We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful and lots to do” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Battersea Park

Battersea Park
Ranked #123 of 1,570 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
300 reviews
187 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Beautiful and lots to do”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

I have been lucky enough to grow up very near the park and would come here regularly in the summer. There is so much to see and do, you would not be able to see it all in one day.

Firstly you have the actual walks which are lovely in themselves to wander around. Secondly you have the giant gold buddha statue to visit, then you have the lake, its huge and you can hire a boat to row on, or find the "hidden" waterfalls and explore these which I used to love when I was younger. You can take the kids to the adventure playground, though health and safety might have made it boring by now as the last time I saw it; it wasn't very "adventure"! You also have the Zoo to take the kids to also or indeed yourself! Nearby the many cafes and eateries, there is a lovely water feature which is gorgeous on a summers day, finally there is the pump house gallery, although I have never actually been in myself.

I would highly recommend coming here as much as you can especially in the summer, although they do famous firework displays in November which are unmissable of all those I have been to in London! Don't miss it!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank LukeytaO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    116
    18
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“The Best Place on Earth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

No better place on Earth... Has everything, walks, boats, sports, everything..... Best park in the world.....

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ashley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A PARK FOR ALL SEASONS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

We are very fortunate to live in a corner site opposite one of the gates into Battersea Park. We walk there every day, about 7.00am and feed fresh fish to the herons by the lake. Many of the benches alongside the paths have brass memorial plaques on them; two benches facing the Crystal Palace fountain in the Festival of Britain section commemorate the deaths in action of two brothers, army officers in the First World War, a catastrophe for their family. The wildlife is varied and plentiful: grey herons, coots, moorhens, greylag geese, great crested grebe, egyptian geese (which are actually ducks), pochards, cormorants, red-crested pochards, mallards, woodpeckers, a cornucopia of nature. There are football and hockey pitches, play areas for children, tennis courts , specialised areas like the new winter garden and acres of land for dog-owners to walk their dogs. Then there's the beautiful Peace Pagoda, the Barbara Hepworth sculpture in commemoration of the late Secretary-General of the United Nations, Dag Hammerschold, and a monumental Henry Moore sculpture, also lakeside. One could walk all day round the park and not be bored, and it's all free.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Denis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Venue but a bit disorganised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

We were at the British Travel Awards 2013 last night in Evolution at Battersea Park, great entrance to the venue and the Halloween theme was fabulous but the bar staff at the beginning of the evening were very badly organised for such a large event. The food however was excellent and the service to the table was also very good.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank UKCarole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Decent Battersea dog event”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

I went to Battersea Park to attend the Annual Reunion and Fun day as a lover of dogs. The event was quite a walk from the entrance closest to Chelsea Bridge and it started raining but at least I saw a squirrel on my way in. The fun day had various stalls selling dog accessories, homemade dog treats and unwanted bric-a-brac and there were various dog contests such as 'Most Handsome Hound,' 'Fancy Dress' (dogs wore some interesting costumes such as Dorothy and a flying monkey from the 'Wizard of Oz,' a Chelsea pensioner and even Paul O'Grady and Lily Savage) and 'Dog that looks like their owner or a celebrity.' After my visit to the event, I had trouble finding my way out but found an exit near the one I used to enter the park. Overall not bad for a first visit. 4/5.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Stompgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Battersea Park also viewed

 

Been to Battersea Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing