We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mid-way between the prime minister and the queen”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #80 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Located in a beautiful, tasteful decorated Victorian building (splendid reception) in between the houses of parliament and Buckingham, around the corner of St.-James metro station. Small sound proved well equipped rooms. Pleasant restaurant and bar area. BF offering Ok-ich but poor compared to MGallery standards. Fitness room (tiny) out of proportion with size of hotel (big). Fair price/ quality. Very friendly staff that could be more efficient. Wifi NOT free of charge. Complementary 15min internet access in business corner.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crazyvibes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,991)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,898 - 4,904 of 5,991 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2012

Had a very nice 7-night stay at St Ermin's recently, but would not go all the way to excellent. Still, highly recommended by London standards.

The good: nice, quiet and very central neighbourhood (unless you prefer the hustle and bustle of Leicester Square). Tube right around the corner. Pleasant, friendly and helpful staff. Beautiful building, room at high standard, clean. Had a superior queen plus - nice size for one person, cozy with two. Being alone, it was very nice to sit and work in the room. If you were two, you'd want to spend most of your time in the bed. Decent shower.

To be improved: The continental breakfast, although I suppose at a fair standard for a British hotel, is not quite on par with any 3-star European hotel. Wi-fi additional and somewhat expensive (I got a business package with wi-fi included, but the nominal cost for a week was £60 which is rather outrageous these days). Elevators tiny and noisy. Some noise from hallways in room. Stained bathrobe, soap dispenser in bathroom not working, sink clogging up (but quickly fixed when pointed out). Restaurant in hotel not highly recommended. The bar is OK but not cozy. The lobby is, well, noticeable.

Room Tip: Courtyard 6th floor - nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Oddmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Good central location, ideal for where we needed to be. However, for the price we paid, our room was very small, and had no outlook whatsoever.
The setting, decor, and staff were all excellent!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheila C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

The hotel is quite lovely and has been beautifully restored. The sleep is quiet and restful with virtually no street or hallway noise and luxurious bed linens. The staff were always friendly and exceptionally helpful. Although we were traveling with two sometimes rambunctious children (7 and 4), we were never meant to feel as if our children were unwelcome - quite the opposite. The included breakfast special for the Family Room was an additional value to us and permitted us to get each day off to a great start. The wait staff could not have been more accommodating. The location of the hotel in Westminster was an added bonus that allowed us nice walking tour opportunities to see Big Ben, Parliment, Westminster, Buckingham Palace and Trafalgar and we were but a short hop on the tube to other attractions such as London Eye. When we next travel to London, we will only choose St. Ermin's.

On the front part of our journey, we stayed at a US branded hotel in the Marble Arch area at a comparable price. St. Ermin's was the better choice for location, ambience, room and service, by miles.

Room Tip: If you are staying with children, do make sure you choose the Family Room which provides space compa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rachel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

I was really impressed about the deal that I got with this hotel. A very beautiful und romantic place and ideal for couples. Great location and the entrance / lobby is stunning. The beds were very comfortable- something that many hotels of this price category lack. The breakfast was served to our room- the eggs were a bit over-cooked. Other than that- no complaints here neither. Loved the interior design of the place-
The only minus was that our aircon / heating did not work in our room. And you need to pay for Wireless...?!
Would definitely recommend and I'm sure to stay there again.

P.s.: Would be a great Wedding location...

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cupcake_Nancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

St. Ermin's Hotel is just completely lovely - from the moment you walk into it's beautiful courtyard to the amazing lobby to your immaculate room. You feel as if you have walked into history, into a more genteel time. The employees, from the maid service to the concierge - are extremely polite and competent. The beds are great. Each room has coffee service and honor bars. Wine is served in the afternoons in the lobby.
Patrick, Juan and Sergio downstairs were most accommodating in helping us plan our time and get transportation.
The restaurant is good, but the prices are too high. We usually ate breakfast at the Starbucks a block away. Feathers is a good pub 1 block away. You are within walking distance of Buckingham Castle and Westminster Abbey. We love, love, loved our stay. Hope you do too.

Room Tip: Our room was quite small but well appointed. In the future, I would choose a room with a couch and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keri111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StErmins, General Manager at St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2012

Dear Sir/Madam,
We are delighted that you chose to stay with us and thank you for giving St.Ermin’s top marks regarding service, rooms, location, cleanliness and value. We are always happy when we go beyond our guest’s expectations and thank you for your positive feedback.
We love, love, love happy guests and hope you will return!
Warm regards
Douglas McHugh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

This hotel was perfect, but the last day I asked if they could help me find a taxi to the trainstation. The taxi was "private hire", car in bad shape, and the driver did NOT know how to drive a car safe and the price was doubble of what we payed the taxi when we arrived the hotel. We did come to the train station, but the "excellent" feeling we had of the hotel disappeard with that taxi-experience. We could not understand why a hotel like St.Ermin's reserved a taxi like that instead of a real London taxi. Thats why "Service" don't get 5 from us. But the hotel and people working there was realy fabulous :)

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marion A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#55 of 1,081 in London
3,413 reviews
Westminster
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Westminster
The Rubens at the Palace
The Rubens at the Palace
#73 of 1,081 in London
4,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#25 of 1,081 in London
4,211 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#15 of 1,081 in London
3,427 reviews
Westminster
DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection

Address: 2 Caxton Street | Westminster, London SW1H 0QW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in London
#52 Romantic Hotel in London
#56 Business Hotel in London
#76 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £157 - £399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection re-opened its doors in April 2011, following a dramatic £30 million refurbishment. Nestled in the heart of the city, this four star deluxe hotel in London, United Kingdom is at the center of the vibrant business, leisure and government landmarks. St James’s Park, Parliament Square, the London Eye, Westminster Abbey, Houses of Parliament, and Queen Elizabeth II Conference Centre are all just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jolly St Ermins Hotel
Jolly St Ermins London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing