We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“REALLY GOOD IN LONDON” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lilac Door

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Lilac Door
Ranked #9 of 567 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Salisbury
Level Contributor
103 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“REALLY GOOD IN LONDON”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Jane's Dulwich B&B is absolutely wonderful for trips to London especially for those of us who dislike grotty hotels.
if you can afford Claridge;s ...well fine....but those of us with exquisite taste but more limited means head for the Lilac Door.
Relaxed...civilised...informal...what more do you need to survive London?
Jane and consort Keith are the most welcoming of people. The beds are really comfortable, the decor simple and wonderfully relaxing . Breakfast are DELICIOUS and gloriously digestible. THANK GOD NO FULL ENGLISH TO HASTEN EARLY DEATH AND RUIN LUNCH.
Jane's establishment is in much and deserved demand. Please leave the odd vacancy for rural natives.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ArchbishopJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
43
87
10
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

Where do we start? Arriving late following a long flight and with a very sore back Jane welcomed us and couldn't do enough to make us comfortable. The room was just lovely with very comfortable beds and extremely clean. Jane prepared the most fantastic breakfast, I requested mushroom omelette and following a quick dash out she accommodated this request within minutes. Helpful advice of places to see and travel routes. The train into London was a breeze, just 3 stops away. A very nice family run business with high standards that we could not fault. Thank you Jane, we will definitely recommend you to others.

Room Tip: We had the attic room which was great for us as we are somewhat vertically challenged. Tall people m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rosy14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitley Bay
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

We visited our daughter in Dulwich and found this delightful bed and breakfast for two overnight stays. Jane was very welcoming and helpful, and a lovely hostess. Our room was quiet, clean and nicely decorated with thoughtful touches, bathrobes, slippers, a torch and umbrella (and chocolate!) The breakfasts were beautifully presented, with so much choice. We loved the area and its close proximity to the centre of London with brilliant public transport by bus or train. When we return to Dulwich we will certainly seek to stay at the Lilac Door again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Suehod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annecy, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

The Lilac Door is a real gem! We stayed at The Lilac Door in July for 4 nights.We loved every single detail, from the warm reception by our host Jane on the first day, to the nice rooms and wonderful tips she gave us about London.
She gave us a detailed map of Oxford Street with all the precised shops location , it was bliss for our 20 years old daughter.
Our two rooms were thoughtfully designed and furnished and had the most comfortable beds.
Every morning, Jane prepares the most amazingly presented breakfast.
Quality accommodation with personal and attentive service, a true home away from home!
Definitely the place to stay when in London!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Italyl0ver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

Jane, the owner is a very bubbly & funny lady. She welcomed us on the first day, showimg us around. And how thoughtful of Jane for preparing us some English tea upon arrival. The room was prefectly decorated. The amenities was marvellous. It was also so thoughtful of Jane to bring us some guides around London (however in Japanese, we are Malaysian). Also in one of the drawers it consist of an umbrella for us to use, just in case of rain. Such a sweet lady.

The house was also very near to the train station at West Dulwich (5 mins walk). So easily assessible.

Thanks Jane for having us. Looking forward for the next visit.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eileen0110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
304 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

We stayed here for a wedding at Dulwich college (nice and close, walkble apart from the ladies had heels).

The rooms are in the attic, and decorated to a high standard. Shower rooms have limestone tiling and would pass in a 4* or above hotel.

Breakfast is excellent, with hot, cold, continental, breads, fruit etc. Again, as good as many a hotel. My only issue was I personally didn't find the pillows that comfortable but this is very minor!

Jayne is very welcoming and helpful. Many thanks.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank edwowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glyfada, Greece
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

There's so very little to add as previous reviews have the bases covered. Jane is lovely and genuine and funny and sweet. The location is perfect, removed from the hub-bub in a safe, pretty village, but incredibly easy (and inexpensive) to get right into the center of London. The house and rooms are fresh and clean and pretty and the beds and pillows are lovely and comfy. The breakfast is delish: we had lovely fresh fruit combos and her scrambled eggs and salmon are truly perfect.

The Lilac Door is now my first choice when visiting London.

Room Tip: There's a single, but it's tiny and a wee bit 'lesser' than other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Annoulaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,647 reviews
Pimlico
Georgian House
Georgian House
#12 of 567 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Drayton Court Hotel
#7 of 567 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Tulse Hill Hotel
#17 of 567 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Kennington B & B
#14 of 567 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lilac Door? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lilac Door

Property: The Lilac Door
Address: 140 Rosendale Road | Dulwich, London SE21 8LG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 567 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant Edwardian family home offering stylish bed & breakfast accommodation, reasonably priced, based 11 minutes by train from the central London. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing