We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“on business in london”
Review of Orchard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Orchard Hotel
Ranked #745 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Nicosia, Cyprus
1 review
“on business in london”
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Stayred 3 nights at the Orchard.I will recommend the hotel to anyone.Time to Heatrow less than 25 mimutes.Refurbished Orchard offers good facilities.Clean rooms, modern bathrooms t.v comfortable beds, ideal for somebody spending whole day on businees and going back at the end of the day for a good rest.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leandros z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    142
    204
    75
    78
See reviews for
176
131
41
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basildon
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Stayed 3 nights on business and the refurbished Orchard hotel is recommended. The rooms, whilst not the largest, are clean with 50 channel freeview flat screen TV and modern bathrooms with an excellent shower. A new lift has been installed so top floor rooms also not a problem. The recepitionists were friendly and extremely helpful. The location is excellent for central London with a 10 - 15 minutes walk down the Edgware Road for Marble Arch and Oxford Street. The tubes are also very close - Paddington and Edgware Road stations both 3 - 5 minutes away. Breakfast is minimal but sufficient and as this was included in the price absolutley fine. Wifi is free downstairs but can be paid for to use in the room.

Room Tip: Rear facing rooms are quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Due to work I frequently stay in Paddington.The hotels in the area are hit and miss but must say this is a better one.On arrival I was given a refurbed room on the 3rd floor(lift available).My room was clean , comfy bed, spotless power shower, clean towels, flat screen tv,these are much appreciated after a long hard days work.Breakfast was basic(continental) but the lady who served me was more than happy to serve me exta toast when i asked.All in all apleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank micka345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

The room was large, three beds in mine for a single room booking, and clean with a powerful shower. However the breakfast wasn't great, just white toast, cornflakes and bad coffee. Staff on reception weren't particularly helpful on checking in and you have to leave your key at reception when you check out but when you asked for your key back they didn't question you or ask your name, so it didn't seem the most secure. But it is a good location for the price!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sarahNorwich86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

We stayed here for 6 nights and chose it because of price/location. Location was really good and we walked via Hyde Park to the city. The rooms were very hot and we had to cool the room by opening the window. Breakfast was very poor and not worth having. The front desk said they had WiFi but refused me access because I had an iPad and he said the wifi didn't work with Apple !!!! So my assessment of service is poor as I had to use the free wifi at the great cafe around the corner. No lift was a surprise and they should put this on the site.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davo_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

We spent two nights in two twins, which were pretty small, but adequate enough. This small hotel is only 300 metres from Paddington Station, and many buses (e.g. 23) travel right via Sussex Gardens opposite the hotel. The very basic breakfast consisted of flakes, boiled egg, cheese, ham & watery juice. The coffee and toasts are served to the tables.
Our rooms were clean, and so was the tiny bathroom with shower. The friendly manned reception is open 24h.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street side offer you some view unlike the backyard rooms. There is no elevator. Our tw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matias66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

I was ripped off by Expedia as one of their 'hidden hotels' the only explanation being that the reviews are shocking on here and by doing this the hotel could hide its identity. I paid more under a cheapest possible rate than the hotel would charge me too. I booked this as a 3* hotel. When i pointed this out they said they were infact and unstarred B&B as they 'didnt belive in the star system.'

The staff were rude, aggressive and indifferent. I was verbally assauted at breakfast when i pointed out they were advertising a Full English Breakfast, where as infact there was a selection of spam, cold boiled eggs, off cheese and toast if you were lucky. It got to a point where I called teh police for my own saftey as an elderly member of staff who may have been anything from the chef/owner/cleaner depending on who you spoke too was totally out of control.

The room was small, damp, unclean, TV did not work.

Just avoid this hotel!

Room Tip: Do Not Stay Here Under Any Circumstances
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank sam9887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
0.1 mi away
Ashley London
Ashley London
#884 of 1,067 in London
469 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chrysos Hotel
Chrysos Hotel
#659 of 1,067 in London
458 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shakespeare Hotel
Shakespeare Hotel
#646 of 1,067 in London
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dolphin Hotel
Dolphin Hotel
#613 of 1,067 in London
573 reviews
0.1 mi away
Olympic House Hotel
Olympic House Hotel
#817 of 1,067 in London
336 reviews
0.1 mi away
ABC Hyde Park Hotel
ABC Hyde Park Hotel
#688 of 1,067 in London
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard Hotel

Property: Orchard Hotel
Address: 86-90 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1UH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #745 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Orchard Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
the Hotel is a fine Victorian building, built in early 19th century - 300 meters from Paddington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nozio Netplan srl, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Orchard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchard Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing