We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap by London standards.”
Review of Beaver Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beaver Hotel
Ranked #713 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cheap by London standards.”
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

Good location, close to Earl's Court tube station but not particularly pleasing in any other sense. The shared bathroom on the second floor is tiny. The lounge is closed between midnight and 07:30am so no WiFi if you need it early. The lift didn't work and the stairway is very narrow. The room and bed linen was clean but the pillows felt like sand bags to sleep on. Not again, thank you!

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GrahamGuthrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    71
    57
    24
    27
See reviews for
29
38
43
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

If i could give this hotel no little dots at all believe me i would. I cannot warn people enough to stay away. Apart from the location it has nothing going for it. The small over cooked breakfast made me and my friend throw up. After being locked in the toilet after the staff failed to check for ten minutes i had a panic attack and collapsed. The tea and coffee is cold and the staff are rude and do not care. The rooms smell and are dirty with matresses that will break your back without fail.it is not a place we will stay again as well as that it is extremely overpriced for what it is even in London.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank graceltebbutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
worcestershire
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This hotel is very typical of all the over town house hotels around here. Very basic but if you are driving into town with a dog like I was it is perfect. The hotel is in a quiet crescent and its private car park is immediately at the rear with plenty of room for the dog to stretch his legs and only a few hundred yards from a massive old cemetery with miles of pathways. You are also only 100 yards or so from earls court.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whitby_rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdare, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

my friend and I needed single rooms accommodation at short notice within easy access of central London. This came up after our original choice fell through. Well .. good points .. it was cheap by London standards .. a 5 minute walk to Earls Court tube, umm.. it had a lift ... umm
not so good points .. hotel very dated. Our singles were on the 3rd floor - shared bathroom. I had room 7 right opposite lift next to the fire door, The loo/bathroom was through the firedoor.
Room like a shoebox, tiny 2'6" bed, small hanging cupboard, sink, desk. Thats it. Brilliant white bedlinen and towels, but the bedspread identical to one my son had when he was very young. He's 36 now.
The room had a slope to it, this I found out when I tried to sleep and kept gravitating to the edge of the bed. When I eventually dozed I turned and as I was in a toddler bed I ended on the floor... not good..I'm 61 .. also the bed had gaps wall side and at the top and my pillow kept falling through. I couldn't read as the bed light didnt work and it meant hopping in and out of the bed..
No safety barriers for the window.. and it was along way down ..
My friends room next door through the fire door, was slightly larger and had a proper single bed but she said it was really uncomfortable and also had little sleep..
The bathroom and toilet were together (same room ) dark and a bit smelly and again dated. We both decided to forego using the bath (or the shower which was on the floor below) as it was just overnight.
Breakfast was served in the dining room which resembled an old working mens club with benches and snooker table. It was just adequate. The cooked selection (eggs boiled poached scrambled or fried, bacon and the tiniest sausages I have ever seen) cooked to order, tiny portions on a tea plate, toast and tea / coffee. there were cheap yoghurts and croissants available too.
Well we were just glad we only had an overnighter there. The whole property needs total upgrading to bring it into the 21st century, Like I said dated, faded and extremely small room ..

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynonpuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night and overall it was ok.
Fab location, 5 minute walk to earls court tube station and 5 minutes to tesco for essential supplies!

The hotel is extremely dated but room size was good.
I was not impressed with the service at all, rude, and everything was too much trouble.

Breakfast is a massive let down, the staff do not understand what you are asking for and you wait ages.

However it is a good base to be able to have a nights sleep.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Itskatycam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

For 80 Pounds a night you don't really get much in London during peak season, however this place was just terrible. The room was shockingly small, the bed was uncomfortable and the shower and toilet are literally right next to each other. Had an irritating noise throughout the night from god knows what. Location is the only good thing about this place.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karan92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Callington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

For £122 per night I could not believe what I found on arrival. A tiny cramped room with an equally small en-suite. Filthy toilet and a lack of hot water (my husband had to shave in cold water). However nothing could have prepared me for the breakfast! No bread or cereals unless you asked. A pitiful plastic basket of dried up apples and a few oranges. I asked for fruit juice only to be told that it was just water available. I chose tea only to find bits floating in the milk i.e the jug was dirty. Two eggs and an inedible dried rasher of bacon didn't enhance our morning. How do they get away with it! One more thing, the double was no more than a large single.

Room Tip: Err there aren't any I don't know where the photos come from on the web site..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCG518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Earls Court
Garden View Hotel
Garden View Hotel
#552 of 1,069 in London
1,009 reviews
Earls Court
Boka Hotel
Boka Hotel
#760 of 1,069 in London
340 reviews
Earls Court
Hotel Earls Court
Hotel Earls Court
#857 of 1,069 in London
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Simply Rooms & Suites
#584 of 1,069 in London
244 reviews
Earls Court
Mayflower Hotel
Mayflower Hotel
#696 of 1,069 in London
966 reviews
Earls Court
Lord Kensington Hotel
Lord Kensington Hotel
#706 of 1,069 in London
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaver Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaver Hotel

Property: Beaver Hotel
Address: 57-59 Philbeach Gardens | Earls Court, London SW5 9ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #713 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Beaver Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Beaver Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaver Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing