We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“home away from home”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Georgian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Georgian Hotel
Ranked #978 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Jaipur, India
Level Contributor
154 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“home away from home”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

u will feel the comfort of home here.though the breakfast is v.basic it's wonderful location compensates for everything.u r only few min.walk away from the world famous madam tussaud's and all the shopping malls u always desired to go.besides u can get the tickets of open bus tours and many other sights from the owner of this hotel which saves on ur precious time n energy.staff is helping and eng.speaking.the bathroom n gallery area need to b more warm.

Room Tip: family rooms r good n value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dprakash533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    8
    24
    28
    75
See reviews for
45
26
12
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

Let me start by saying I have never given a bad review and I tavel to London once a year so I'm not an inexperienced traveler. January in London is cold and we had no hot water...not even luke warm for three days the first day we were told "it's an old hotel you have to let the water run a long time". The second day they came to our room and agreed it was not warm and said it would be fixed. Third day we said we would have to leave the hotel if we did not get a different room so the moved us. The gentleman who moved us said "our compliments" which we took to mean one free night for the severe inconvenience of a cold shower for three days. Upon leaving we were asked for payment and told their compliments meant they had upgraded our room. Outside of the horrible customer service the hotel's rating of 2.5 starts is quite a stretch our bathroom was not ensuite and the heat was barely on so we also slept in our clothes with beanies just to keep warm. An all around bad experience!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susaneee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Lincolnshire
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

This hotel is dire. It claims on its website to be 3 star, but it does not merit even one. Their card says RAC and AA 3 star. RAC no longer award stars, and AA have not rated them, so this seems to be a false claim. 3 star requires a restaurant open to non-residents (it doesn't have one); rooms that are en suite (not all are); and a manned reception (it is mostly unattended). Their website claims that it is decorated to a high standard. It is not. It is run-down and grotty.

Room Tip: Do not choose any. Those we saw are all equally bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Nice people - Zulfiqar and the lady who did breakfasts but the room was cold especially the Shower room which was in the hold - outside the room not very satisfactory. A window was boarded up not replaced. However, the breakfasts was fine the location was excellent apart from the fact that if you are forced to drive into the congestion zone to get to the hotel -even though it is just outside. However, fantastic car park further down Crawford St - a NCP ony £16 a night

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calverleybestone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

Well, lets try of the good points first, stayed there last weekend for meetings and then leisure, on the special request I did state that we were getting into london 11.30 AM and we would like our room to be ready, if we had to pay an extra couple of pound, this is so we could get freshened up from a 5 hour journey, and then go to the meeting.
We were told 'room not ready' however, we could leave our bags in the hallway. Had no choice here and a small toilet/changing area under the stairs.....wow!!
Anyway went and did meetings and got back to the hotel around 5pm and went to the room, lift was working thank goodness, the room wasnt to bad, double as we booked, but a lot of mold and the bathroom size wise not to bad, no heating and the water was 'luke' warm not very pleasant but plodded on, not enough coffee in the room or sugar so popped round the corner to get some essentials milk coffee and sugar.. in the morning the shower was pretty warmish not hot but only just acceptable, going down to breakfast was bit of a strange phenomena, we managed to get a table and hard boiled eggs were certainly hard boiled and the word 'continental' breakfast was certainly an eye opener. some more guests came down for breakfast while we were having ours and were told that they would have to wait outside the restaurant until there was more room, well if this had happened to me I would have kicked off, I think that this hotel needs a revamp, a lot of wasted space there am really not sure why they have this star rating, I would only go back there if in an emergency and maybe I would just crash at victria station on the benches there, sorry but this didnt meet my expectations and in my other reviews I dont look for a lot but would have been nice if this had been cared for.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mascotty02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

This has to be the worst hotel I have ever stayed at, the decor was hideous, wall paper coming off wall, dirty dirty dirty, stay well clear of this dive

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grakie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

£140 for a night. Dirty room. Paint flaking off the walls. Bath enamel all broken.

The worst thing was that the sash windows in my room were jammed open and let very loud traffic noise in all night. I got hardly any sleep.

Hotel staff, including reception, were hard to find.

I didnt bother with breakfast once I saw the state of the dining room, so I can't comment what it was like.

I have been travelling fairly often on business for 20 years, probably staying in a hotel at more than once a month on average, and this is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Blandford Hotel
Blandford Hotel
#407 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Marylebone
Montagu Place Hotel
Montagu Place Hotel
#65 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Marylebone
Hotel 82
Hotel 82
#684 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
St George Hotel
St George Hotel
#681 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Marylebone
Z at Gloucester Place
Z at Gloucester Place
#305 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Marylebone
The Leonard Hotel
The Leonard Hotel
#334 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Georgian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georgian Hotel

Property: Georgian Hotel
Address: 87 Gloucester Place | Near Baker Street, London W1U 6JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #978 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Georgian Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgian style- townhouse type hotel - Central to West End, near Baker & Oxford Sts, shopping area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Georgian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgian Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing