We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel. Great Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Saint Georges Hotel
Ranked #780 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I have just returned from a stay at the St Georges. The Hotel is really nice, we had a room on the 11th floor at the front of the hotel very spacious and very clean. Nice big bathroom aswell. The staff that we came into contact with were all excellent and kind enough to hold our luggage until our room was ready as we arrived on the early train, and also held til late on our return day. The views from the bar/restaurant on the 15th floor were amazing. The location is excellent few minutes walk away from Oxford Circus tube station. Lots of places to eat and drink in the surrounding areas. Also very close for the Hop on Hop off bus which is a brill way to get round and see the sights of London. We were there to see Mama Mia and was only £8.00 in a taxi to the theatre, taxi to Kings Cross was about £11.00 which I thought was very reasonable. Looking forward to returning very soon! Thanks for a great stay

Room Tip: Higher up for better views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank CHRISTINE R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris S, General Manager at Saint Georges Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

What a great review on Tripadvisor from Christine R who stayed at the Saint Georges quite recently. She obviously had a great time and we look forward to welcoming her back in the future..Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (671)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

252 - 258 of 671 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014

For any media nerd this hotel is a must. Located right beside BBC Broadcasting House in Central London, the rooms have a nice character and are decorated with frames of old Radio Times issues - not the recent ones but the really old ones. My room was at the front on the top floor and offered a superb view of All Souls Church as well as Broadcasting House - old and new. It's ideally located for central London - 2 minutes walk to Oxford Circus tube and plenty of places to eat, drink and shop nearby. Will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Shane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed a week in the Saint George Hotel and it was very good value for money. Great central location near Oxford Circus tube. Being near the intersection of Regent St and Oxford St meant shopping close by and also hop on hop off bus stop near the hotel. Across the road from the Langham Hotel so we were able to be picked up for tours as the Saint George Hotel was not included in hotel pick ups. Bed was very comfortable and staff at reception very helpful. The lounge bar at the top floor of the hotel was okay although we were surprised to hear arguing between bar staff members over the couple of hours we were there which we have never encountered in a bar before. The best thing about this hotel was the amazing views across London from the room as well as the Lounge Bar. I would definitely recommend this hotel for value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris S, General Manager at Saint Georges Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Thanks to Kris M for a very positive and encouraging review after their recent stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Situated right next to Broadcasting House, and with the lower 8 floors of the hotel occupied by the BBC this is an excellent location if you are starring in Desert island Discs - it is one minute's walk to the studio!
We were in fact attending Lord's for the cricket and found the walk through Regent's Park great, or the five minute taxi ride affordable.
The Hotel is unpretentious, and the reception area is quite basic - staff were however efficient and helpful. The room was adequate; dated, and by modern standards a little behind the times; to have only a standard size double bed is quite unusual these days.
The bathroom was a bit dismal, tiles badly replaced, a water pipe sticking up from the sink surround with a cap on it, and a big step into the bath to take advantage of the shower.
Noises were evident throughout our two night stay - sounded like an underground train passing overhead which we deemed unlikely on the 9th floor.
Second night we had a 4am fire alarm sounding which- it was explained - was caused by a malfunction in the BBC floors below, clearly outside the control of the management but very distrubing nonetheless. Lighting in the room was not up to standard either, in-bed reading not on the agenda.
The 15th floor ( we couldn't count fifteen floors but that is what the lift stated!) contained the restaurant and bar and it was claimed to be under renovation. It cries out for it. The decor is tired, old and not acceptable. The views are great and they really should make capital out of the location of this facility.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Walter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The other reviews which have some criticisms have an element of truth but really for London and in this location the price is right. 1 minute to Regent St and Oxford St. £10 in a taxi from Euston. Reception was friendly, quick and easy. The room was bigish and well equipped except for the 1960's windows which we left open to the noise outside anyway. Aircon was good, good bed, bathroom a bit dated but everything worked great and the towels were clean and plentiful. The 15th floor was brilliant. Breakfast was quite good but a wee bit limited on range of options - ok as it was included in the rate. Drinks a wee bit expensive but worth it for the view. Yes I'd use it again. Super Italian called Bar Remo a 5 minute walk away.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimmydash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

On July 7th 2014 Eurostar cancelled trains back to Brussels. A hotel was needed and quickly. Yes it's a bit tired but the beds are comfy, the rooms are clean and you get a nice view from the 14th floor and you're close to Oxford and Regents Street. I personally can't fault the place and it was a good nights sleep before heading back to St Pancras the next morning to try and get home. Oh and the staff at reception? Very friendly.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Hthebloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel as part of a social trip at work. The best thing with this hotel is by far the location. Pretty much close to everything? We had a superior room which was nice and comfortable. Otherwise the hotel really feels dated and there was some construction ongoing. We did not have breakfast or other dining at the top floor restaurant, but the view was great and the same can be said about the drinks.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank trond_sakshaug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Fitzrovia
Grange Langham Court
Grange Langham Court
#539 of 1,077 in London
611 reviews
Marylebone
Holiday Inn Oxford Circus
Holiday Inn Oxford Circus
#630 of 1,077 in London
1,178 reviews
Soho
Courthouse Hotel
Courthouse Hotel
#637 of 1,077 in London
1,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fitzrovia
Astor Court Hotel
Astor Court Hotel
#602 of 1,077 in London
694 reviews
Fitzrovia
Rathbone Hotel
Rathbone Hotel
#281 of 1,077 in London
1,121 reviews
Mayfair
No. 5 Maddox Street
No. 5 Maddox Street
#329 of 1,077 in London
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saint Georges Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint Georges Hotel

Address: - Regent Street 14-15 Langham Place, London W1B 2QS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Fitzrovia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#392 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £98 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Saint Georges Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Saint Georges Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Georges London
Hotel Saint Georges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing