We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #80 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Buellton, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exceptional Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

St. Ermin's Hotel is just completely lovely - from the moment you walk into it's beautiful courtyard to the amazing lobby to your immaculate room. You feel as if you have walked into history, into a more genteel time. The employees, from the maid service to the concierge - are extremely polite and competent. The beds are great. Each room has coffee service and honor bars. Wine is served in the afternoons in the lobby.
Patrick, Juan and Sergio downstairs were most accommodating in helping us plan our time and get transportation.
The restaurant is good, but the prices are too high. We usually ate breakfast at the Starbucks a block away. Feathers is a good pub 1 block away. You are within walking distance of Buckingham Castle and Westminster Abbey. We love, love, loved our stay. Hope you do too.

Room Tip: Our room was quite small but well appointed. In the future, I would choose a room with a couch and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keri111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StErmins, General Manager at St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,
We are delighted that you chose to stay with us and thank you for giving St.Ermin’s top marks regarding service, rooms, location, cleanliness and value. We are always happy when we go beyond our guest’s expectations and thank you for your positive feedback.
We love, love, love happy guests and hope you will return!
Warm regards
Douglas McHugh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,713
    1,336
    249
    82
    35
See reviews for
1,641
2,097
173
714
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,040)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

This hotel was perfect, but the last day I asked if they could help me find a taxi to the trainstation. The taxi was "private hire", car in bad shape, and the driver did NOT know how to drive a car safe and the price was doubble of what we payed the taxi when we arrived the hotel. We did come to the train station, but the "excellent" feeling we had of the hotel disappeard with that taxi-experience. We could not understand why a hotel like St.Ermin's reserved a taxi like that instead of a real London taxi. Thats why "Service" don't get 5 from us. But the hotel and people working there was realy fabulous :)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marion A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

I've been a guest at St. Ermin's hotel at least a dozen times in the last three months and I got nothing but positive comments about this nice victorian building, recently restored to very high standards. The lobby staff is always welcoming and helpful, whatever you problem is. Just ask for help and be sure that no effort will be spared to find an acceptable solution. And allow me to make a special mention of one of the guys working at the lobby, Maurizio, who never fails to greet me with a warm welcome and who has been especially helpful, recently, providing me with some advises which turned out to be utterly useful for my stay in London. I will definitely keep going to St. Ermin's !

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Luca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

This hotel definitely has the WOW factor. The entrance and lobby area are very grand and beautifully decorated. The hotel is in a great location, less than 1 minutes walk from St James tube station.

The rooms themselves are also very stylish. As is the case with most central London hotels the rooms are small (we had a superior queen). Which is fine, the only one slightly annoying thing was that because of this there's only one bedside table - but that's me being picky! The bathroom has a fantastic rain shower.

Our rate included a buffet continental breakfast. There was a great selection of fruit, pastries, breads and cereal. (We did check the prices and it was a bit overpriced if you didn't have it included in your rate. There is a Starbucks, EAT and a couple of cafe's in the tube station right next to the hotel for breakfast too).

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JG-Edin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

We travel very frequently with our family to London. We used to sty at the Crowne, St. James across the street, but we have found a new place to lay our hats. St. Ermine has recently been completely remodeled and they have done a fine job. The staff was wonderful and very accommodating of our family of five. We were in London for the summer and had rented a house in the very noisy neighborhood of Knightsbridge. We were at the point where we could not tolerate the noise any more and so we went to the Crowne, St. James since they knew us, to see if they could work on getting us accommodations for our three remaining weeks in London. We were shocked when they were unwilling to work with us despite my husband's membership with them, and so we decided to walk over to the St. Ermin's hotel where we used to go for great burgers. We were met by the manager on duty who was very gracious and immediately offered us a great rate for a suite and took the time to show us a few different rooms. he was very sympathetic to our situation given that we were till paying a hefty sum for the house we had rented.
Everyone in the hotel was very nice and they had accidentally put us in a wing where there was construction outside our window that woke us up very early on the weekend. I called to the front desk and they moved us immediately and offered us free breakfast. They moved us to a two bedroom suite with a connecting living room and dining room which was beautiful and offered ample space.
The restaurant staff was very nice, too.

On the day we left the concierge had gifts waiting for our children to tkwe home with them. He had bought them stuffed animals and London souvenirs. It was very sweet and we were sad to go. We are now loyal St. Ermins customers my husband has been back twice since we were there and the staff always remembers him and asks about the family. My husband's business partners have also stayed twice on our recommendation.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that is not over the restaurant. They use a wood burning stove and the smell of sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HopeSoToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StErmins, General Manager at St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Dear Madam,
Your feedback means the world to us! I am overjoyed that you found St.Ermin's and that we were able to make you and your family feel so at home. It is also wonderful to read that you have recommended us to others, for which we are truly grateful.
A big “Hello” to your children from all of us here at the hotel and we hope to see you all again very soon,
With warmest regards,
Douglas McHugh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berkshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

We stayed one night at this hotel and have absolutely no complaints. Not a usual choice for us, but we were very pleasantly surprised. The staff were great from meeting us at the car at check in to saying goodbye at check out. Highly recommended

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amstkd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StErmins, General Manager at St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,
We are delighted that you chose to stay with us and thank you for giving St.Ermin’s top marks regarding service, rooms, cleanliness and value. We are always happy when we go beyond our guest’s expectations and thank you for your very positive feedback.
Kind regards
Douglas McHugh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aston Clinton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

We have just returned from an overnight stay at St Ermin's Hotel, we visited London for my 30th birthday. On arrival we had been upgraded to a suite by Senior Duty Manager Soyful Alam, our suite was beautiful. The hotel has recently been refurbished, and all the finishing touches are to a very high standard. The bed was enormous and very comfortable, the shower was also huge. We decided to have breakfast sent to our room and it arrived exactly at the time requested and was lovely. The hotel is right next to St James's tube station so is not hard to find at all. The staff were all extremely polite and helpful, I would love to visit again and would not hesitate to recommend St Ermin's Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StErmins, General Manager at St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Dear Madam,
Firstly let me say a big “Happy Birthday!” I hope that you had a fantastic 30th and celebrated in style. Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we always aim to make our guests feel special and it sounds as though you had a very pleasant stay with us.
Thank you for recommending us to others- happy guests make the world go round!
Many happy returns,
Douglas McHugh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#44 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,784 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#31 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Westminster
The Rubens at the Palace
The Rubens at the Palace
#88 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,016 reviews
Westminster
The Royal Horseguards
The Royal Horseguards
#100 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection

Property: St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Address: 2 Caxton Street | Westminster, London SW1H 0QW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in London
#52 Romantic Hotel in London
#56 Business Hotel in London
#74 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Ermin's Hotel re-opened its doors in April 2011, following a dramatic £30 million refurbishment. Nestled in the heart of London, this four star deluxe hotel is at the center of the city's vibrant business, leisure and government landmarks. St James’s Park, Parliament Square, the London Eye, Westminster Abbey, Houses of Parliament, and Queen Elizabeth II Conference Centre are all just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jolly St Ermins Hotel
Jolly St Ermins London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing