We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous Home Away from Home”
other travellers have booked this property
Spa Area, sauna and steam room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spa Area, sauna and steam room
Bedroom 1 - with a modern African feel Bedroom 2 - The red/white room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Spa Area, sauna and steam room
Bedroom 1 - with a modern African feel
Bedroom 2 - The red/white room
Bedroom 3 - Blue Bedroom (This bedroom only available with Three Room Option)
Conservatory
Unwind after a busy day sightseeing in Central London with a glass of wine
Your own personal jacuzzi
Relaxing in the Sauna
So Many Ways To Chill at Sunnyside Apartment and Spa
The private, secluded patio garden
The private, secluded patio garden
Some of the flowers in the spa area
Some of the flowers in the spa area
Statue: Apple of Discord
Connaught Water - 20/30 minutes walk through Epping Forest or 5 minute drive
A cob protects its cygnets from a playful dog at Connaught Water - 20 minutes walk through Epping Fo
Epping Forest in Autumn - the forest starts just 250 yards from Sunnyside
Epping Forest in Autumn - the forest starts just 250 yards from Sunnyside
Connaught Water, Epping Forest in Winter
Connaught Water, Epping Forest in Winter
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
London, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mtdnjorda...
Bruchmuehlbach-Miesau, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous Home Away from Home”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

I have never been so happy with our vacation lodging as I was with Sunnyside Apartment & Spa. From the very beginning Stan and Jan communicated openly making sure that we knew everything about their lodging and that we felt welcomed. Upon our arrival they made my husband and children feel like their home was ours for the duration of our visit. The bad thing about their home, we didn't want to leave to go site see!! All three of my boys, ages 15, 15, and 7, loved the game room. We all loved being in the jacuzzi and relaxing in the massage chairs. Stan and Jan made sure they gave us a quick overview of the town and from there we were able to walk to local eateries, grocery stores to stock the kitchen they provided, and transportation into London so that we didn't have to drive anywhere. We brought the wrong adapters and all we had to do was call Stan and he came right over with several adapters for us to use. They both made it quite clear from the beginning that if we needed anything at all to call them no matter the time. I spent weeks searching for lodging for our vacation to London and after booking a facility and them canceling on me I was fortunate to come across Stan and Jan's oasis. We can't thank them enough for making our vacation so comfortable and welcoming. When we come back to the UK we will definitely be calling upon Stan and Jan's Sunnyside Apartment & Spa. Thank you again Stan and Jan for an amazing holiday!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Too many to list! Location, cleanliness, friendliness, ect
Liked least: We loved everything!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollie M
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The perfect accommodation for a London visit”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We stayed for 5 nights and from the moment we arrived we felt welcomed, even by Oscar the cat who we all wanted to take home with us! The spa facilities were excellent and the perfect remedy to aching limbs after a day sightseeing in London. I could barely coax my husband out of the massage chair, nor my friend out the Jacuzzi!

The kitchen was very kindly stocked with basic food and had every appliance and piece of crockery you could imagine. We were very grateful for the dishwasher :-) very convenient.

Each bedroom was themed beautifully, and had towels, slippers, robes, toiletries and tea/coffee making facilities. We needn't have packed anything. Each bed was very comfortable and had a tv with DVD player (DVDs provided!). There was a private bathroom for each room with a very posh shower. All very clean and well presented.

As we had all three rooms, we had opened the American themed diner. Wow! Nicely decorated with light up signs, a jukebox, pictures of American celebrities, and record coasters. We ate in it everyday and the men enjoyed making lots of noise competing on the pinball machine.

The location was only a short walk from the train station along two roads, which included a walk through a park. If we hadn't wanted to walk, there was a bus service available.

On top of all this, there were books, board games, music, DVDs, leaflets of local food and attractions, maps and tourist information. We couldn't have asked for more. Everything had been thought of.

Stan and Jan were very friendly and helpful, and were only next door should there have been a problem, but the stay was so flawless we had no need of their help.
Thank you for such a wonderful stay in London. We will be recommending it to everybody!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Jacuzzi was very addictive!
Liked least: We couldn't stay longer
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JNovario
Normal, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing and pampering stay”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for nine days at Sunnyside in May. We travelled to London to visit our son who was finished studying abroad at the University of East London. He and my 23 year-old daughter stayed with us at Sunnyside.

Our stay was great! The property is lovely with a very nice private garden area. We each had our own beautiful bedrooms with plenty of space to spread out. The jacuzzi tub was a treat. We used the steam room twice and it was very nice. We enjoyed playing cards in the 60's diner after a challenging round of pin ball. There was even a bit of food in the fridge to get us started!

Getting into London was a breeze. We walked about 10 minutes to the train station in Chingford and it was an easy 30 minutes to London. The train was always on time and never crowded when we got on.

We believe we experienced the best of both worlds - exciting London and relaxing Sunnyside in Chingford. The owners were extremely helpful and pleasant. We recommend Sunnyside to anyone looking for a wonderful stay in London.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hot tub, the private garden, small-town Chingford, lovely neighborhoods walks
Liked least: We can't go back regularly!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marycarve...
Owensboro, Kentucky
1 review
“Excellent place to stay!”
Reviewed 30 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

This place worked great for our family vacation in London. Our group included my husband and myself, our two teenage daughters and my in-laws. We used all three bedrooms. It was great having a bathroom available for each bedroom. The place was large enough for us to all find a place relax in the evening. The outside patio was nice and gave the place a welcoming atmosphere. Stan and Jan were very helpful with suggestions for transportation, shopping and dining, when we inquired. They keep the place very clean and provide plenty of extras, such as food in the fridge when we got there so that we didn't have to shop right away. We made use of the various travel and sightseeing information as we planned our day trips, and enjoyed watching movies in the evening.
The location worked out well for us. Sunnyside is only a 10 minute walk from the train station for easy access to London. A variety of stores, shops, and restaurants are also close by. The area was quiet and peaceful after a busy day sightseeing in London.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Plenty of room for all us to have some private space.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GigiLDN00...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 13 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

From the time we got there to the time we left, the owners was very welcoming and helpful throughout our stay. The facilities was fabulous and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves leaving fully relaxed. Oh, forgot to mention that we LOVE and are big fans of Oscar! We enjoyed it so much that we are planning to go back next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The facilities and the Diner
Liked least: We loved everything!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Marimbas
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“This was a great find”
Reviewed 7 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

This property is just simply magnificent and I am so pleased to have stumbled across it.
The three of us stayed for 5 nights and despite the quintessentially English weather, enjoyed it immensely.
Stan and Janet are great hosts to kick off with and you also get a great bonus of Oscar the cat.
There are 3 bedrooms, all with en suites and flat screen TV's and the property has everything you need for self catering if you don't want the B&B option.
The other bonus is the steam room, sauna, jacuzzi and the massage chairs, ideal to relax after a hard days shopping at Harrods. Public transport is on your door step with both the underground and overground within easy distance. Into the City in 30 minutes and as I did, into the Epping Forest in 10 minutes. Great pubs in the area and one of them, now what a dream this is, can be seen from the upstairs window so need to drive
It took me less than an hour to drive to Warner Brothers, Harry Potter and you can also cover places like Cambridge if you want to go the other way.
You would never know this place is here unless you were told but you will love it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall level of comfort and the beds
Liked least: The weather
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing