We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable topical shows, good value for money & intimate theatre setting” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Southwark Playhouse

Southwark Playhouse
Ranked #375 of 1,568 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Enjoyable topical shows, good value for money & intimate theatre setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

Very good for topical, enjoyable theatrical productions that are good value for money (unlike the many much pricier West End productions.) The venue has 'non-traditional' theatre settings which provide a very intimate feel between the audience and the performers. I have been to see two productions ('Howl's Moving Castle' at the theatre's previous venue near London Bridge and 'Farragut North' at the new venue near Elephant & Castle tube station) and loved them both.

Location:
The current venue (7-85 Newington Causeway) is just a 7 minute walk from Elephant & Castle tube station. You can also walk from London Bridge tube station in around 18 minutes. (This is a semi-permanent venue. In 2018 when the theatre will move back to it's former venue near London Bridge station after completion of refurbishment of the station.)

Amenities:
The current venue (77-85 Newington Causeway) has a medium sized bar with limited seating but sufficient standing space. The drinks prices are decent (although quality is average) and the bar can get quite busy before or after the performance. Toilets are available and a clean and well-maintained. A disabled toilet is also available. There are only a few restaurants and cafes near the theatre - these are listed on the theatre's website. If you want a high quality meal before the show I would recommend eating elsewhere before heading down to the theatre.

Staff: Friendly and helpful.

Other: I was particularly impressed that you are not charged a booking fee when you buy tickets online directly from the theatre's website. How refreshing.

Hint: The actors tend to be quite sociable, so stick around after the show to buy them a drink or two at the bar and have a chat.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ruk K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    22
    6
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Up close and personal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Just home from a weekend in London. Had tickets for a show at this playhouse on Saturday night Great venue, great bar, all seats are excellent...very close to the cast. It's not overcrowded, not over stuffy...just perfect!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank UglyBettyUK09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unpleasant experience of visiting the theater!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

I have planned my visit for the play '' The duchess of Malfi'' and wanted to see the play so much on the 3th of September 2013. However, when I was late only 13 min the receptionist refused my to sell the ticket!! The answer was we do not let anybody else in who is late more than 10 min. I was very upset and disappointed because I wanted to see the play very much. Moreover, when I asked the girl at the reception how it can be possible that the play which is running for 100 min without any interval that nobody can not be let in to the performance. Normally people who attend the play sometimes need to go to the toilet during the performance and come back. Especially if the play runs 100 min without interval. I have asked receptionist about that and the answer was that nobody is allowed to leave the play even for the toilet!!!!!!! Unbelievable!!!!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Oleksandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
211 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“'Titanic' is just that”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Went to Southwark Playhouse when it was underneath London Bridge station so was interested to visit its new venue close to Elephant & Castle. Nice bar with Meantime Brewery ale, although a bit crowded as the audience built (not allowed to enter theatre until a few minutes before the performance). The musical 'Titanic' was performed by a cast of 20 with an amazing 6-piece band. Absolutely stunning. A packed audience of about 200 gave it a well deserved standing ovation. Have to admit to tears in the second half. Ensemble singing sent a shiver up your spine and the performances were uniformly excellent. For £20 it's not to be missed. You won't see better in the West End for three times the price.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A real gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

Small, and intimate, this is a very special theatre with a constant repertoire of excellently directed, produced and acted productions.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank deSigley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Southwark Playhouse also viewed

 

Been to Southwark Playhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing