We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #76 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly Recommended”
Reviewed 20 January 2013

I stayed at the St Ermins for just the one night, a complementary stay offered after a poor review made earlier in the year, and I have to say, from check in to check out this hotel more than lived up to its 4* rating.

After a very easy check in, a handmade note and little cakes were waiting in my room. I stayed in an deluxe king, which was a very good size and clean with a well appointed bathroom (including white company toiletries!), robes, slippers, large screen TV and a well stocked mini bar.

The bed was comfortable and just what I needed after a long day exploring - which is so easy to do from this hotel as the location is fantastic. Landmarks such as Buckingham Palace, Westminster etc are so close, not to mention the tube station less than 5 minutes walk away.

I didn't eat at the hotel's own restaurant (the Caxton Grill) but at the recently opened Blue Boar Restaurant, which is part of the new Intercontinental hotel around the corner from the St Ermins. I will post a separate review on their page, but it is also worth a visit if you have deep pokets or a sugar daddy ;-).

Althought it is expensive, I would definitely stay at the St Ermins again due to the service, quality and location.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KnightsDweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,808
    1,361
    256
    83
    35
See reviews for
1,676
2,151
181
731
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,067)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Stayed at St Ermins for one night in Jan 13. Great looking hotel and great location. Everything is so near. Never used the underground or taxi. The main reason for booking the hotel was for its close proximity to the Victoria Apollo showing Wicked Very clean, great rooms and they left a nice little birthday desert for my partner in the room after a cheeky little email. Top quality London hotel at a decent price. Search around a bit for a good price first however. Got mine via trivago. Only little snag was there was a little bit of confusion with breakfast. Was not advised what could be ordered/what was included with the room price. Finally got there and had eggs benedict. Lovely. Will return for sure.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank fat60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
97 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

This is a lovely hotel with a designer feel in the heart of London - the perfect place to stay to take in the tourist sights. The proximity of the hotel made our four day visit to London so easy to get around. It was only a short stroll to Buckingham Palace, Big Ben, Westminster Abbey and the London Eye etc. The tube is also nearby.
The beautiful hotel building is tucked away from busy central streets. The grand lobby area looks just as good as the hotel's website photos. We stayed in an executive king room - it was spacious and reasonably priced compared to what we have paid in London before. The decor was stylish and added a designer boutique touch. The view from the room overlooked the hotel's front courtyard area.
Check-in staff, porters and especially the breakfast waiters were excellent. The breakfast is served in a lovely area each morning.
Some minor points we did find frustrating was the confusion regarding whether breakfast was included in our room rate (despite it being stated on my booking). They never seemed to have any umbrellas either (I would suggest placing them in the rooms).
All and all we had a pleasant and comfortable stay and I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClassyLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

The service in this hotel is really good. Rooms may seem small with not a great view, but you are in walking distance to Buckingham Palace, Westminster Abbey, etc. This means a lot when you consider the cost of a London taxi. The bar in the hotel is classic and has a lot of history. I really like that the hotel is on a private street with little traffic. The room I had was recently renovated and the bathroom was very nice. The concierge was very helpful and it is a classic hotel. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank limerickphoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

The hotel is convenient for many central London sights, but also feels 'tucked away'. Beautiful reception area. Faultless service. Great breakfast. Lovely staff in reception, the bar, and serving breakfast. I felt thoroughly safe as a woman travelling alone. I would return.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amanda186273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

When you pull onto St. Ermin's driveway you will be really impressed at the look of the hotel. True old world elegance. The rooms are fine, not huge but acceptable for London. The location is fantastic. Walk to Parliment, Westminster Abby, Victoria Station, etc... The St. James Park Metro station is one block away.

Breakfast is wonderful. Great ambiance in the dining room (although there is another room downstairs without windows where they seemed to be guiding those with small children...perhaps a good idea for all) and a delicious cold buffet. They will also cook you up eggs or anything you want for a small charge.

My wife and daughter loved the afternoon tea. Its expensive but they felt it was worth every penny.

The drawback of the hotel is the inexperience of the staff. They are very friendly and try hard to accommodate but just be patient...except for the doorman they all seemed like this was their first day working at a hotel. Is anyone training them????

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laz90210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

This was a one night stay whilst on business in London. I was greeted by the friendly doorman and shown through the impressive lobby to the reception where a swift check-in was completed. My Accor Le Club Platinum status was recognised and I was upgraded to a King Executive Room.

The room was of a very good size with plenty of room to work & rest. The furnishings are of a very high standard and everything is tastefully decorated. You can tell the hotel has recently been refurbished.

I ordered reasonably-priced room service for dinner which was delivered in under 20 minutes which I appreciated as I was hungry after a long day at work. Breakfast in the morning was a continental offering but of a high standard.

I had WiFi included with my rate but this would normally cost £15 for 24 hours but the connection is exceptionally fast and I didn’t encounter any connectivity problems so could carry out work and video-conferencing tasks without interruptions.

Location wasn’t overly important to me as I was on business but the hotel is only a short walk away from Buckingham Palace whilst St James’ underground station is only a 2 minute walk making this an excellent option for tourists.

Overall I was very impressed with St Ermin’s - friendly staff, good location, and a high quality blend of old world hotel with modern facilities. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting London.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoffeeAficionado1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#51 of 1,067 in London
2,950 reviews
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#35 of 1,067 in London
783 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#19 of 1,067 in London
3,672 reviews
Westminster
The Rubens at the Palace
The Rubens at the Palace
#73 of 1,067 in London
4,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection

Property: St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Address: 2 Caxton Street | Westminster, London SW1H 0QW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in London
#52 Romantic Hotel in London
#56 Business Hotel in London
#72 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Ermin's Hotel re-opened its doors in April 2011, following a dramatic £30 million refurbishment. Nestled in the heart of London, this four star deluxe hotel is at the center of the city's vibrant business, leisure and government landmarks. St James’s Park, Parliament Square, the London Eye, Westminster Abbey, Houses of Parliament, and Queen Elizabeth II Conference Centre are all just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jolly St Ermins Hotel
Jolly St Ermins London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing