We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #76 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

The hotel is excellent. We had four people in two rooms for a three night stay in March, 2013. The property is very nice - definitely 4-star quality - and is well maintained. The rooms were well appointed (the King was about what you'd expect size-wise for the heart of London, the room with 2 singles was surprisingly spacious). The staff was friendly and helpful. The only thing that could have been better was the weather (which was very cold for London in March). All-in-all, we couldn't have been more pleased (and basic WiFi is now free).

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clarke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,670
    1,323
    248
    80
    34
See reviews for
1,615
2,077
172
708
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,034)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
235 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

We stayed here after my partner used the hotel to photograph a client. I had read reviews on here about the outside being impressive and I have to say on turning the corner from the tube station where the surroundings were just grey that the outside of the hotel is stunning. It has a beautiful courtyard that the rooms look down on to.

We were put in room 257 which we were told by a porter that is the most requested room/most repeat requested as it overlooks Scotland Yard (cant see the appeal myself). It was very pleasant but on seeing it only had a shower and not a bath we asked if there was a room free with a bath as we were looking forward to a nice relax in the bath. The reception staff were very accomodating offering to move our luggage for us and moved us to a room with a bath which was even nicer!! Really spacious and had a beautiful view of the courtyard - to us this was much better then Scotland Yard but each to their own!

We had a drink in the Caxton bar, again very helpful staff who kept replenising us with complimentary roasted vegetable crisps. We then ate in the Caxton Grill for dinner and the food was EXQUISITE!!! We had the crab and the duck pate starters which were amazing particularly the duck pate. Food was presented beautifully. For mains we had the pork and the violet gnocchi. I have to say I ate the gnocchi in about 5 seconds flat it was absolutely delicious, so much so I have already been looking for the recipe. We also commented on how great the lamb looked and they gave us a sampler which was also soooo tasty. For dessert it was chocolate cake with burnt orange ice cream.

The staff in this hotel are great. They really know their stuff with the food - they had all tried all the food and had great recommendations. It is nice to go somewhere where staff actually know their products!! Nothing was too much trouble at all.

Breakfast again was very good, lots of choice/great selection.

Really recommend this hotel, it is a hidden gem. And just 12 mins from the City to such a great location with lots to do for tourists. We had a quick tour of the meeting rooms and the ballroom that is used mostly for weddings - stunning.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking courtyard are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Essex111983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Breton
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

Our second hotel for a two night stay during our week in London during the Nova Scotia March Break was the 19th century mansion converted into a hotel. St. Ermin’s.
Location: Westminster. New Scotland Yard is around the corner, as is the underground.
Plusses: Beautiful building and a sumptuous lobby with curved stair cases. The area is quiet at night. You might say, boring.
Minuses- Check in at noon was too early and there was no recommendation as to whether we should just have a cup of tea and wait for a short time or come back at the agreed upon check-in time: 2:00. We decided to check our bags and go about our day in London. There was no dire necessity to check in early, we had just checked out of the Rembrandt Hotel so we were well rested and showered.
Our room was on the ground floor and just slightly above the sidewalk facing the courtyard. I did request a room facing the courtyard, but the ground floor is just above a sidewalk which passed directly by our windows. The privacy curtains were employed thus reducing the amount of lovely light reaching the room. Leaving my laptop on the desk in the window with the curtains raised could have been an invitation to theft.
The expansive bathroom had a large floor level open shower that one finds in many European hotels. Wraparound shower curtains do little to keep the water from splashing about the entire room. I resorted to laying the extra towels all over the floor so neither of us would slip. We might have been given the wheel chair accessible room. We can’t be certain. Definitely prefer an enclosed shower. The evening of our first night we noticed a distinct lack of hot water. The next day a letter had been placed on the desk explaining that necessary boiler service could result in a lack of hot water. Oh well, it is a converted 19th century mansion. The lack of hot water wasn’t a tragedy, but I wouldn’t expect things like that to happen in a self defined luxury hotel.
We had an afternoon high tea service. It began with a single scone served by the waiter, and no honey. (they raise their own bees and boast about their honey) My wife received two scones at Harrods with her tea. We were later surprised when the waiter informed us that they had run out of cucumbers, so there would be no cucumber sandwiches with the tea. England? No cucumbers? They would substitute egg and mayonnaise sandwiches instead. The tea itself was good. The waiter appeared after the steeping period to pour for you. The pastries were good and we asked for a box to take the uneaten items back to our room. We had seen others do that as well. The cost of the tea was over $100 Cdn. for the two of us. If you’re on a budget skip the tea, or just have tea with a scone and jam. You can still say you had “tea”.
Considerations or advice: This hotel almost seems to be a catering service to the government. Clients may be on government expense accounts. We did overhear a woman guiding a group of men to the bar say, “our last stop will be 10 Downing”. There is also a Parliamentary bell in the lobby that is rung when a vote is called.
Internet is free for the first 24 hours only. The continental and full English breakfasts were both too expensive for us to take a chance after our tea experience. For breakfast I picked up coffee and pastry just out the door by the underground station. You can't go wrong in London following this strategy. Everyone does it.
Costs: per night for two people: $CDN $355.44
Advice for St. Ermin's: Become an Member of Parliament, or somebody with an expense account and enjoy the perks. If you are a tourist find a more reasonable and better located hotel. On to the Savoy…

Room Tip: Ask about the shower style and on what floor your room will be located. The ground floor does allow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jstub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sitka
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

The family room was quite comfortable. The staff were quite welcoming. They reminded us of the weather forecast and loaned out some umbrellas. The concierge assisted with reservations and directions.
Don't miss out on the kids tea in the library!
Fabulous location too!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sealaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013 via mobile

Yet another London hotel that promises so much and delivers so little. We have now stayed here three times in a month for a total of 11 nights so I think I have seen all that St Ermins has to offer. Rooms at the bottom level are tiny. So small in fact that we could fit our luggage in but not us and had to be moved to a larger room. This was then followed by being woken after 11:00pm by the music from a function below us. The manager did offer to upgrade us however as we were already in bed and leaving at 6:00 the next morning we declined. We have now just sent back our lunch as it was not what was ordered and will probably be waiting another 30 minutes for the replacement meal!
All the problems come with profuse apologies and offers of upgrades but I would rather they just got it right in the first place so as to save me the bother of complaining. I expect a hotel such as this to run smoothly and not expect the staff to become professional apologists.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rhysd61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StErmins, General Manager at St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
Dear Sir,

I am saddened to read your review as although your views are perhaps not in keeping with the general consensus of our guests, we are obviously not meeting your expectations and for this I must apologise. We do offer a variety of rooms of all different sizes and I am sorry if the function disturbed your evening.
I hope that you will allow us to better serve you in the future.
Yours sincerely

Douglas McHugh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

Never disappointed with the standard of the rooms, reception and speed of checking in and out and the overall atmosphere of St Ermins. It's location is also brilliant for access to both conference venues and sight seeing. The bar staff are great friendly and efficient. Our on,y disappointment was not being able to eat in the restaurant unless we waited until 8.30 it would have been useful if we had been told when checking in that tables were scarce. Never the less my room was lovely and the bed was incredibly comfortable and immaculate

Room Tip: Have not had a bad room. They are not the biggest in London but I think more than make up for it in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

We attended conference for 100 people ,Location is excellent near St james underground
1 minutes walk in very English architecture and traditional Room
Very good Indian Food served in Dinner with Desert
Canapé's were excellent with spicy bites
Very good service
Excellent evening

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank journeyman007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#41 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,727 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#25 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Westminster
The Rubens at the Palace
The Rubens at the Palace
#88 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,978 reviews
Westminster
The Sanctuary House Hotel
The Sanctuary House Hotel
#207 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection

Property: St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Address: 2 Caxton Street | Westminster, London SW1H 0QW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in London
#52 Romantic Hotel in London
#56 Business Hotel in London
#70 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Ermin's Hotel re-opened its doors in April 2011, following a dramatic £30 million refurbishment. Nestled in the heart of London, this four star deluxe hotel is at the center of the city's vibrant business, leisure and government landmarks. St James’s Park, Parliament Square, the London Eye, Westminster Abbey, Houses of Parliament, and Queen Elizabeth II Conference Centre are all just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, Odigeo and Superbreak UK so you can book your St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jolly St Ermins Hotel
Jolly St Ermins London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing