We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a pleasant experience” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Orchard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orchard Hotel
Ranked #738 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Daventry, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not a pleasant experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

At first this seemed like a nice small hotel it was clean and tidy, but that's as good as it gets. The first thing we noticed was no tea and coffee facilities in the room, you could help yourself to coffee in the very small lounge but it cannot be taken to your room to drink.No shampoo or soap in the bathroom, The bed was uncomfortable (too firm) and the sheets didn't fit properly, they only just covered the mattress with not enough sheet to tuck them in. We were woken up by the cleaners at 06:45 banging and clattering outside the room. Breakfast was served between 07:30 and 08:45 so we needed to be awake anyway I suppose. The breakfast was awful consisting of slices of processed ham and cheese, luke warm coffee, and pieces of cardboard that they were passing off as toast. The so called orange juice was orange in colour only, it tasted awful. The towels that we had used were just hung on the back of the bathroom door so when we wanted to shower the next day we had to ask for clean dry towels to use. We certainly will not go back there and I would not recommend the place to anyone else

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    138
    200
    72
    77
See reviews for
170
129
40
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

My friend and I booked into this hotel for a night in London and wow - what a great location! Walking distance to Hyde Park, Oxford Street and in a decent neighbourhood as well.

However...

We were in London during a hot week in July, and after seeing the 'air-conditioning' icon on the hotel website, we looked forward to a bit of respite from the heat of the city. It would seem, though, that the air-con is only in the public areas like the lobby and lounge. The room was STIFLINGLY hot and we had to open the large sash window to encourage a bit of a breeze.

After returning from our night out, we lay awake in our beds, sweating with the window open and listening to what turned out to be an extremely busy street ('Sussex Gardens' sounds so peaceful, doesn't it?!) and a noisy pub over the road turning out until the wee small hours.

Now I have to concur that if I'd visited that hotel in January, this probably wouldn't have been an issue, but it was July and made the stay extraordinarily uncomfortable.

Aside from the heat, the room was tiny. I appreciate that it's built into a beautiful old townhouse, but a twin room barely held 2 people. The bathroom was only 2ft wide and 7ft long, and trying to get dressed in there was like getting changed in a swimming pool cubicle.

The staff were consistently surly and unhelpful. Breakfast was 2 slices of toast between us, and orange squash - not juice!

THAT SAID, the room and hotel were very clean, the beds were comfy and, as I said, it's it a great position.

£100+ is too much for this hotel. But maybe that's London for you....

Room Tip: See if you can get a room at the back of the hotel, away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spankyredhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here as I wanted somewhere that I could drive to (from Birmingham) without having to fight in Central London traffic. In that sense, this place was ideal- ten minutes from the end of the M1 and if you mention it in your reservation, they reserve you a parking space. The room was average, the bathroom was a bit rubbish, no bath, but we were on the bottom floor opposite the breakfast room / cleaning closet so was quite noisy throughout the day. Speaking of breakfast- it's crap.. toast with ham & cheese, at least it was included and we didn't have to pay extra for it, but also it's only served at a stupid time.. 7:30-8:45, no chance of a lie in! Lots of hotels nearby which I'm sure are better quality.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bremen, Germany
Level Contributor
50 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

This hotel was a pleasant surprise. The location was perfect - 250 meters from where Heathrow Express lands you in London Paddington. Oxford street was within walking distance and there were plenty of restaurants and pubs nearby. The hotel felt recently refurbished - my bathroom looked very fresh though on the smallish side. Room was spotlesly clean and the flatscreen TV was brand new. Breakfast was supposed to be continental, but turn out to just a little bit better with a hardboiled egg and some choice on the buffet. There are a number of hotels along Sussex Gardens and the advantage is that the hotels are not right on the actual street, but set back with a green garden strech between hotel and street. This makes the location quiet. Service was OK, but then I do not expect very much of service at a three star hotel. The people in the reception recommened a few restaurants and knew where I should go to find the nearest ATM. I sure I will stay here again - this hotel is a real find. Also recommend the Kolossi Restaurant around the corner. Best lambchops in London !

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Skygirl81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Booked a triple room for a gig in hyde park. The hotel let us check in early. Was expecting beds to be squashed together but pleasantly surprised at the size of the room. Would stay here again. Did not get up in time for the included breakfast so cant comment on that

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank totoharvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Looking for inexpensive accommodation in Paddington, London in summer you will probably see The Orchard Hotel. If you are looking for something special - keep looking - elsewhere.

Its a room at a price, in our case in the cellar with a view of a paved light well. Cramped is a generous description although ease of proximity to the dinning room - our door open directly onto the entrance - couldn't be denied.

Heavy bags meant some interesting efforts of the narrow stairs - definitely not an option for the older or less fit as the lift doesn't go down below ground floor.

Still, if all you are after is a low cost place to sleep and leave the luggage while you do a quick tour of the tourist sites or some business then this is fine for that. Just don't have too high expectations for more.

WiFi worked fine and the staff were pleasant and polite.

Room Tip: Try not to go for the cheapest room - it will be beneath ground level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank liquidseal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Worst hotel I've EVER stayed in! I seen some alright reviews for this hotel online, thought it would do the job with it being in paddington, WOW.. Was i wrong! Room was in the basement with the orchant hotel finest view of the boiler room! Evening staff were rude and snappy and unpleasant! Hotel requests your key everytime you leave the property, why!? Don't you trust us. Staff are very nosey and like to 'be in control'! The breakfast was included? That's a no go, with the option of the orchants hotels finest warm ham and cheese, accompanied by corn flakes! Breakfast staff are polish and like to shout at each other a lot... If your room is in the basement like mine, you'll persistently be woken by them at 5am daily! If you want to try? Be my guest.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 18andtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
0.1 mi away
Ashley London
Ashley London
#884 of 1,086 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chrysos Hotel
Chrysos Hotel
#661 of 1,086 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shakespeare Hotel
Shakespeare Hotel
#620 of 1,086 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dolphin Hotel
Dolphin Hotel
#602 of 1,086 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tudor Court Hotel
Tudor Court Hotel
#771 of 1,086 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
0.0 mi away
Belmont & Astoria Hotels
Belmont & Astoria Hotels
#741 of 1,086 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard Hotel

Property: Orchard Hotel
Address: 86-90 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1UH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #738 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Orchard Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
the Hotel is a fine Victorian building, built in early 19th century - 300 meters from Paddington. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Orchard Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing