We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did the Job”
Review of Orchard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Orchard Hotel
Ranked #785 of 1,075 Hotels in London
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My husband and I along with our adult daughter, stayed at the Orchard for one night in June. The room, although very small, was adequate and seemed to be newly refurbished. The staff seemed a little jaded and not at all welcoming. Breakfast was a mad-house! Only on for something like 45 minutes, so of course everyone in the hotel was there. Not enough tables which left people standing about waiting, and not enough staff.
High turnover, high occupancy hotel in a good position near Paddington Station. OK.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bahill42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (560)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

125 - 131 of 560 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

On arrival when we asked to check in the receptionist was very rude and just shook her head and started talking on the phone. The room was fine, beds were clean and comfy. Downside was that drink facilities were not provided and if you wanted one you had to sit in the luggage room and drink it there. Towels are also not changed unless you pay an additional fee. Finally, breakfast is appalling with no choice whatsoever. I also personally found something resembling a cigarette end in my orange juice!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shopaholic91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The hotel allowed us to check in early, they rooms were clean and well presented. Bathrooms were a little on the small side but were in very good condition, looking recently replaced. For the costs of the rooms I did not have any complaints at all.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Very bad experience. Not at all recommended for families. Heater is not functional, extra charges for changing the towels. Room service is very poor. I would not prefer this for anyone else to go there.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Prasenjit G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

It's a really nice hotel and the neighborhood is really nice, also is close to Nottinhill gate, but if you are interested in Buckingham Palace, London Eye, British Museum, Tower Bridge, etc. This hotel is too far, you will have to use the underground every day and it costs £2.20 every ticket using the Oyster card.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gulliermo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed in the triple room on the ground floor (one double bed and one single bed). Quite small but otherwise nice and clean room. There was no view but for me that wasn't a problem. The staff was polite and helpful. We were allowed to leave our luggage in the lounge before the chek in. The breakfast was included and contained coffee/tea/juice and toast with eggs, cheece and ham. The hotel is very basic but in a nice way. I would recommend it to others who don't wan't to spend too much on a hotel. I wouldn't say it is just for backpackers, I think it is suitable for families too. The hotel is located near the Paddington station.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matkallamaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Myself & a group of 4 girlfriends stayed at this hotel in April on a girls weekend, having traveled up from South Wales, & we were not disappointed.
The weekend was for a friends birthday, & on arrival the staff had put a lovely bouquet of flowers and a card in our hotel room for her. The staff were very friendly and helpful.
The rooms weren't huge, but they were spacious enough. It was very clean and modern.
The hotel is in a prime location for a busy sightseeing weekend, close to all the attractions, as it is near the underground.
Its not so good if you plan on enjoying the nightlife, as the area is very quiet. So you have to get on the tube & travel a few stops to somewhere like Covent Garden which is what we did. We got a taxi back to the hotel & it wasn't ridiculously priced, it cost us around £5 each.

Lovely hotel, would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Naomie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
0.1 mi away
Dolphin Hotel
Dolphin Hotel
#613 of 1,075 in London
591 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shakespeare Hotel
Shakespeare Hotel
#655 of 1,075 in London
858 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chrysos Hotel
Chrysos Hotel
#695 of 1,075 in London
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
ABC Hyde Park Hotel
ABC Hyde Park Hotel
#686 of 1,075 in London
366 reviews
0.1 mi away
Olympic House Hotel
Olympic House Hotel
#808 of 1,075 in London
342 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ashley London
Ashley London
#888 of 1,075 in London
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard Hotel

Address: 86-90 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1UH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #785 of 1,075 Hotels in London
Price Range: £57 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Orchard Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
the Hotel is a fine Victorian building, built in early 19th century - 300 meters from Paddington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Orchard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchard Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing