We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant surprise”
Review of Orchard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Orchard Hotel
Ranked #732 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Bremen, Germany
Level Contributor
52 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This hotel was a pleasant surprise. The location was perfect - 250 meters from where Heathrow Express lands you in London Paddington. Oxford street was within walking distance and there were plenty of restaurants and pubs nearby. The hotel felt recently refurbished - my bathroom looked very fresh though on the smallish side. Room was spotlesly clean and the flatscreen TV was brand new. Breakfast was supposed to be continental, but turn out to just a little bit better with a hardboiled egg and some choice on the buffet. There are a number of hotels along Sussex Gardens and the advantage is that the hotels are not right on the actual street, but set back with a green garden strech between hotel and street. This makes the location quiet. Service was OK, but then I do not expect very much of service at a three star hotel. The people in the reception recommened a few restaurants and knew where I should go to find the nearest ATM. I sure I will stay here again - this hotel is a real find. Also recommend the Kolossi Restaurant around the corner. Best lambchops in London !

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skygirl81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    142
    203
    74
    78
See reviews for
175
130
41
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Booked a triple room for a gig in hyde park. The hotel let us check in early. Was expecting beds to be squashed together but pleasantly surprised at the size of the room. Would stay here again. Did not get up in time for the included breakfast so cant comment on that

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank totoharvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Looking for inexpensive accommodation in Paddington, London in summer you will probably see The Orchard Hotel. If you are looking for something special - keep looking - elsewhere.

Its a room at a price, in our case in the cellar with a view of a paved light well. Cramped is a generous description although ease of proximity to the dinning room - our door open directly onto the entrance - couldn't be denied.

Heavy bags meant some interesting efforts of the narrow stairs - definitely not an option for the older or less fit as the lift doesn't go down below ground floor.

Still, if all you are after is a low cost place to sleep and leave the luggage while you do a quick tour of the tourist sites or some business then this is fine for that. Just don't have too high expectations for more.

WiFi worked fine and the staff were pleasant and polite.

Room Tip: Try not to go for the cheapest room - it will be beneath ground level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liquidseal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Worst hotel I've EVER stayed in! I seen some alright reviews for this hotel online, thought it would do the job with it being in paddington, WOW.. Was i wrong! Room was in the basement with the orchant hotel finest view of the boiler room! Evening staff were rude and snappy and unpleasant! Hotel requests your key everytime you leave the property, why!? Don't you trust us. Staff are very nosey and like to 'be in control'! The breakfast was included? That's a no go, with the option of the orchants hotels finest warm ham and cheese, accompanied by corn flakes! Breakfast staff are polish and like to shout at each other a lot... If your room is in the basement like mine, you'll persistently be woken by them at 5am daily! If you want to try? Be my guest.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 18andtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiama, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My husband and I along with our adult daughter, stayed at the Orchard for one night in June. The room, although very small, was adequate and seemed to be newly refurbished. The staff seemed a little jaded and not at all welcoming. Breakfast was a mad-house! Only on for something like 45 minutes, so of course everyone in the hotel was there. Not enough tables which left people standing about waiting, and not enough staff.
High turnover, high occupancy hotel in a good position near Paddington Station. OK.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bahill42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

On arrival when we asked to check in the receptionist was very rude and just shook her head and started talking on the phone. The room was fine, beds were clean and comfy. Downside was that drink facilities were not provided and if you wanted one you had to sit in the luggage room and drink it there. Towels are also not changed unless you pay an additional fee. Finally, breakfast is appalling with no choice whatsoever. I also personally found something resembling a cigarette end in my orange juice!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shopaholic91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The hotel allowed us to check in early, they rooms were clean and well presented. Bathrooms were a little on the small side but were in very good condition, looking recently replaced. For the costs of the rooms I did not have any complaints at all.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Ashley London
#886 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Chrysos Hotel
#665 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Shakespeare Hotel
#627 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dolphin Hotel
#609 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Point A Hotel, London Paddington
Falcon Hotel
#658 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard Hotel

Property: Orchard Hotel
Address: 86-90 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1UH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #732 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Orchard Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
the Hotel is a fine Victorian building, built in early 19th century - 300 meters from Paddington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Orchard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchard Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing