We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #75 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed 4 June 2012

I took my wife to Europe for her birthday and was very impressed with the St. Ermin's Hotel. My other half can be a bit picky, but she was very impressed from Entry to Room. Well situated in Westminster, providing for a relatively short walk to either Westminster Bridge, Abbey, Big Ben and the London Eye, or to Buckingham Palace. The staff was very helpful and friendly for our entire stay, providing directions, assisting with Taxi's and providing advice on what to see. Our room was refreshed daily and the room service was remarkably responsive as requests were delivered within 15 minutes. The Caxton restaurant staff were friendly and efficient. The Caxton bar was also a delight as we attempted to created an American Style Whiskey Sour, with non-standard ingredients. Took several hours before I could feel my lips again, but it was a good time. St. Ermin's will be high on my list for any future visits.

Room Tip: Our room was over the courtyard. If you like to sleep with windows open, it can be a bit noisy. Vehi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,597 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,845
    1,373
    258
    84
    37
See reviews for
1,705
2,167
183
736
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,073)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vicenza, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Business trip, Room this time very small but clean and nice. Staff and Hotel great.. Breakfast no hot food on your breakfast amount, must pay extra this is not at level of a standard brakfast for such hotel level.. this is a minus.
Wifi lobby free but card every hr to log in with new psswrd.. no sense to ask always at reception.. no..?

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RobertoJust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

My husband and I are visiting Europe and we wanted to stay in a great hotel, so after lots of searching we chose to stay at St Ermine’s hotel, our first impressions were very good indeed from check in to the room we were very happy with our choice of hotel.

We had dinner in the Caxton grill restaurant, we both enjoyed very good Steaks and I especially enjoyed the honeycomb desert, after dinner, we enjoyed a night cap in the Caxton bar, where the bar staff were very charming and welcoming and left us very relaxed and made us feel at home.

Our pleasant time was spoiled when my husband and I were walking down the stairs to the lobby to go to breakfast when two members of staff were arguing with each other, one of the staff was a small white man with gold badges on his jacket, now up till then we had a great impression of the hotel and the hard work of the staff in the restaurant and bar, only for it to be spoiled by the bad behaviour and foul language of the two staff arguing where everyone could see and hear them.

Room Tip: Go on a day when the staff are not fighting or arguing with each other
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Martina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StErmins, General Manager at St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
Dear Madam,

I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed your meal at the Caxton Grill, the honeycomb desert is one of my favourites too. It warms my heart to know that you were looked after in the bar by my team (they really are great lads) and that you felt at home, which is our aim here at St. Ermin’s.
Regarding the incident you witnessed in the morning, I can only apologise. I have investigated the matter fully and please rest assured I have taken the appropriate measures to ensure this behaviour is not repeated.
I sincerely hope this has not tainted your views on St.Ermin’s and we hope that you will return to stay with us again one day.

Yours sincerely
Douglas McHugh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We often stay at hotels in the Accor group so this was a safe bet for us. However, when we arrived we discovered that what we thought we had booked wasnt what we had booked - the website is very confusing. We had tried to book the family room but just missed out - so we booked a 'double double' which from the description we thought was 2 rooms each with a double bed. the rate also included breakfast.
when we checked in - with our 2 kids and 6 suitcases - the lady at reception looke shocked.."you wont fit in that room" was her comment! that panicked us slightly but she said she would se what she could do. About 10 minutes later she came back and offered an upgrade to a suite for 90 pounds a night extra. we bargained with them and agreed on 200 pounds total for the 3 nights - she also added breakfast for the kids, in room movies and internet access in our room. Perfect.
The room was delightful and if we ever make it to London again would book a suite.
The breakfast was a bit of a disapointment - on our first morning we were chaperoned past the restaurant and down the corrider into what looked like a conference room. then we discovered our breakfast that was included was only continental! being an overseas visitor this is not something we come across - breakfast included to us is a hot breakfast. Anyway, we spoke to the staff ad that matter was resolved quickly with us being allowed to order from the a la carte menu at no charge. it then became apparent that all of our fellow diners were those with kids - hmmm....how to mak familis feel like second rate guests. Time these upmarket hotels realise that happy families spend more $ than couples that go exploring. Thankfully the next 2 mornings we were allowed to be shown in public and dined with those without kids.
The beds were turned down nightly (except for the 1 st night - not sure why not!) with chocolates and sleep spray left on the pillows - a fantastic touch. The room was very quiet.
I wouldnt advise ordering room service - we returned to the hotel late after a show on the first night and ordered two toasted sandwiches and a curry. I called after 45 minutes to chase up - the arrived over an hour after the order was placed - midnight had come and gone - and they were still charged at full price - along with the surcharge for room rate. that was a shame.
The concierge and doorman were always delightful. one even took us on a stroll to find a local store to purchase nuts to feed the squirrels! The kids were always spoken to by the staff and were made to feel welcome.
The location is great - although the underground station we were above closed the weekend we were there! A very safe area with Scotland Yard across the road! Close to Buckingham Place and Houses of Parliament.
On our last day we treated the kids to High Tea. at $85 for 2 it was a treat! one of those things you have to do in London. But, the kids werent offered an alternative to Tea for a drink and we were still very hungry after! This was served in the 'library' which unfortunatel can't cater for many people. we had a very large group come and sit riht next to us so it made for a very noisy High Tea. Never mind - not the Hotels fault!
We would definetely recommend this hotel, but be aware the Double double is one room and the breakfast is not hot!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mustang74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

This hotel is probably one of the best I've ever stayed at. It's amazing from the moment you walk in, with the fantastic split-level entrance lobby complete with ornate ceiling and chandeliers. Lovely comfortable room, extremely clean and so was the bathroom. We only stayed bed and breakfast, but the breakfasts were good. We had cocktails in the bar at night, smashing choice and a lovely relaxed atmosphere. Can't recommend it enough. Close to the parks and Buckingham Palace too.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janice A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

I had studied all of the hotels in London for over a year before we visited. I am very picky and my husband and I have travelled and stayed in excellent hotels all over the world. So imagine my surprise when this one surpassed our expectations!
The entire property is beautifully rennovated, including the rooms. The reservation desk will help you find a package that is affordable. If you can, go for the executive king, it is wonderful and roomy!
Every person the the staff went out of their way to help this American couple enjoy their vacation. Elis, the asst food/bar manager was always friendly and helpful BUT everyone else was too. The doorman ran down the street to fetch us a cab, our waiter left a room full of customers to find us a brochure, the reservation agent Lisa stayed after hours to greet us when we came in and on and on the stories go.
As others have said, the location is tucked away in the financial district, near the tube and within walking distance of major sites. Unbelievable.
Many people say that the food in London is nothing special but I highly recommend the Caxton Grill at the hotel. How often do you get fish and chips made with fresh halibut?? The drinks were great too.
I only hope that we will be able to go back. If you get there before we do please enjoy our wonderful hotel and the staff who will make you feel like you are a relative of the royal family!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Vicki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#53 of 1,069 in London
3,024 reviews
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#32 of 1,069 in London
834 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,069 in London
3,715 reviews
Westminster
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Westminster
The Rubens at the Palace
The Rubens at the Palace
#73 of 1,069 in London
4,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection

Property: St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Address: 2 Caxton Street | Westminster, London SW1H 0QW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in London
#52 Romantic Hotel in London
#56 Business Hotel in London
#71 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Ermin's Hotel re-opened its doors in April 2011, following a dramatic £30 million refurbishment. Nestled in the heart of London, this four star deluxe hotel is at the center of the city's vibrant business, leisure and government landmarks. St James’s Park, Parliament Square, the London Eye, Westminster Abbey, Houses of Parliament, and Queen Elizabeth II Conference Centre are all just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jolly St Ermins Hotel
Jolly St Ermins London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing