We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreadful - avoid unless desperate for location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Brompton Hotel London
Ranked #965 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Great location in S Kensington but dreadful rooms - shabby, dodgy electrics, no water coming out of bath taps in 1st room, broken toilet bin, blown light bulb - you get the picture. No lift and v steep stairs (for some reason all room numbers start with 4 regardl;ss of floor..)

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (267)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

79 - 85 of 267 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

We booked because it has a great location and we like staying in smaller hotels in Britain.

Bad choice. I didn't pay enough attention to the reviews.

We arrived at the hotel just before 11pm, arriving from Heathrow via the Tube.

No elevator and about 4 flights of stairs to get to the room. The window opened onto an airshaft.
The bed cover was dirty and the blanket was yuk. The sheets were dingy. Old style door lock, which means zero security when away from room.

We used the free WiFi to find a better hotel and evacuated just after midnight.

Room Tip: Find a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed here based on the listing in Rick Steves--and it was the only one of his recommendations to surprise and disappoint us. The service was very impersonal, which I could have overlooked if the rooms had been better maintained. While it seemed to be fairly clean, there were many stains on the carpet and on the bedspread, the toilet was very difficult to flush, etc. etc. I'm pretty comfortable in budget hotels--but this was just too shabby to feel comfortable to me.

On a positive note, the breakfast was pretty good, and it was nice to have it served in the room.

I can see how this hotel is a good budget hotel in an expensive neighborhood, but for us it wasn't worth it. We wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ashton S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel was just adequate. Biggest problem was toilet that required 3-6 long flushes to work. Hallways were air conditioned but rooms were not. Bathrown was hot with no ventilation. Local charm would have made up for all this but without that, you may as well stay in an Easy Hotel for the same or less cost.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebCoronado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Excellent location and reasonable room. I wasn't surprised by the stairs or the lack of air-conditioning, having read other reviews. The room was clean and the breakfast was fine. Glad to have the refrigerator.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Yvonne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This hotel was hot, smelly, stuffy and uncomfortable. There is no elevator and there did not seem to be any rooms at the back. All of the rooms face Old Brompton Road which is noisy at all hours. There is no air conditioning and the room has one window - the top section pops outward for about 8" and that is it for ventilation. Beds old and uncomfortable. No drawer space for clothes. Poor lighting. Newish bathroom. It is well located near the museums and the tube station, but that is about the only good thing to be said. Never again.

Room Tip: There probably isn't one. On a lighter note, all of the room numbers begin with the number "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Booked on line Dirty. Dangerous. Disgraceful.
Hairs in plug hole of bath. Bathroom floor tiles cracked & sharp - needed to lay towels on floor to protect feet. Window duck taped to stop draught. Sink cracked. Breakfast consisted of soggy toast. Hallway outside of bedroom ( near "kitchen" ) smelt of cigarette smoke.
Rip off . Would definitely NOT recommend. Left as soon as possible. Not what we hoped for at all. Had it not been so late ( 11.30 pm) when we arrived we would definitely have found somewhere -anywhere!- else to lay our weary heads.

Room Tip: Don't waste your hard earned money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Gainsborough Hotel
The Gainsborough Hotel
#804 of 1,081 in London
496 reviews
South Kensington
Eden Plaza Kensington
Eden Plaza Kensington
#665 of 1,081 in London
884 reviews
South Kensington
Montana Hotel
Montana Hotel
#429 of 1,081 in London
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
My Chelsea
My Chelsea
#529 of 1,081 in London
652 reviews
South Kensington
Best Western Burns Hotel Kensington
South Kensington
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brompton Hotel London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brompton Hotel London

Address: 30 Old Brompton Road | South Kensington, London SW7 3DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #965 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Price Range: £72 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brompton Hotel London 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Brompton Hotel London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
London Brompton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing