We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Orchard Hotel - review December 2012”
Review of Orchard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Orchard Hotel
Ranked #791 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 11 December 2012

This is a newly renovated hotel just a few blocks from Paddington Station and Edgware Road Stations. Staff is very friendly and accommodating, the rooms are small but clean, the baths are narrow and tiny but ours looked to be newly redone. Our room was in the back and it was extremely quiet. The breakfast is (like every review says) "odd". It is a cornflakes or bran flakes cereal, hard boiled egg, some ham-type slices, cheese slices and a strange faux-juice. (Imagine a cross between Sunny Delight and Gatorade). If you are not into big English breakfast and just want a clean, safe, friendly place near metro, this is good. NOTE: Edgware Road itself is now a middle Eastern mecca, so the restaurants are lined with people blowing hookah smoke everywhere at their cafe tables (yuk). So if you want to avoid it, just check the map and circumvent that route. We didn't discover that til the fourth day, and this would have been a good tip. Also, no wi-fi in the room, just sit in the lobby, and you only get one key per room (which you are supposed to leave with the desk). Was not an issue for us, but if you are group that splits up a lot, it could be a problem because the room key controls all the lights.

Room Tip: There is a new elevator but still a couple of steps since it is a narrow, twisty, old-fashioned buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Parent_of_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (563)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

153 - 159 of 563 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2012

Would not recommend a stay in this hotel. Rooms are very small.

Guest had to stand in line for breakfast and it was not worth to wait at all.

The worst breakfast I ever had....

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

For what we paid, this was a great budget hotel option in London. Easy 3-5 minute walk to Paddington Station so a great base for exploring London. The beds were comfortable enough, and the bathroom was clean. The staff were pretty average and it was annoying that we could only get 1 room key even though their were three of us. Breakfast wasn't great either, but there were a lot of food options just around the corner on the main road which were inexpensive and tasty.

I think if I went back I would stay again, at the end of the day it is really just a bed to sleep in as you spend next to no time at the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenstarnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

This hotel was very reasonably priced, and despite the negative things that I had read about it on Trip Advisor, we took a chance & booked it. Truth be told, we couldn’t have been more pleased. It is an easy 5-minute walk to/from Paddington Station, even while dragging your luggage behind you. The hotel sits along a pretty tree-lined street with numerous other small hotels. The area feels quite safe, even late at night.
We arrived at the hotel about noontime & were told that we could leave our luggage in a communal room off of the main lobby and come back at 2pm to check in to our room. It was raining & we were exhausted, so we went & ate lunch in a pub, arriving back at the hotel around 1:40pm. We were again told that we had to wait for our room until 2pm, but a minute later they gave us our key card. The key card also keeps the electricity on in your room.
The room was a twin-twin and probably the smallest hotel room I’ve stayed in. However, that’s about my only complaint. Everything in it was in very good or like new condition. It contained two twin beds, a tiny nightstand w/telephone, a desk w/light & hairdryer, a wardrobe with about 8 hangers, and the bathroom. The bathroom was also quite small but appeared brand new to me. Towels are changed every other day even if you throw your wet towel on the floor. The only toiletries provided are tiny bars of soap.
Breakfast is included & was served from 7:30 – 8:45am. The breakfast area is in the basement of the building. The first morning we arrived right at 7:30am & were the first people there. The next morning we arrived at slightly after 8am and had a wait of about 15 minutes since there are a limited number of tables. Breakfast consisted of coffee or tea, choice of 2 cereals w/milk, meat & cheese slices, boiled eggs, a fruit drink, and white toast w/butter & jam.
The front desk is open 24 hours a day & you are asked to leave your key card there every time you leave the hotel. They will only provide one key. One night I wanted to stay in the hotel & go to bed early while my companion was going out to meet friends for drinks. We asked for a 2nd key card so that I could keep the electricity on while my companion was out & could still get back into the room without waking me up. But we were told it was not possible.
Overall, the hotel appears to be in very good condition despite being an older building. Not just our room/bathroom, but also the hallway walls, fixtures & carpets look to be well-maintained. We had no serious complaints and were pretty pleased with the hotel, the price we paid, and the hotel’s location.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front side of the hotel can be noisy at night due to car & foot traffic if you keep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank francie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Stayed here for first three nights of the honeymoon. Paid an average of 60 pounds a nights as was on special. Found the room to be small but well laid out, very clean and recently renovated. Breakfast was mediocre and unfortunately no lift to the basement. Location was great, short walk to Paddington Station which is the terminal for the express from Heathrow. Overall good hotel for the price we paid and would stay there again.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

While the Orchard hotel in paddington was overall acceptable...the bad: the room was terribly small, the bfast was terrible (corn flakes, hard boiled eggs, spam like meat, coffee was bad). The good: location, staff were pleasant, got used to small room over 5 night stay. It was also pricey for space, but that's bc of olympics in town at time. It was very clean.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Sabrina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Rude and unhelpful manager who denied that any of her staff could have given me the wrong information. Cancelled a booking by phone and they are now trying to charge me for a no show. Avoid this hotel - they will rip you off.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank Irene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Dolphin Hotel
#601 of 1,077 in London
600 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Point A Hotel, London Paddington
ABC Hyde Park Hotel
#686 of 1,077 in London
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shakespeare Hotel
#655 of 1,077 in London
870 reviews
Chrysos Hotel
#694 of 1,077 in London
473 reviews
The Royal Cambridge Hotel
#640 of 1,077 in London
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard Hotel

Address: 86-90 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1UH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #791 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: £55 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Orchard Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
the Hotel is a fine Victorian building, built in early 19th century - 300 meters from Paddington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Orchard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchard Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing