We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excuse for everything...”
Review of Hotel La Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel La Place
Ranked #787 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An excuse for everything...”
Reviewed 14 July 2011

Finding an affordable hotel in London, in summer isn"t easy, but at the La Place hotel, it becomes the tired excuse for everything wrong, not working, or in dilapidated condition. Each of the desk clerks, had practiced and diverting excuses for the incredible small and dingy room "Executive Single", I was placed in. Although turn over seemed regular, it was impossible to see any other rooms, change rooms (excepted to a double suite, which will cost considerably more), or have issues addressed. The room I review, generally sums up this hotel, small, dingy, unclean (I had to wash my hands whenever I touched window handles or other areas that cleaning staff avoided in there quick daily pass through). The decor is cheap, old, poorly maintained and depressing. The worst complaint for any modern traveller, is the poor quality of the WiFi. I had to sit on the toilet to get any signal. Complaints.to management only resulted in being told it was my computer that wasn't working. In short, this hotel isn't cheap, isn't value for money, isn't clean, and isn't worth the hassle. Go elsewhere!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonDeBlocke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    31
    29
    20
    17
See reviews for
21
20
27
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Caboolture
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

I stayed here for 13 nights. As I was on a mainly business trip the location was ideal - 2 minutes to Underground, 10 minutes to Oxford St, and the free wifi was a real bonus. Room was small, (executive single) but comfortable and excellent value for central London. Breakfast okay, staff helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellorsolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2011

I'll start by saying that this is the first time ever that I have reviewed a hotel. Usually I think, "they were okay, so why bother, even if a few things went wrong", but this time I think, the experience was so bad, I can't not write. This hotel was a total ripoff experience for me. I booked through an agency, and there were problems with that. A long story short, I got a room at the top and the back, a tiny room with a tiny bed and a tiny shower (the wall slanted in) which would have been okay if it had been priced accordingly. What I was shocked to discover is that this tiny room with the tiny bed and the tiny shower (it is room 404, in case you want to know) was being rented out AS THE SAME PRICE AS THE REGULAR ROOMS WITH DOUBLE BEDS!!! When I pointed out the rather obvious unfairness of this arrangement, I was met with arrogance, defensiveness, and outright aggresion. I could go on and on about that: the rather tactless approach of the owner and her son, but there is no point. The point is, they are interested in getting your money, and once they have done that, they don't give a damn, because they know that you will never stay there again. See, the hotel rooms in London are so expensive and so hard to come by, that they can give really incredibly bad service and still stay in businesss. So, in my opinion, this is one to avoid.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hutterdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2010

To be fair, the price was so low I did not expect much. The building is old but well maintained. The welcome was great, the friendly receptionist looked after me, in fact everyone I spoke to was lovely. I was in room 403 which was warm, comfortable, with nice wardrobe and bathroom. The wi-fi was free. The breakfast was good. Can't really fault it and will certainly book in again.
The location was perfect for me as I was at a festival in Regents Park.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hipswayno9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibiza
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2010

The owners made us feel so welcome and nothing was too much trouble.The situation is great near the princess Grace hospital and next door to fashionable Marleybone high St with many restaurants and boutiques.Would highly recomend this good value small hotel

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanTruy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2010

We walked into reception to find out about room rates for our relatives - the receptionist told us it was 'unacceptable' to walk into reception with a pram and asked my wife to wait outside with it (!!!!!!).... because it made the entrance look busy and could dirty the carpet... in addition, the place looks like an old dump... very far from 'boutique' as they advertise. These people are plain rude. I won't put any relative nor friend in a place like this. Avoid.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iocopocomaioco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mikerio
1 review
Reviewed 22 June 2010

Friendly, helpful owners. Great location. Marlybone is a safe and accessible London location. Plenty to do in the area and close underground and major attractions.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikerio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Blandford Hotel
Blandford Hotel
#438 of 1,069 in London
672 reviews
Marylebone
Regency Hotel - Nottingham Place
Marylebone
Nottingham Place Hotel London
Nottingham Place Hotel London
#603 of 1,069 in London
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London
Marylebone
Z at Gloucester Place
Z at Gloucester Place
#185 of 1,069 in London
208 reviews
Marylebone
The Sumner Hotel
The Sumner Hotel
#162 of 1,069 in London
1,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Place

Property: Hotel La Place
Address: 17 Nottingham Place, London W1U 5LG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #787 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel La Place 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most distinguished neighborhoods in the city, La Place becomes an excellent option to discover London from a unique and welcoming environment. Each of the 20 rooms at this fantastic hotel is unique. Every room is designed to detail and individually decorated, making the customer feel really special. All rooms offer free WiFi and complete bathroom. A complete breakfast is also included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel La Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Place Hotel
La Place London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing