We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #78 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in July. The service was excellent, beautifully decorated and very clean. The staff was very helpful and friendly. I look forward to staying there again when we visit London.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1996TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,751
    1,347
    253
    83
    35
See reviews for
1,653
2,122
175
724
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,048)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Highland Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We booked this room through American Express Travel. Our room had 2 queen days and a day bed already prepared when we arrived. The room was modern with comfortable linens and our room actually had 2 full bathrooms and small fridge! The service was impeccable. Had a wonderful meal at Kaku's which was a 5 minute walk. 10 minute walk to Westminster Abbey, Big Ben. Safe neighborhood. The lobby reminded me of the Amsterdam Intercontinental (Grand Dame type hotel.) Beautiful. Perfect stay at reasonable price in ideal location! Very family friendly hotel with lovely tea room. Be sure to visit the bee hives on 3rd floor and gardens out front. We have not been this impressed this much by a hotel in quite a long time. Our family highly recommends this hotel!

Green Features: There is a bee farm on 3rd floor designed to try and replenish the bee population in the area. The honey is used in the hotel restaurant from what I understand.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MKDFLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, CA
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I had a recent stay here which was a mixed experience:

The PROS:
--Decent location, close to the St. James tube stop
--Rather comfortable rooms and beds
--Free upgrade for a gold member (I hate to think how small the non-upgraded room was).
--Nice toiletries in the bathroom
--No exterior noise.
--The lobby and furnishings are very tasteful.

The CONS:
--Tiny rooms that don't have the best layout.
--Some serious elevator issues…all but 1 tiny one were out.
--The rainforest shower could really use a handheld wand as well.
--Not impressed by the breakfast. Pretty sad buffet with mixed service.
--Front desk staff are just cold and clinical…very transactional, not personal. Also seems a bit over-the-top financially…explicitly requiring you to authorize a 50 pound allowance with your credit card…not friendly.
--Loud from the inside. I could hear lots of comings and goings outside my room.


Overall, while it was a reasonably nice stay, it was in no way worth the 199 pound going rate. I didn't really leave terribly satisfied, but it was perfectly adequate.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CountryPlusPlus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StErmins, General Manager at St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Hi there,

Thank you for your pros and with regards to your cons; I apologise we didn't quite make your grade. We are a hotel with lots of character, which in turn means we have some quirky rooms but we also have a range of room types which reach a size of 64sqm. The lift issue was due to a power outage in the whole of the surrounding area which was beyond my control.

With regards to the cold service, I am saddened to hear this, as the overwhelming majority of feedback that we receive describes our service as engaging and warm.

We really appreciate your feedback and overall pleased you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Many thanks
Douglas McHugh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worksop, England, UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed on business for a conference for two days. The check in for a large group was swift and efficient, the staff were helpful and stored bags until rooms were ready. Lunch was great and the group was well catered for, dinner was also very good. The rooms were clean and comfortable with good facilities, the choice at breakfast was great and was able to sit in a light open airy lounge overlooking the forecourt. A beautiful hotel, great location and fantastic staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CP80_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StErmins, General Manager at St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Hi there,
You seem to have enjoyed every element of your stay with us from the food to the service which makes me very proud as that is the reason we are here. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards
Douglas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bealeton, Virginia
Level Contributor
215 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Everything was awesome - the staff - location and room all top shelf!! Had breakfast it was good as well. A bit pricy but if you want a quality hotel where they are VERY attentive to all your needs this is your place!!
Plenty of places close to walk to to eat or go shopping with plenty of great sites within walking distance, Do yourself a favor if you are coming in from Heathrow and take the Heathrow Express train it will make your trip into the hotel much better!! Otherwise unless you're coming in late at night it can be a long drive via taxi. Take the train to Paddington then a taxi. Not sure about the Wi-Fi I believe you can get it free (I've got status with Marriott so it was included).
Bathroom is nice with an overhead shower (my room had no bathtub). When I return to London I am hoping to stay here again!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StErmins, General Manager at St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Hi Jay,

Thank you very much for your glowing report of our hotel, it's great to hear everything was awesome. We do have WI-FI which is complimentary and is super fast.

We look forward to welcoming you back to St Ermin's on your next trip to London

Many thanks
Douglas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Absolutely loved our experience at this hotel. Was very conveniently located, only a block or so away from the nearest tube stop. Room was beautiful and clean, and the bed was extremely comfortable. The hotel staff were very helpful and our meal in the restaurant was also quite good. Would definitely stay here again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StErmins, General Manager at St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Hi Jenn,

Thank you for your lovely comments about our hotel. Our location is one of our key features as we are so close to the underground and links to the rest of London as well as the popular sights like Buckingham Palace, Big Ben & the Houses of Parliament. I am very glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to St Ermin's hotel in the future

Many thanks
Douglas McHugh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed here for two nights. The room was compact, but had all we needed. Wouldn't like to stay here for longer as there wouldn't be any room for the luggage. The lifts were broken and the tiny central lift was the only one working. Ok if your fit to climb all the stairs but we were on the 4th floor. So for some people that would be too much. This lift took forever to come. Otherwise this is a beautiful hotel. The staff were very helpful. Didn't eat here as there was lots of places nearby. Ideal for Buckingham palace and the tube is around the corner. I would return to the hotel. I must admit the entrance to the hotel is beautiful, you feel so special walking up the courtyard.

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues ask for a ground floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pixie1Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StErmins, General Manager at St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Hi there,

I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us here at St Ermin's hotel. Our courtyard is very beautiful and all planted with our honey bees in mind and we like our guests to feel as though they are coming into an oasis of calm.

With regards to the rooms, we have a number of different room types which suit longer stays from family rooms to suites all of which are quite popular with our guests.

We hope to welcome you back in the future

Kind regards
Douglas McHugh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#48 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,862 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#30 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Westminster
The Rubens at the Palace
The Rubens at the Palace
#80 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,058 reviews
Westminster
The Royal Horseguards
The Royal Horseguards
#103 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection

Property: St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Address: 2 Caxton Street | Westminster, London SW1H 0QW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in London
#52 Romantic Hotel in London
#56 Business Hotel in London
#72 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Ermin's Hotel re-opened its doors in April 2011, following a dramatic £30 million refurbishment. Nestled in the heart of London, this four star deluxe hotel is at the center of the city's vibrant business, leisure and government landmarks. St James’s Park, Parliament Square, the London Eye, Westminster Abbey, Houses of Parliament, and Queen Elizabeth II Conference Centre are all just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jolly St Ermins Hotel
Jolly St Ermins London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing