We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hostess, wonderful rooms, wonderful breakfasts, wonderful B&B!”
Review of The Lilac Door

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lilac Door
Ranked #10 of 579 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

From the moment my Mum called to book a room she said Jane was lovely.
Arriving after a journey from the North on trains and buses Jane warmly welcomed us into her home and business even carrying both our cases up for us!
My Mum chose the first room we came to in order to save her weary legs and bad back - lack of ensuite not being a problem as the beautiful bathroom was just next door.
A pot of decaf tea was offered and enjoyed sat in the lovely bright, modern room whilst we recovered from the journey.
I took the wonderful en suite room upstairs. In the eves with lovely velux windows the room was an oasis of calm in South London!
Wonderful bedding and every little touch you could need. The shower cap and gel were even in the shower rather than on the side.
Both Mum & I slept very soundly.
Breakfast was delicious. We started with freshly prepared pineapple with strawberries - wonderful. Hot offerings (we had smoked salmon and scrambled eggs) alongside artisan breads, pastries, every cereal you could want and a continental selection of meats and cheeses.
Thank you for a wonderful stay Jane :D

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fresia02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2014

The room was very nice and pleasant with a good bed and bathroom. The breakfast was great and better then in a hotel. Jane, the owner and guest lady very friendly and hospitable. We were very happy we made this choice. If we're back in London we know where we wi stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma Stefani V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Jane is a wonderfully welcoming hostess and from the minute we stepped into her beautiful stylish house we knew this would be a special place. A delightfully bright and clean bedroom, with gorgeous linen and toiletries. Jane gave us lots of ideas for eating out ( after serving us with tea and freshly baked chocolate muffins.) As a previous reviewer mentioned, the choices for and quality of breakfast was more than equal to a 5 star hotel. Jane has thought of everything and nothing is too much trouble for her. Absolutely wonderful !

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank homefromhome17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We stayed at The Lilac Door for the first time for two nights and thought it was great! It is fantastic value for money. It is immaculate - beautifully clean, stylish but not stuffy, everything you need is to hand, great attention to detail. The breakfast choices are better than many 5 star hotels offer.

Jane is a very talented hostess, friendly and knowledgeable, the service was faultless.

It is an easy journey into the centre of London and a lovely part of London to stay in, We ate locally one evening and Jane recommended a great Italian restaurant within easy walking distance of The Lilac Door.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aylands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Traveled with my adult daughter and son in law in late October/early November to London, then Paris. Jane is an exceptional hostess, quick to read what each of her guests like/need. Breakfasts were phenomenal--the perfect start to our day. Jane also helped us plan our days by providing suggestions and maps. I thought her delightful.

My room, facing the back yard, was too small for my liking and there were some amenities missed (hair dryer, Kleenex/tissue, and one day the room was not cleaned). Overall, though, a wonderful stay and would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank fullmoon1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We arrived on Friday evening through the London rush hour and walked into a sea of calm. The room was bright, quiet and clean. No expense spared on linen and toiletries with some lovely welcoming touches. Jane is full of excellent suggestions for evenings out and we found the company of the other guests so delightful that we ended up having lunch with them on the Sunday! I thoroughly recommend this B & B as easy to get to, quiet and friendly.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bonchurch58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Our trip did not end up the way we anticipated it AT ALL, but Jane made a frustrating situation much easier. We were supposed to be spend 3 nights at The Lilac Door but due to unforeseen circumstances we only ended up with 12 hours in London and had to cancel our stay with her. We still wanted to do some sight seeing so Jane still offered to lets us leave our luggage with her during the day while we went exploring. She even had breakfast waiting for us along with some very welcomed hot tea after an incredibly long journey when we dropped off our bags. She went out of her way to help us work out a shortened itinerary so that we were still able to enjoy our very short London stay. We will be back to London one day and when we do we will be staying with Jane. Thanks again Jane!

Heather & Brian

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Heather G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
The Drayton Court Hotel
#6 of 579 in London
778 reviews
East End / East London
The Lion & Key Hotel
The Lion & Key Hotel
#11 of 579 in London
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlotte Guest House
#15 of 579 in London
808 reviews
Tulse Hill Hotel
#13 of 579 in London
301 reviews
Pimlico
Georgian House
Georgian House
#14 of 579 in London
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lilac Door? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lilac Door

Address: 140 Rosendale Road | Dulwich, London SE21 8LG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 579 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: £96 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant Edwardian family home offering stylish bed & breakfast accommodation, reasonably priced, based 11 minutes by train from the central London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Lilac Door reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing