We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent but overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jawaher Hotel Apartments
Ranked #505 of 871 Speciality Lodging in London
A TripAdvisor Member
“Decent but overpriced”
Reviewed 3 February 2006

Pluses – very clean, professionally managed, large bathroom, excellent location, good little kitchen with serviceable appliances, lots of pillows, housekeeper washes dishes

Minuses – typical London tatty – worn carpets, chipped corners, slightly grimey couch and bedcovers, very springy mattresses, our apt. smelled badly of the previous tenants fish dinner.

We rented the 4th flr Knaresborough apt in January for a special 79£ per night rate – the usual rate for the ‘garret’ flat is 100 or more. Even at the discount, I felt we overpaid - you pay upfront, so I guess it's hard cheese if you want to leave. Don’t get me wrong, it was fine. The stairs got old quickly and I could not help thinking there were better deals to be had around the convenient Earl’s Court area. There is a great deal of competition in London for the 50-100 per night crowd. Unless you have lots of people (it is advertised as ‘family’ apts) and plan to save boodles of money by cooking in (very boring and good luck – Sainsburys ain’t cheap) - I suggest you look around before settling for these apartments.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    12
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
2
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cherry Hill, NJ
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2006

My family and I stayed at the sister apartment on Knaresborough Rd. for 5 nights. The owners, Robert and Polly, were very friendly and accommodating. They are a wealth of information and can give you lots of tips. The apartment featured a separate bedroom with a double bed, a living room with a double sofa bed, a small, equipped kitchen corner with a full size stove, microwave, refrig, toaster, and electric kettle.The bathroom was newly remodeled and had a power shower and plenty of hot water. The apartment was well heated, too. We appreciated this since it was very cold outside during our stay. The lobby has a computer/internet station and there is a washer and dryer in the basement. The closest tube station is Earl's Court with the District, Circle and Picadilly line- just 15 min to Leicester Square. The 24 hr grocery store is very close by and convenient. Give this place a try when you want more value for your dollar and are tired of the standard hotel room.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mitzi57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2005

Agree with all of the above, rooms are a little tired, but clean and quiet.
Pleasant helpful reception and near tube stations. A good find!

  • Stayed October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2005

Having been to London several times and staying at B&B's (studiously avoiding hotels) we decided to stay at a short term self-catering apartment. The owner has two locations a few blocks apart. We stayed at Knaresborough Place in Jan. 2005 and this one, 2004. Both were wonderful choices.

The places were perfectly clean, management was as helpful as we could have wanted. Dropped our bags off early upon arrival and we were off. Supermarket 2 blocks away had all we needed for breakfasts and snacks.

The location, in quiet and lovely Kensington, was a short walks to the tube lines and their office is on the line coming in from Heathrow, making arrival with luggage simple and inexpensive.

A wonderful, low key and convenient way to visit London. Heading back there for our third stay next month.

  • Stayed January 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PopSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 30 September 2005

After having read many reviews about a lot of bad experiences with "apartments" in London, we arrived at the Emperors gate for a 9 day stay in early September 2005 with foreboding. Well, we were greeted by a charming host, Robert,and shown a very nice apartment. While it was small, by American standards,it was very comfortable, clean and well maintained.Fresh sheets regularly, clean towels, daily maid service, well equipped kitchen, plenty of hot water,etc.-etc.-etc.
It was quiet,only 5 minutes walk from a tube stop and 3 minutes to a 24 hour grocery store. Robert and his wife Polly go out of their way to assist their guests with all of the various little questions that tourists seem to have. The rest of the staff was equally helpfull in all aspects of our stay.
We would certainly recommend these flats to other visitors.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houma, LA
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2005

I stayed in the Emperors Gate Apartments from March 28th to March 30th. I was quite impressed with this place. Our rooms were very clean, and the bathroom was exceptionally clean. No problems with plumbing. We even had a little balcony. This hotel does not have a lift. Make sure that you are able to climb the stairs. We stayed in room 302 on the third floor and after a whole day of walking it was quite difficult to climb the stairs. The owner Robert made us feel very welcome. On the day we left he personally made my friend a cup of coffee, before we left. The internet access is a plus! Did not have to wait long to use the computer that is available in the lobby. I would stay here again. The metro is just right up the street about a two minute walk. Very impressed with this hotel.

Helpful?
4 Thank arichards170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2005

Spent 8 nights here in December/January and were happy with it for the price. As we would have needed two hotel rooms to accommodate our family this was a much better and cheaper option. We had a separate bedroom for the adults and the loungeroom was large enough to easily accommodate all three teenagers in separate beds.

We stayed in the Knaresborough Place apartments which is listed as Kensington but was down the Earl's Court End which was fine with us. We found it very easy to get there from Heathrow. Straight on to the train at Heathrow, no changes needed and lift at Earls Court Station to get out. From there we trundled our suitcases along the level road for about 400 metres to the hotel. There is no lift at the hotel but the owner took all our luggage up for us. Owners were very friendly and helpful. The place does show its age a bit but overall the furnishings are quite good and we were quite happy with it. It had a full size kitchen so a couple of times we saved a bit of money by eating in. There is a large supermarket less than 5 minutes away.

Helpful?
4 Thank shandy40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Park Grand London Kensington
South Kensington
Hotel Moonlight
Hotel Moonlight
#46 of 1,069 in London
241 reviews
South Kensington
Hotel Xenia Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#57 of 1,069 in London
3,728 reviews
South Kensington
Hotel Indigo London Kensington
South Kensington
Knaresborough Boutique Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jawaher Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jawaher Hotel Apartments

Property: Jawaher Hotel Apartments
Address: 8 Knaresborough place, London SW5 0TG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #505 of 871 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-apartment super dignified london townhouse - Central London, Kensington area 10 mi from Heathrow airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jawaher Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing