort or compassion to enter a room earlier than standard 1400 time was impossible. Last year I stayed in the same hotel and then, everything was still fine. What's the problem in this hotel? Please listen to your guests.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henk R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisStylesLonExCel, Manager at Ibis Styles London Excel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Sir / Madam

Thank you for the feedback and we apologise that we failed to meet your expectations on this occasion.

Ths information has been given to the staff and we do value our guest comments about their stay and take this very seriously. If we are able to check-in guests early, then we do try to assist but on some occasions this is not possible and we do apologise for this.

We have responded to you directly on the experience you had at the hotel and in this we did highlight that we don't advertise the hotel as air-conditioned due to only 1/2 the rooms having this option.

Meantime, thank you again for the futher feedback and we do look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay,

Regards and best wishes

Ibis Styles London ExCel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, Scotland
Level Contributor
98 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Was going to a show at the O2 and managed to get 2 rooms booked here.
Very impressed overall....nice rooms, attentive staff, free wifi and breakfast included...all for £65.

Also, the location for other things such as City Airport and the Olympic Park is great.
i'll definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank astrange4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisStylesLonExCel, Manager at Ibis Styles London Excel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Sir / Madam

Thank you for the review of our hotel and the great thumbs up!

Yes we are nice and handy for the O2 and London City Airport, so we do hope to see you again

Regards

Ibis Styles London ExCel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis London Excel Docklands
Ibis London Excel Docklands
#468 of 1,067 in London
1,989 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Novotel London ExCeL
Novotel London ExCeL
#297 of 1,067 in London
2,199 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Holiday Inn Express London - ExCeL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East End / East London
Good Hotel London
Good Hotel London
#552 of 1,067 in London
184 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Aloft London Excel
Aloft London Excel
#263 of 1,067 in London
1,801 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Prince Regent Hotel Excel London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Styles London Excel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles London Excel

Property: Ibis Styles London Excel
Address: 272 Victoria Dock Road, London E16 3BY, England (Formerly Custom House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #578 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Styles London Excel 3*
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located opposite the ExCel Convention Centre, 10 minutes from the O2 and the QEII Park (Olympic Park), the Ibis Styles London ExCel is ideally located for both business and pleasure. Adjacent to the Custom House Stop on the Docklands Light Railway, London's attractions are only a short distance away. With a choice of 305 newly refurbished bedrooms with twin, double and inter-connecting family rooms as well as a choice of apartments; ideal for longer stays. We boast 4 eating options from the newly refurbished breakfast room, to our new coffee shop as well as our traditional 'Pub' rather than a hotel bar. Our new A La Carte Restaurant is open daily from 6pm. The hotel has its own on-site car park (charges apply) as well as a 4 meeting room conference centre, with private dining options available. The hotel is modern, fresh and rates include breakfast and unlimited free Wi-Fi throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Hotels.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Ebookers, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Styles London Excel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Custom Hotel London
Custom House Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing