We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite shocking and grubby”
Review of Beaver Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beaver Hotel
Ranked #708 of 1,075 Hotels in London
Reviewed 19 May 2013

For £122 per night I could not believe what I found on arrival. A tiny cramped room with an equally small en-suite. Filthy toilet and a lack of hot water (my husband had to shave in cold water). However nothing could have prepared me for the breakfast! No bread or cereals unless you asked. A pitiful plastic basket of dried up apples and a few oranges. I asked for fruit juice only to be told that it was just water available. I chose tea only to find bits floating in the milk i.e the jug was dirty. Two eggs and an inedible dried rasher of bacon didn't enhance our morning. How do they get away with it! One more thing, the double was no more than a large single.

Room Tip: Err there aren't any I don't know where the photos come from on the web site..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SCG518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2013

my single room was at the 2nd floor, small and kind of clean. When I arrived, I found the hotel smelled a bit, but the woman in reception was very kind. There was a shared bathroom where shower was not available on the 2nd floor. The full english breakfast was not very excellent. A mini sausage, a piece of not cooked tomato. And wifi was probably only available in the lounge.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chuck Xuecheng W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

the beaver hotel is definately the worst hotel i have ever stayed at, the room was small, stale smell, and unclean, the bed was the most uncomfortable i have ever stayed in, after continually itching i had a look at the mattress (if you could call it that) that we were sleeping on, this is the worst case of stained,ripped dirty disgusting mattress ever, i wouldnt let a dog on here, then we had the full english breakfast, to be honest i was not going to eat here after the state otf the matress i dread to think of what the kitchen hygiene is like, my partner ate the breakfast which was a joke, small plate,fatty bacon,thinnest toast ive ever seen.
the whole experience at the hotel was a disgusting joke, i have emailed the hotel since and there not interested. the best thing about this hotel is when you leave:)

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hairaiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

A hotel with such a beautiful setting but let down by the awful old rooms! The whole hotel STANK of stale smoke! Something a non smoker would not find pleasant. The room I stayed in had a window which didn't shut.. which therefore resulted in an awful night sleep as I was freezing cold & obviously for security reason's wasn't good! The 'full English breakfast' is such a joke! You only got 1 spicy thin sausage, 1 rasher of fatty bacon & a choice of eggs (poached, scrambled & fried) - this to me is definitely not a full English! They also only provided hot drinks of tea or coffee & you had to pay extra for fruit juices!! I can't fault the cleanliness of the room, I just wish that it was a better hotel. When I told the staff about the window problem they said 'oh okay', & they did not even apologise! Cheap price but would rather pay for money for an actual usable hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

I choose this hotel as we wanted a room for one night for 3 men,i.e. a room with 3 single beds. Most other properties in London won't guarantee 3 beds when booking a triple room, some quote in the small print " a double and single bed", this place specified, indeed showed a photo of 3 beds in the room. The room was quite large with 3 beds, and well furnished, the breakfast was also adequate. It's a little out of the way but only 5 mins walk to Earl's Court tube station, so the financial saving over paying for 2 rooms overcame this. Would definatley stay here again if the need arose.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AntonyJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Clean and convenient - hearty breakfast included - friendly staff - free wifi (good) - Quiet location. Nice and close to Earl's Court tube station. Clearly value for money in the heart of London. Wouldn't hesitate to stay again or to recommend to friends.

Room Tip: Ground floor isn't as noisy as might be expected.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skymaster_172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

The receptionist when I arrived was very friendly, polite and attractive and I took this as a good omen of what was to come. Sadly, this turned out to be the high point of the experience.

The room was small and in a poor state of decoration. There was no wardrobe but just a hanging rail. The TV was tiny and perched so high on the wall that I got a crick in my neck trying to watch it. The floor was carpeted in very unfashionable carpet tiles as was the hallway outside the room. The bathroom was basic. The single bed was uncomfortable and has a sheet and a single blanket on it.

A big minus point is that breakfast was not available until 7:30, which is too late for many business people and, on the first morning, the breakfast room was still locked up when I went down just after 7:30.

The staff in breakfast area had a very indifferent attitude and their dress was as casual as the service.

The website advertised free wi-fi and while this was true (up to as point), the wi-fi was only available in the lounge on the ground floor which is not really that useful.

All in all, this was a poor experience and I think the place would be better described an 's' was inserted into the 'hotel' after the letter 'o'.

Would I recommend it? Sadly, no.

Would I stay there again? No!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarshButFair51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Earls Court
Garden View Hotel
Garden View Hotel
#564 of 1,075 in London
1,026 reviews
Earls Court
Lord Kensington Hotel
Lord Kensington Hotel
#713 of 1,075 in London
431 reviews
Earls Court
London Court Hotel
London Court Hotel
#391 of 1,075 in London
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East End / East London
Kip Hotel
Kip Hotel
#601 of 1,075 in London
167 reviews
Earls Court
Trebovir Hotel
Trebovir Hotel
#844 of 1,075 in London
739 reviews
Earls Court
Mayflower Hotel
Mayflower Hotel
#682 of 1,075 in London
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaver Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaver Hotel

Address: 57-59 Philbeach Gardens | Earls Court, London SW5 9ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #708 of 1,075 Hotels in London
Price Range: £61 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Beaver Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Beaver Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaver Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing