We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the ideal way to go to the zoo”

London Waterbus Company
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“the ideal way to go to the zoo”
Reviewed 3 September 2014

We got on at little venice. I think we met the woman that a previous commenter had described as abrupt, What we found was a lady that new the dangers, and was trying to ensure peoples safety i.e cyclist on the towpath as you board the boat.
The boat ride itself is very pleasant, 30 mins approx. the price we paid was £26 for adults which included the price of entry into the zoo.
Had you arrived at the front of the zoo entry would cost £24, so that makes the boat trip very good value for money.

Visited September 2014
Helpful?
Thank mike n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    78
    27
    11
    23
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“A bus journey by boat. ”
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

This is a nice way to get to Camden from paddington or vice versa on a warm day. I didn't expect if to be a tour boat or a photo op - it's called a waterbus. It got me from a to b and with a nice commentary from a young man. The young girl who took the money was attractive and pleasant. It's not the journey for you if you're in to sight seeing - it's a closed in ship. But it's a really nice change from the underground. I've walked the journey too - both are fun. The only trouble I have is that when it's full, I'm squished. 2 to a seat isn't for people over 6ft and 200lbs. Otherwise, a great service.

Helpful?
Thank Jeremy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Relaxing cruise through normally unseen parts.”
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Despite living in London for almost 40 years we'd never heard of this canal bus linking Little Venice, the Zoo and Camden Lock. Having chanced across it we were delighted with the gentle cruise along the canals which allowed us to see a side of London we didn't know. There's no commentary, but we knew what we were looking at, and the young crew we friendly and helpful.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ExPunkLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Unfortunately I would not recommend this trip, the 'barge' is no more than a dull tin shaped affair with torn plastic seats that only comfortably seat one and possibly a child. The most disappointing aspect was there was no commentary at all which would have made the particularly unattractive portion of the trip more bearable. Much could have been said about the historical context of the setting but when I enquired about a commentary I was told in a rather cursory fashion that they'd been running since 1951 without commentary! It was not cheap either over £20 for an adult and a senior. I have enjoyed splendid boat trips in London, York, Liverpool, Lincoln to name but a few but this one in my opinion was, to put it plainly, rubbish!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank deedeeGrimsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
597PercyM, Manager at London Waterbus Company, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
The Waterbuses are historic canal boats, part of the National Fleet of Historic Ships and uniquely available for a cruise on a historic waterway. Commentary is given at weekends in summer but is not wanted by all of our passengers so written information is provided and when it is not too busy the crew can talk through this. We have wooden/steel seating with cushions, and one or two only have been torn by customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braunton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Choose carefully -walk the route if you have time it's interesting”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Imagine Temperatures of 30 degrees midday in london both this vessel and Jason's tours were about to depart this one had 3 seats so no option but to board this barge.
Our canal trip provided a unique way to keep cool we enjoyed the trip along the canal a little expensive for the time it took ,no commentary given this would have enhanced the experience the lady did answer a few questions but was brusque she asked people to sit down when photo opportunities arose I believe you get commentary on Jason's canal trips.
Slightly misleading with the time it took to camden and my heart went out to a lady with her son who expected a long boat tide to the zoo she looked so shocked when she handed over nearly £45 for the canal trip and zoo entrance fees for her and her young son.
On a cooler day walk this route and take in the sights lovely neighbourhoods and fantastic spots for food and picnics no need to spend this type of money unless you like boats.
The Gondolier ride looked amazing in hindsight this would be my recommendation no idea of prices.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank UNOfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
597PercyM, Manager at London Waterbus Company, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
The Waterbuses offer an opportunity to travel on historic canal boats which are part of the National Fleet of Historic Ships. Due to their narrowness we are obliged by stability considerations in Shipping Regulations to ensure that passengers remain seated so perhaps not the trip fr those wishing to take lots of photos. The fare to the Zoo includes entry and this is £24 adult and £19 child at the Zoo Main Gate so the £2 on top for a 30 minute boat trip for 2 is a bargain. Commentary is available at weekends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed London Waterbus Company also viewed

 

Been to London Waterbus Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing