We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and location, highly recommended!”
Review of Jesmond Dene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Ranked #242 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great service and location, highly recommended!”
Reviewed 18 June 2011

We stayed for 3 nights in May. Could not have asked for more. Location was really perfect for our sightseeing and day trips, right next to the train station. Comy bed, quiet street so minimal street traffic, small but efficient room and in suite bathroom. And a hearty breakfast that kept us goes until dinner! We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Contact them directly, great response to email
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tritoniaracing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,727 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    804
    697
    172
    33
    21
See reviews for
539
526
170
188
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottetown, PEI, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2011

We stayed two nights in May and found the hotel perfect for our plans. It is less than 5 minutes away to St. Pancras/King's Cross stations for our Eurostar connection and our tube connection to see London.
The rooms were extremely clean and the full english breakfast offered in the morning was terrific. We had a double room for my wife and I and a spacious twin room for our two adult sons. All the hotel staff were very pleasant and helpful with any inquiries we had.We will definitely be staying there again on our next trip to London.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GottaloveItay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new orleans LA
1 review
Reviewed 18 June 2011

Service, service, service and more service! And not only service but genuine friendliness to boot. The Jesmond Dene was just tops in every way. I almost hate to recommend it because I'm afraid when word gets out, I won't be able to get a room next time I'm in London. ;)

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank voyageurdumonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nyack, New York
1 review
Reviewed 18 June 2011

We were delighted with the Jesmond Dene Hotel. The location is perfect. So easy to go to almost anywhere from there. What made it perfect was, Darren, his brother and all his staff. Always a, hello, good morning, etc.. No matter how many times we would ask Darren for information and/or directions. He would say, I'll get the information for you.....and he did....and always with a smile. We look forward to our return.

Sylvia & Bonnie
USA

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank girlstwoorfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saline, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 18 June 2011

Hotel was in a great location, close to all train stations and tube. Accommodations were excellent-family room had additional sink and plenty of space. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Would stay there again a heartbeat!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eileen151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We were looking for last minute accomodation in London as we were there for the Champions League Final at Wembley. Jesmond Dene Hotel was a last minute choice for us as the earlier booking made elsewhere with another hotel did not impress some of our family members. We were looking for a quad room or an apartment with a good location within the tube or bus services nearby. The weekend we picked was bank holiday weekend.

We received an e-mail and a call from Darren, Jesmond Dene Hotel regarding an apartment with two bedrooms available. We hesitated at first but decided to go for it although it was slightly over our budget.

We had no regrets.
It was great and the location couldn't have been better. It was within 10 mins walking distance to King's Cross Station, bus stops just outside our doorsteps that goes straight down to centre of London.

Walking distance to the Camden Market along the scenic canal passage way that took us almost half an hour, slow walk to reach the market from the apartment but I guess many of you can do it much faster. Even if you get tired after visitng Camden Market there are buses back to King's Cross from there, so no worries.

The apartment was a two bedroom consisting of a double and three singles, bathroom en-suite, kitchen complete, Darren was great to provide us with simple breakfast to prepare but if you needed more he could always arrange for you at the hotel an English breakfast. There was a hall with a dining and sofa set. TV and Wi-Fi was also provided.

More than all of the above, Darren and his staff were great. Any information you wanted to know about or how to get from point A to B in London, he was of great help. We had also seek his assistance to booked us a hotel in Dublin which he did without any hesitation plus gave us a lift down to the Euston rail station nearby, due to our large suitcases. Thank's a million, Darren.

Excellent service and a great manager. Keep up the good work and we look forward coming back to London soon and staying at the Jesmond Dene Hotel. Cheers!

Turned out to be great with an excellent location near the King's Cross Station

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jog_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

I stayed for three nights in January. The hotel was central for my business trip and the staff were very friendly. The breakfasts were good and the room was compact but clean and well equipped. There is no car parking in front of the hotel but they can park car for you for a fee. Make sure that your car has been moved though as the parking attendant comes round very early in the morning, and if your car is still there you will get a congestion charge through the post.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dee321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#247 of 1,067 in London
1,967 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross St Pancras
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#122 of 1,067 in London
2,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#131 of 1,067 in London
1,201 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Point A Hotel, London Paddington
Bloomsbury
The California
The California
#374 of 1,067 in London
1,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jesmond Dene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jesmond Dene Hotel

Property: Jesmond Dene Hotel
Address: 27 Argyle Street, London WC1H 8EP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras , Regent's Park / Kings Cross
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #242 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Jesmond Dene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located across the road from Kings Cross St. Pancras International. The Jesmond Dene is a 3 Star family run bed and breakfast hotel which has an excellent reputation. Our high standards in cleanliness and service make us a number one choice for your visit to London. Read from over 1800 reviews online to hear from our many happy customers! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Superbreak UK, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Jesmond Dene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing