We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Leaking toilet and smelly room.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Brompton Hotel London
Ranked #990 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Madeira, Portugal
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Leaking toilet and smelly room.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

I stayed just one night, late afternoon after travelling from abroad I dashed in, dropped off the suitcase,I noticed the room smelled thought maybe the cleaner had had a BO problem so aired the room then left. I returned about 11.15pm, changed into in my pyjamas and then noticed my feet were really wet from water in the carpet, the smell in the room was horrible and the toilet water levels were rising when I flushed it. I stomped downstairs and said I needed another room. The man at reception came up to my room took out the toilet brush and proceeded to clean/pump the toilet saying it's ok now...I said the carpet was really wet and obviously leaking from the toilet and that I was paying £100 for the night for the room. He replied I wouldn't get much better for the price in London. I insisted on a different room-really the smell was not pleasant. They moved me to another room which was not much better but no smell. The other reviews are right in that this hotel is only good for the location. It is disgusting, dirty and smelly. The carpets are old and dirty, in fact everything is. I didn't dare look at the mattress, the bathrooms hazardous, hooks falling off the wall, door not closing, loo seats broken, old grouting grey and unclean. Windows grey and unwashed, Curtains coming off the rail, net curtains filthy. How come this place is allowed to function? Hasn't anyone reported them to the health and safety? Especially as they do breakfasts. Also if there was a fire no sign of fire exits....A shame as it is perfect for the South Kensington tube....but definitely won't go there again... it was really awful.

Room Tip: Don't think they have any........
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Angie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    39
    67
    48
    88
See reviews for
55
76
21
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leominster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
280 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We wanted a hotel close to the V & A as was attending a couple of exhibitions at the weekend. We booked this hotel. Our room was on the top floor, 6 flights of stairs, no lift, at the rear. We faced out onto a wall, and could just see the sky craning our necks. Two small opening windows, the handle on one completely missing. Room very hot and stuffy and the maid always closed the window when making up room. Room had a small double bed and a single bed. All basic, beds very hard, springs not good. Shower room, light had gone over mirror, and the thermostat knob on the shower did not work at all. When we reported these things we were told that they had broken yesterday. Call me cycnical but I didn't believe it. It is reasonably cheap for london, but more of a hostel. Reception is on first floor, the wifi is very intermittent, I gave up. The room did have flat screen tv, hairdryer, fridge and microwave. Breakfast was delivered to door on tray at time we asked. However, cheap slided white bread, and hard boilded eggs. Better to miss this and go to any of the cafes close by. Would not stay here again.

Room Tip: If you must stay here rooms at back are quieter, but might be better to inspect room first. They do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GillH007_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

The hotel is very tired looking. It's a rabbit warren of corridors and stairs. We had 6 flights to climb to our room, no lift.

The bedroom was a reasonable size, the bathroom small. Our shower screen was held together by gaffa tape, and control knob and cover plate were missing from the shower. There was an extractor outlet just above our room and it was very noisy until 11pm. The bed was comfy, the sheets were clean but we could have done with a second pillow each and we had to ask for a second set of towels so we didn't have to share them!

There is no dining or breakfast room so breakfast is delivered to your room your only choice is if you want your eggs hard or soft boiled and if you would like tea or coffee. The rest of breakfast is toast, jam and fruit juice.

Really this is a hostel not a hotel.

Room Tip: I wouldn't stay here again
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JuneMHampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Stayed here this week for one night. The room had all that was needed the bed was comfy and the room spacious for a london hotel. It is a bit tired the shower had only one heat setting but was fine. The breakfast is boiled egg and toast delivered to your door. For the price i think we got what we expected. Dont go if you have problems with stairs as all rooms are up at least a few flights and some up many. Our room looked onto the road junction but surprisingly we were not bothered by noise. It is in a great location for the museums and south kensington tube, restaurants and cafes for a more exciting breakfast if that is what you want! I think you get what you pay for and this was the case here..

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bristolpeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ostfildern, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed for two days here and we left happy to be leaving.
Plus point is just the location which is very good two mn away from S kensington underground.
The hotel is in an old house, nothing new there just it looks nobody really cares to take care of it.. probably hasnt been touched in 30 yrs.
-Bed was an old type no mattress so bed was very hard and small, not suited for two people. We woke up with back pain! not nice!
- It was cold, we had to ask for heating to be turned on. At 5 am first night it was switched off and we woke up in cold!

- Both nights my husband didnt sleep beyond 5 am as someone was preparing the bfast for all rooms and was banging and basically making kitchen noise...
-Breakfast weak
- Bathroom very small, no place to hang towel as the support was broken!
Overall we feel we paid the huge amount just for the location as the hotel is old and neglected.
The staff was nice no complaint there.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Vrg02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this South Kensington hotel on business during the week 7-11 April. My top-floor, front-facing single room was compact but comfortable and quiet, with a small but perfectly adequate bathroom. Everything was clean, in good condition and worked. Breakfast was delivered on time and left on a tray outside the room door: eggs and toast were hot, and there was butter, jam, juice and tea or coffee. The staff were polite, friendly and helpful. I would very happily stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank ianwatson100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Eden Plaza Kensington
Eden Plaza Kensington
#645 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
South Kensington
Number Sixteen
Number Sixteen
#179 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
South Kensington
The Pelham
The Pelham
#158 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Adria Boutique Hotel
Adria Boutique Hotel
#562 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
South Kensington
54 Boutique Hotel
54 Boutique Hotel
#428 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
South Kensington
The Villa Kensington
The Villa Kensington
#493 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brompton Hotel London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brompton Hotel London

Property: Brompton Hotel London
Address: 30 Old Brompton Road | South Kensington, London SW7 3DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #990 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Brompton Hotel London 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Brompton Hotel London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
London Brompton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing