We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“welcoming hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #78 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Stromstad, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“welcoming hotel”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Perfect location for us who wanter to walk in London. Everything ( restaurant, Big Ben, Buckingham P, London Eye, park...) was near by. We were very well taken care of. The hotel staff was very nice and helpful. Taxi just outside in the street. We had a wonderful time.

Room Tip: You could not see out of the window because it was painted white. Very sorry for that. But we had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolineDag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StErmins, General Manager at St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Hi Caroline,
Thank you for your review and I am pleased that you found us to be in a perfect location for all the sightseeing you wished to do. We do receive a lot of lovely comments from our guests about how close and easily accessible all of the main attractions are from the hotel.
I am pleased that you all of my team made you feel welcome and at home during your stay.
I do hope you will return to London again soon and stay with us at St. Ermin’s Hotel.
Warm regards
Douglas McHugh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,751
    1,347
    253
    83
    35
See reviews for
1,653
2,122
175
724
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,048)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We found this hotel to be in a great location with several good restaurants within walking distance. It is a Marriott property, so you can receive Marriott points. The room was not large but more than sufficient for what we needed. WiFi was included but breakfast was not. There were a couple of coffee places nearby, so getting breakfast was not a problem at all.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StErmins, General Manager at St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Hi Sandy,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your stay with us.
I am so pleased that overall you had a very enjoyable stay with us and that all met with your expectations.
I hope that you will visit us again sometime in the future.
Warm regards
Douglas McHugh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Stayed for just one night at the end of April. Great front desk who upgraded me to a small suite (Marriott Platinum) which was lovely. The whole internal architecture is beautiful (but as previously commented the views out the window are not always the best, but not a problem for me)-for regular travellers the whole ambience/design is a very pleasant change from the typically bland corporate hotel. Quick beer on the terrace then retired to the room to get some room service and finish some work. Hotel was very full, and so breakfast was very busy but the staff dealt with it very professionally.

Superb location for tourists (will being my family back here next time we stay in London) and I will be returning in early June for a week's stay-my new favourite place to stay in London!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StErmins, General Manager at St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Hi Peter,
It was a pleasure to upgrade you to a junior suite on arrival and I am pleased that this was to your liking.
I am glad you loved the hotels architecture. Being a grade II listed building built in the 1800’s it has lots of character and we wanted to keep this when we refurbished as it is very much part of the Victorian feel and makes St. Ermin’s different.
I see you had a drink on the terrace which is now open and a lovely place to sit in the late spring to summer months. It is a very popular part of the hotel serving both drinks and its own menu.
Room service is a great way to be able to relax without going anywhere and guests tend to do this sometimes when they have been out all day sightseeing or just want to watch a film and stay in. Glad you made use of this facility.
It would be an absolute pleasure to welcome both you and your family to stay when you are next in London with them and we look forward to welcoming you in June also.
We will see you then!
Warm regards
Douglas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Our company held it's annual Sales Kick-off at St Ermin's Hotel for 2 1/2 days in April with over 40 conferees. We required not only the conference facilities rooms with lunch and break teas / coffees but hotel rooms for 2 / 3 nights and a private dinner on one of the evenings. The quality of the facilities and dinner were excellent. For events of this nature, flexibility is expected and imperative and the staff of St. Ermin's responded in full meeting our needs with understanding and quick resolution. St. Ermin's Hotel was a significant factor in the conference success. Thank you. James F.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StErmins, General Manager at St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Hi James,
Thank you so much for your really lovely review following your annual Sales Kick-off meeting in April.
It is truly wonderful to read how delighted you were with our facilities, the dinner that we provided and also our team that take care of you throughout the whole conference.
I am very proud of my conference and events team and will certainly pass on your review to them.
It would be a pleasure to look after you all again for a future event and once again thank you for choosing St. Ermin’s.
Warm regards
Douglas McHugh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kapolei, Hawaii, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

As this was our first visit to London we were somewhat uncertain where to stay - we made the right choice. The hotel is in a great location; a short walk to many of the "must see" sites, and easy access to the Underground/bus.

Service/hospitality was great. We arrived well before the normal check in time following a long overnight flight from San Francisco and were extremely pleased to be given our room early. The concierge desk was most helpful with recommendations, event ticketing, and directions to the sites. Also, we found the delivery to our room of fresh milk and biscuits with morning to be a nice touch.

As others have posted, the room was small, but we found it to be comfortable. We wouldn't hesitate to stay again at St Ermins

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Norman M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StErmins, General Manager at St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Hi Norman,
It is wonderful to read that although you were uncertain of where to stay in London you chose St. Ermin’s Hotel and really loved it.
Thank you for commenting on how great our service is and that my concierge team helped you with lots of arrangements for things to do around the city. They are very knowledgeable and love to help our guests to enjoy as many things as possible.
I am pleased you liked your room and it would be an absolute pleasure to welcome you back when you next come to London.
Warm regards
Douglas McHugh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
95 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

St. Ermin's has a fantastic location in the heart of London and away from the hustle. Service quality is extreme. Breakfasts were superb. Compared to other London hotels, perfect if you're staying on business. If you're tourists and rich surely choose this hotel.
Negatives: tiny rooms with tiny windows are worth to mention. You can't stay inside. It's compansated with good lobby and garden. Room service foods are not excellent as I expected.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Evren A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StErmins, General Manager at St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Hi Evren,
I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and hat you found our service levels to a high standard.
I have noted that you felt your room was small, but can advise that we do have many different categories of room and all have different locations, shape, size and view so some are larger than others. This is mainly due to the unique way in which the hotel was built back in the 1800’s. So when you are next in London please contact our reservations team and they will able to help you with your choice of room.
I am really happy that you liked our breakfast so much. We do receive some lovely comments about our wide selection of items such as pastries, fruit, cheese, meat, cereals etc and of course our cook to order eggs.
I am glad you loved our lobby area as well as our beautiful courtyard with the terrace above open in the summer months.
It would be a pleasure to welcome you back the next time you pay a visit to London. We look forward to it.
Kind regards
Douglas McHugh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We only had one night in London, but St. Ermin's was the perfect place. Location was perfect for the many attractions in the area. We felt perfectly safe for first time London visitors and the staff went out of their way to make sure everything was perfect. I don't know if it could have been any better.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StErmins, General Manager at St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Hi Chris,

How lovely it is to read that my team made you feel so at home and like nothing was too much trouble.

I can see that everything was just perfect for you and you enjoyed every aspect of your stay.

It was a pleasure to look after you and we hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards
Douglas McHugh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#48 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,862 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#30 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Westminster
The Rubens at the Palace
The Rubens at the Palace
#80 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,058 reviews
Westminster
The Royal Horseguards
The Royal Horseguards
#103 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection

Property: St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Address: 2 Caxton Street | Westminster, London SW1H 0QW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in London
#52 Romantic Hotel in London
#56 Business Hotel in London
#72 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Ermin's Hotel re-opened its doors in April 2011, following a dramatic £30 million refurbishment. Nestled in the heart of London, this four star deluxe hotel is at the center of the city's vibrant business, leisure and government landmarks. St James’s Park, Parliament Square, the London Eye, Westminster Abbey, Houses of Parliament, and Queen Elizabeth II Conference Centre are all just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jolly St Ermins Hotel
Jolly St Ermins London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing