We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anne J”
Review of Blades Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blades Hotel
Ranked #213 of 1,073 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Excellent value for central London, had tiny single room, but as I just needed somewhere to sleep, the smallness of the room wasn't a problem, but room 14 not for the claustrophobic! But did have ensuite bathroom. Lovely and clean, great location, good breakfast, very friendly and efficient staff, also felt very safe, good shower and hairdryer. Highly recommend and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annejepson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bladeshotel, General Manager at Blades Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

We thank Anne for her kind review and "Yes"Room 14 is small and cheap,at only £65.00 per night,if booked directly with us,and this includes nice buffet breakfast,private bathroom ensuite and all taxes.
This room is very popular with many regular guests who return often,who don`t want to spend too much and only want to sleep.It has a full size single bed, 3 foot wide and 6 foot and 3 inches long,desk and chair, TV and very compact and sells very well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (603)
There are newer reviews for Blades Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

245 - 251 of 603 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2013

we stayed here for one night, our room was a decent size, neat and tidy, the location was great .. breakfast ..there was plenty to eat, the staff were lovely and friendly and we would stay again, only thing that was urgh, was there was a spot of blood on the duvet cover .. but we had a sheet underneath that was clean and fresh.. so i made sure that stayed on top of me! lol .. all in all i would stay again if we are back in London.. makes for a good base to explore. :) thanks.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank graciemacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bladeshotel, General Manager at Blades Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

We would like to thank this nice family for their review and since their departure we have discovered that the spot of blood they mention was actually "red marker pen."
We couldn`t understand how the red stain was such a perfectly round circle almost as if it had been drawn on to the duvet cover,and yet all the other bedding was perfect.
But similar stain appeared on a pillow case in the linen cupboard and it was a red marker pen used by staff that had been left there without a top on it, and it must have seeped slowly into the fabric which would explain the perfect circle. We are relieved to have discovered this and will make sure this doesn`t happen again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

The cost of staying overnight in London can be prohibitive, but at The Blades we found a small hotel in a very convenient location (tube and buses within a minutes walk) in Pimlico, which also makes it within walking distance of Houses of Parliament, Tate Britain and many other sights, and at a very reasonable price. Our room was a good size with a neat little bathroom and very clean. Breakfast being included is a real bonus and consists of good quality cereals, yoghurt, cold meat, cheese, white and wholemeal bread and crumpets for toasting, lurpak butter, flora and jams - great for the price. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FMGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bladeshotel, General Manager at Blades Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. Your feedback is very important to me.I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and I am grateful for your recommendation. I look forward to welcoming you back when you are next time in London.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Clean with friendly staff, we had a lovely ground floor room, not fancy but nice and clean, slept very well, lovely breakfasts. We stayed for two nights would recommend for short stays
The only thing I was disappointed with was when our room was cleaned, our cups were left dirty beside the bed as well as a couple of wine glasses we had used, apart from this, I was happy with our accomodation

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pateena D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bladeshotel, General Manager at Blades Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

We thank these guests for their review and our chambermaid thought that the cups were still in use and as the wine glasses didn`t belong to the hotel and were owned by the guest she didn`t think it was proper for her to clean them. They were quite large,nice glasses, and the guest left them behind having told her he didn`t want to pack them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I was in London for a Training , just 2 days , and the Blades Hotel was a perfect solution.
I got a very nice room , and the person at the reception was very friendly and helpful.
I will come back to this hotel in the future for my short stay in London.

Room Tip: do not come too late at the hotel , and maybe go for a double room .
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank familia_gio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bladeshotel, General Manager at Blades Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback following your recent stay at Blades Hotel. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed the atmosphere and service you received during your stay.
Please do come and visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Clean with friendly attentive staff who were only to pleased to provide help and additional facilities not present when we checked in and also printed direction maps. Unfortunately no lift and Stairs only for access to all rooms but both our cases were carried up to the second floor without any issue! The bedroom was small and the double bed was under the window so only accessible from one side but it was very comfortable! The breakfast room is in the cellar but it was very light with the street window directly above. The continental breakfast was self service with a good choice of cereal, bread for the 3 toasters plus ham, cheese and fruit. The 24 hour bus service number 24 is only meters away and they are the new London buses!! There is no doubt the price compared to City hotels is attracting clients and Portabello Tube Station is only minutes away giving access to wider London via Victoria line. Overall a good clean base for those visits into the City sights and shops.

Room Tip: Request a ground floor room if unable to climb stairs but bathrooms are in a corridor outside even t...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BHart29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Stayed at the Blades hotel for three nights, generally happy with the experience.

Pros:
1) Location - no need to take a taxi from Heathrow, subway takes you there (Pimilco station, about 3 minute easy walk to the hotel door) in about an hour. A single change at Green Park station is not a big deal with very convenient elevators. Try to get into the car by the end door - there's plenty of space there for the luggage.
2) Location - do not bother taking subway from anywhere in central London/Westminster to the hotel. Even for a single person, a very convenient London taxi costs about as much as the subway, for two or more - its a steal.
3) Location - quiet neighborhood, still within walking distance (about 1.5 miles) to Trafalgar square, Buckingham Palace etc.
4) Premises are small but clean and generally well kept.
5) Included breakfast is sufficient to get you going until your fish-and-chip lunch (the best London food, IMHO).
6) The stuff is friendly and helpful - online and in person.
7) the price is right.

Cons:
1) No elevator, steep narrow staircase.
2) Wifi is unpredictable, and does not always work well in the room.
3) Rooms are small

Overall - recommended.

Room Tip: Call in advance, ask for the GROUND FLOOR room
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank calse98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bladeshotel, General Manager at Blades Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. Your feedback is very important to me.I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and I am grateful for your recommendation. I look forward to welcoming you back when you are next time in London.

Steven Toth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Pimlico
Luna & Simone Hotel
Luna & Simone Hotel
#113 of 1,073 in London
2,095 reviews
Pimlico
The Belgrave
The Belgrave
#190 of 1,073 in London
1,392 reviews
Pimlico
Melbourne House Hotel
Melbourne House Hotel
#543 of 1,073 in London
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
Best Western Corona
Best Western Corona
#561 of 1,073 in London
762 reviews
Pimlico
Lidos Hotel
Lidos Hotel
#428 of 1,073 in London
779 reviews
Pimlico
Victor Hotel London Victoria
Victor Hotel London Victoria
#571 of 1,073 in London
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blades Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blades Hotel

Address: 122 Belgrave Road, London SW1V 2BL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico , Victoria
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#324 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: £109 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blades Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Blades Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blades Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing