We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb family hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #78 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Superb family hotel”
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Stayed at St Ermins on a family outing for one night on January 12th. What a great place in a great central location - literally minutes from all the main attractions.. The stay was all too short. A wonderful looking hotel, really classy with a fabulous reception area and cosy cocktail lounge. The room was immacuate, with a very confortable king-size bed. Friendly, efficient service - nothing was too much trouble - and great cocktails. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank supermac549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,671 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,900
    1,384
    264
    85
    38
See reviews for
1,744
2,188
186
743
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,088)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Very nicely decorated and furnished hotel.
Only stayed for 1 night, and didn't use any of the facilities other than breakfast.
Impressions of this hotel are very good, the staff were very friendly, continental breakfast pleasant.
Room was very modern, small but had all of the amenities required.
I have previously stayed at the holiday inn opposite the Ritz, it was very tired. Based on the price I was paying I did not expect the St Ermins to be such a top hotel. I chose the hotel for the location as we were attending a function less than a mile from the hotel.
It is easily accessible from the St James tube station.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotlandJSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 21 January 2013 via mobile

We had a pleasant stay, from check in to departure we were looked after impeccably . The breakfast and dinner food was outstanding and the service faultless. Soyful checked us in and infomed us well of the hotel facilities and functions making us feel welcomed.

Debbie and Jon

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Debbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 January 2013

We stayed at St Ermins for one night on Sat 12th Jan and we enjoyed every minute.
On arrival we were greeted by Amy who was really helpful, pleasant and extremely professional.
I was in room 305 which had a lovely view over the courtyard. We was also greeted with a complimentary bottle of Champagne and Chocolates to help us celebrate our anniversary this was such a lovely personal touch and we were very grateful. I will definately be returning to St Ermins very soon down to the fantastic service we received. Great Hotel!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sashapaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 January 2013

I stayed at the St Ermins for just the one night, a complementary stay offered after a poor review made earlier in the year, and I have to say, from check in to check out this hotel more than lived up to its 4* rating.

After a very easy check in, a handmade note and little cakes were waiting in my room. I stayed in an deluxe king, which was a very good size and clean with a well appointed bathroom (including white company toiletries!), robes, slippers, large screen TV and a well stocked mini bar.

The bed was comfortable and just what I needed after a long day exploring - which is so easy to do from this hotel as the location is fantastic. Landmarks such as Buckingham Palace, Westminster etc are so close, not to mention the tube station less than 5 minutes walk away.

I didn't eat at the hotel's own restaurant (the Caxton Grill) but at the recently opened Blue Boar Restaurant, which is part of the new Intercontinental hotel around the corner from the St Ermins. I will post a separate review on their page, but it is also worth a visit if you have deep pokets or a sugar daddy ;-).

Althought it is expensive, I would definitely stay at the St Ermins again due to the service, quality and location.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KnightsDweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Stayed at St Ermins for one night in Jan 13. Great looking hotel and great location. Everything is so near. Never used the underground or taxi. The main reason for booking the hotel was for its close proximity to the Victoria Apollo showing Wicked Very clean, great rooms and they left a nice little birthday desert for my partner in the room after a cheeky little email. Top quality London hotel at a decent price. Search around a bit for a good price first however. Got mine via trivago. Only little snag was there was a little bit of confusion with breakfast. Was not advised what could be ordered/what was included with the room price. Finally got there and had eggs benedict. Lovely. Will return for sure.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank fat60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

This is a lovely hotel with a designer feel in the heart of London - the perfect place to stay to take in the tourist sights. The proximity of the hotel made our four day visit to London so easy to get around. It was only a short stroll to Buckingham Palace, Big Ben, Westminster Abbey and the London Eye etc. The tube is also nearby.
The beautiful hotel building is tucked away from busy central streets. The grand lobby area looks just as good as the hotel's website photos. We stayed in an executive king room - it was spacious and reasonably priced compared to what we have paid in London before. The decor was stylish and added a designer boutique touch. The view from the room overlooked the hotel's front courtyard area.
Check-in staff, porters and especially the breakfast waiters were excellent. The breakfast is served in a lovely area each morning.
Some minor points we did find frustrating was the confusion regarding whether breakfast was included in our room rate (despite it being stated on my booking). They never seemed to have any umbrellas either (I would suggest placing them in the rooms).
All and all we had a pleasant and comfortable stay and I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClassyLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#52 of 1,069 in London
3,070 reviews
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#29 of 1,069 in London
882 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#20 of 1,069 in London
3,788 reviews
Westminster
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,069 in London
3,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection

Property: St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Address: 2 Caxton Street | Westminster, London SW1H 0QW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in London
#52 Romantic Hotel in London
#56 Business Hotel in London
#74 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Ermin's Hotel re-opened its doors in April 2011, following a dramatic £30 million refurbishment. Nestled in the heart of London, this four star deluxe hotel is at the center of the city's vibrant business, leisure and government landmarks. St James’s Park, Parliament Square, the London Eye, Westminster Abbey, Houses of Parliament, and Queen Elizabeth II Conference Centre are all just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jolly St Ermins Hotel
Jolly St Ermins London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing