We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friday Night Close To Home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #79 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
125 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Friday Night Close To Home”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Just got back from the St Ermin today after a good Friday night stay. The hotel itself is historic and has a number of old adverts around the building from the 40s and earlier when it proudly boasted 200 bedrooms and 100 bathrooms. Not the situation today where every room has its own en suite.

The hotel is well situated over St James Park tube station on the district line. Though beware on weekends not all tube entrances are open so check with the hotel to save you walking round the block. Its so close to westminster it has a bell in the lobby to call people back to parliament and also looks over onto New Scotland Yard in another direction. At night the light up courtyard is truly magical and you can sit outside if the weather allows. There is a bee hotel on the outside terrace on the third floor and the honey made there is used in the hotel - a nice touch - they are behind glass and people can come up and see them if they want.

The common areas are beautiful. Parts of the dining room that are used for breakfast are a bit dark, but the buffet breakfast is fairly comprehensive. Unusually on a weekend and bank holiday breakfast is served til mid day and check out is at 11. The hotel was very full so there was a wait for check out, for breakfast and for information desk. But the staff were generally helpful. There was also a wait for a la carte items like omelettes etc from the breakfast menu. My eggs benedict were fairly poor and not what I had expected with the Caxton Grill being housed in the building. Poor because luke warm, eggs still translucent in places and the hollandaise slightly split. But its a 1st world problem and didn't change our stay which was very good.

Lifts let them down, not all were running and we ended going up to go down in the end after a fairly long wait.

As a platinum Elite Marriott member we got upgraded to a Junior Suite which was very very nice. Only rainforest shower - no bath, but good quality toiletries, coffee ( nespresso), free wifi, good sized lounge and really nice furniture and decor. Really good safe big enough for laptop bag and other essentials.

I would go back and stay again for the building and the decor, maybe just when it was slightly less packed. I would also recommend it to others.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cconta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StErmins, General Manager at St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Hi There,
What a lovely thing it is to read that you understand our heritage and how much the hotel has changed over the years. We love that it has so much history and many of our guests like to read about it to learn more. You even noticed our bell in the lobby for calling back parliament in the years gone by.

I am so glad you went to see our bees, which we are very proud of. They are quite interesting to watch going in and out of the hives and now that we have the Bee hotel it is interesting to watch other kinds of bees that live here.
I was very sorry to read that your breakfast experience was not as expected and I can assure you that this is not indicative of our usual service levels at all. I will speak to my Food & Beverage Manager regarding this. However, I was happy to hear that this did not detract from the enjoyment of your stay.

I am delighted that we were able to upgrade you to a Junior Suite and that you found this really nice. We do receive lots of comments about our toiletries being so luxurious. We use White Company products which we feel are just that little bit more special. All of our rooms have laptop safes which guest find really helpful as know they can lock everything away safe whilst they are out and about Thank you for recommending us to others and we look forward to meeting you again in the future.
Warm regards
Douglas
Douglas McHugh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,757
    1,348
    254
    83
    35
See reviews for
1,653
2,130
175
724
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,051)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

From our arrival throughout our 5 night stay, we were not disappointed. The front desk & concierge service were always patient & most helpful. The small bar, cozy; hotel restaurant (Caxton Grill), delicious! Close to all transportation....Victoria Station, St James Park Underground, Big Bus/other bus stops....and adorable pubs. We would stay again but would definitely request a room overlooking the courtyard.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank RovingRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StErmins, General Manager at St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Hi There,
Thank you for saying that we are a wonderful hotel in a great location.
It’s a real delight to read that you found all of my team very helpful and patient. You are very important to us so they will always look after you no matter how large or small the request is.
I see you tried both our Caxton bar and the Caxton Grill during your 5 night stay and found the Grill menu delicious. We are very lucky to have such talented chefs who put some lovely creations together for our menu.
Our courtyard is particularly beautiful and quiet so yes please do request a room overlooking here next time you stay as I am sure you will love it.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Warm regards
Douglas
Douglas McHugh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights during August when in town on business.
As it was the low season the rate I got was favourable and there was an automatic upgrade for any guests staying for 5 nights or more. I mentioned this late on a Sunday night when I was checking in and the receptinist did not have a clue what offer I was refering to and advised no upgrade would be given.
I pointed out that I was a Marriott Rewards member with Silver status and this made no difference what so ever.
The roon I was given was lovely and had a great view over looking the courtyard, and I must admit I was impressed, although still aggrieved at the way I had been fobbed off by the rude receptionist.
I phoned the duty manager on Monday night after ariving back from work and reported my issue to her and was dult given the upgrade and a swift apology. What a mistake this was. The room was only slightly bigger, but the a/c did not work and as it was a hot week I was left sweltering for the remaining 4 nights and did not have the best nights sleep, which is a rare occurence for me in a Marriott.
However I found the rest of the staff very friendly and willing to help. The restaurant wasx good, and well priced for the area, and the breakfast had a good selection, although I found it strange that there was a charge for the cooked s3ection of the breakfast buffet.
Overall a good experience, just a shame about the initial introduction.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the courtyard in the middle of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ross2382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StErmins, General Manager at St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Hi Ross,
I was so very sad to read that your check in experience was not how it should have been and that you felt fobbed off. This is certainly not the usual standard of service that we provide at St. Ermin’s and I will be addressing this with our Front Office Manager to ensure that additional training is given if necessary. I can only sincerely apologise for this. We did have some issues with our a/c system which failed over a few days and I am truly sorry for this. I am pleased that my Duty Manager did offer you the upgrade once you had spoken to her.
It’s great that you found our breakfast good as well as the food in the Caxton Grill where we have a very talented chef.
I would love for you to return to the hotel again in the future on business and can assure you that your check in experience would be very different.
We look forward to seeing you.
Warm regards
Douglas
Douglas McHugh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Location was excellent. Check in was smooth, I asked for upgrades and they had already upgraded our room and added breakfast. Room was a good size and had everything we could want. Every staff member we dealt with was pleasant. After a long day of sightseeing, we were able to enjoy a glass of wine on the 1st floor terrace. If we make it back to London, we will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OldSalt22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StErmins, General Manager at St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Hi There,
I was delighted to read that we had provided you with an upgrade and breakfast for the duration of your stay. Glad you loved this room.
I have a very good team here at St. Ermin’s and am very proud of how welcome and relaxed they make our guests feel. It is something that is very important to us.
How lovely that the weather was good enough for you to be able to sit on the terrace and have a glass of wine. It is a really quiet and relaxing area to sit especially on a Summers evening when it is warm and light.
I do hope you make it back to London as we would love to welcome you back.
Warm regards
Douglas
Douglas McHugh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

This beautiful hotel is located within walking distance of Buckingham Palace. I was by myself and felt very safe walking everywhere. It is also within walking distance of good pubs & restaurants. The staff was very knowledgeable about attractions, plays, & transportation. I also loved the herb garden along the walkway.

Room Tip: View was of a quiet neighborhood and the New Scotland Yard.
See more room tips
Green Features: The usual programs with towels & sheets. They had large bottles of hai & body products so a savings on plastic products.they also grew herbs along one of the pathways to the hotel.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brooklyn350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StErmins, General Manager at St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Hi There,
It was an absolute pleasure to welcome you and to look after you whilst travelling on your own.
I see you felt very safe here and that my team were really helpful in making suggestions of where to go and what to see as well as where to eat. There are so many options around us.
You are quite right we do grow herbs as well as tomatoes, peppers etc in our courtyard garden. We wanted to make our garden a little different and so many guests comment on this. Glad you liked it.
We are very green conscious and have our own project in house to ensure we help the carbon footprint around the world. We do recycle and follow a green procedure so thank you for noticing this too.
Please do come back and visit us again soon.
Warm regards
Douglas
Douglas McHugh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
163 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

But I cannot. The only reason for that was because for the 4 night we stayed in the hotel, the cleaning staff left our used juice glasses in the room and put new covers over them as if to say, "here, these are clean".... that was disappointing.

Onto the good.

The hotel is stunning. But the location even better. Its next door to Scotland Yard, which might actually sound like a big deal, but it's not. The building is kinda ugly, but you do feel a bit safer. :-)

It took us approx. 5 minutes to walk to Buckingham Palace & Westminster Abbey (we are fast walkers) for example, so we were super happy with that.

TIP for those who would prefer a little more space:

We paid an upgrade of 20 pounds per day to have a KING size bed which also featured a larger room, (in Canada or the USA, really, it was comparable to a Fairmont standard room). It was roomy, clean (except for those glasses), the beds were super comfy, the room was modern & the shower was really nice.

Around the corner you will find Snax. It is a convenience store but better, it has a deli. It was perfect for my morning Latte, breakfast, and last minute dinner one evening. Starbucks is on the other corner.

We would definitely stay here again & would recommend it to you.

P.S. We were on the 2nd floor. It was quite. No problems. The gym is on that floor as well.

Room Tip: read my tip in my review.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NancyPower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StErmins, General Manager at St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Hi Nancy,
I was so very pleased to read that overall you had a really great stay with us and would stay with us again.
I was however, mortified to read your comments about the juice glasses and have already sent this to our Executive Housekeeper to ensure that this is addressed immediately. I can only sincerely apologise for them being left in your room like that, this is not indicative of our service levels at all.
Our rooms are very different in size, shape and view depending on the category booked and location within the building as we are a grade II listed horse shoe style property, so they are all very different. I am pleased you liked you upgraded room and found it comfortable.
I really look forward to welcoming you back and to receiving those 5 stars next time round.
Many thanks for your review.
Warm regards
Douglas
Douglas McHugh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Situated only a few hundred yards (metres) from Westminster Abbey and almost next to the St James Park tube station this is the perfect place to start any visit to London. The hotel has a charm all of its own, the reception area and beautiful staircase look to have been created in icing sugar by Michelangelo. The staff are courteous and attentive without being intrusive. The hotel also have a green side adding to the environment by hosting a bee colony on an external balcony and which can be viewed through thick glass from within the hotel.

Green Features: The bee colony is a great idea and the location and viewing have been well thought out.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neonjavelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StErmins, General Manager at St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Hi There,
Thank you so much for commenting on our beautiful lobby staircase which leads to our balcony. We thought hard when refurbishing the property and kept this in character with our 1800’s era.
I am so pleased that you recognised that we have a green project which is ongoing in throughout the hotel. We are very conscious of the carbon footprint so endeavour to recycle wherever we can. All of our rubbish that is collected is sorted and then sent to the relevant recycling companies.
Our bees are a very special project of ours and they are thriving. We look after them extremely well both in Summer and especially in Winter when our bee keeper feeds them to help them through the harsh elements. I am glad you went to see them.
I do hope you will visit us again when you are next in London.
Warm regards
Douglas
Douglas McHugh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#49 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,870 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#30 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Westminster
The Rubens at the Palace
The Rubens at the Palace
#77 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,063 reviews
Westminster
The Royal Horseguards
The Royal Horseguards
#105 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection

Property: St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Address: 2 Caxton Street | Westminster, London SW1H 0QW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in London
#52 Romantic Hotel in London
#56 Business Hotel in London
#73 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Ermin's Hotel re-opened its doors in April 2011, following a dramatic £30 million refurbishment. Nestled in the heart of London, this four star deluxe hotel is at the center of the city's vibrant business, leisure and government landmarks. St James’s Park, Parliament Square, the London Eye, Westminster Abbey, Houses of Parliament, and Queen Elizabeth II Conference Centre are all just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jolly St Ermins Hotel
Jolly St Ermins London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing