We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food...terrible service!”
Review of Morgan M. - CLOSED

Morgan M.
Morgan M.
Price range: US$63 - US$70
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: City of London
Istanbul
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food...terrible service!”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

If you want good service don't go.
At the prices you pay here you expect good food and service. Well the service was just terrible. Delays in being served - dishes being given to others across you - sloppy serving of sauces, wine taken away and delays in getting the wine - pouring wine unevenly that lead to the final person having a drop...which put pressure to order another bottle of wine (which we would have) but it was just poor service. The food was excellent though

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marmadukeIstanbul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    10
    11
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Do not go with a large group”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Had heard good things about Morgan M, but my experience was that whilst the food was ok to good, the experience was soured by shambolic service and a poor staff attitude. Ok we were a big group - maybe 30 people, but we had pre-booked and pre-ordered. However there was no sign that our arrival (at the booked time) had been prepared for. We waited nearly an hour for our starters, with a miserly wine service and bread on rationing. For me the worst was no acknowledgement from staff that things were not running smoothly and no attempt to update us on the slow progress of our meals. 3 courses took around 3 hours to arrive. I would look elsewhere.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank spoons m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Defintely worth a try”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Very impressed by the lunch menu both for the standard of cooking and the value. Portion sizes all very generous, including the amuse bouche, and flavours well balanced. Only disapointment was the desert (apricot tart) which lacked finese. A nice room with good natural light and tables not packed too close together. Would happily recommend to others and im keen to return to sample the a la carte at dinner.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yatsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“An exceptional meal”
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We ate here with friends who'd read reviews, whereas we hadn't. We all opted for the six-course tasting menu, with the matched wines. Every dish was faultlessly executed, and the wine was a perfect match for each course. Highlights were the gazpacho with tomato and basil sorbet, and the mirabelle soufflé. Obviously it's not a cheap place to eat, but for cooking of this refinement and technical perfection, it's good value for money as an occasional treat. The service was appropriately pitched on the friendly side of formal, and it would be hard to find any point of criticism. It truly was an exceptional evening.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravellingNaturalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Recommended”
Reviewed 10 July 2013 via mobile

As we were! This restaurant ticks all the boxes! Decor is calm and soothing, the food an adventure for the pallet and the staff discreet and attentive. Thank you to all concerned a truly memorable lunch

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Treasurehunter62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Morgan M. also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing