We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip to London”
Review of Jesmond Dene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Ranked #257 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Vichy, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Trip to London”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Located 200m from St Pacrass station, Jesmon dene hotel, is high added valuable hôtel where the staff is customer-oriented. You will be 10-15 minutes form central London with all monument related to it. (Picadilly circus, Westminster abbey, Buckingham Palace, Soho street, and china town). It is also close to Camden market. A cosmopolitan place whare you can buy all type of souvenirs. (Beware of thiefs)..

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Petit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,750 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    814
    705
    174
    35
    22
See reviews for
545
534
173
188
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We had a very nice one night stay. We were lucky to be upgraded to one of the apartments. The apartment was well appointed and very comfortable. All the staff were very friendly. Darren on the front desk was especially helpul. We would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Treachery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Easy stroll to St. Pancras and quite a lot of restaurants.
Friendly and efficient booking-in and confirmation.
Very busy at reception, but no hold up.
Our room was on the ground floor and just about big enough, ideal for an overnight flop. Immaculately clean and everything worked. Surprisingly, the room was very quiet. Whilst the bed was not comfortable we did manage to sleep.
Breakfast was not a banquet but it was good quality and well cooked, the quantity was fine too. All the staff we encountered were friendly and efficient.
At the price, any complaint would be unreasonable. Good value.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silverfox1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

receptionist was really helpful but the room was in great near of repair and was dark and dingy. The shower was so small you could hardly turn around in it and if you were much taller than me (5 ft 3) you would struggle to get in at all). The bed was comfy and the room was clean but it was all in desperate need of upgrading and redecoration. The wall are paper thin and was unfortunate to hear everything in the adjoining room. The pipes were also really noisy. Didn't stay for breakfast and won't be going back

Room Tip: If you do stay, don't stay on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrumandJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JesmondDeneHotel, Manager at Jesmond Dene Hotel, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Dear GrumandJen,

Thank you very much for staying at the Jesmond Dene.

Sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us, I have located the room you stayed in which was a small triple with 2 beds.

I am sorry that you thought it was dark and dingy, however I actually think your comments are unfair. The room is in a very quiet part of the rear of the building and has 2 windows. The room has had a brand new ensuite installed and as much as I appreciate it is very small, at 5ft 3 I would not understand how you could complain about such an issue.

The walls are not paper thin however if the party next door were making too much noise there are always going to be limitations on how we can manage these types of problems. If it was unbearable you should have asked the reception to possibly move your room.

Your room tip about not staying on the ground floor is completely wrong. Many people take advantage of opting for our ground floor rooms. As much as some of them are small, we also have a the larger rooms on the ground floor. It means that baggage is not a problem and very convenient for the less able customer.

Pipe’s being noisy is also incorrect as the only pipe work on that corner of our building are the pipes leading to your basin. Therefore you would have only possibly heard the sound of water when using your own sink.

I must add that you did book via which means you paid a slightly inflated rate. The other issue is that I note you generally stay in 4 star accommodations from reading your previous reviews; your expectations on 3 star which is what we are must be appreciated.

Fellow travellers please take my sound advice and book direct; you will get the best prices and free English breakfast with your stay.

Regards

Darren
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

My boyfriend & I stayed here three nights. Our 3rd night was 2 days later as we went to Cotswolds in between. They allowed us to leave our luggage at the hotel so that we could pack a small bag for our Cotswolds trip. The prompt and clear communication prior to arrival gave me the assurance the Mgt was reliable and indeed they were.
Darren is a co-owner. He invited us to have breakfast when we arrived at about 8am though we were not entitled to it. That was a great start. He was also real helpful in giving us directions, travelling tips etc. The service from one young lady staff, on the other hand, was only lukewarm.
There's no lift. Our room was on 3rd storey facing the road. If you've been to London, you'll know it's hard not to get a room which faces the road so what you need is a quiet road and the area where JD is located at, it's mostly quiet. There were ocassional sounds but nothing so bad I couldn't sleep (I'm a light sleeper). Do bring ear plugs anyway just in case. The bed was very tiny and soft on the edge and a few times I nearly rolled off when I slept near the edge.
Bathrooms are on certain floors only. I saw only two bathrooms, maybe there are more I'm not sure. Despite only 2, it was always vacant when I needed to use it. Body/hair soap gel was provided. You'll get fresh towels too.
Breakfast was good and the serving staff were nice. They allowed us to put our cold food overnight in their fridge.
If you need to wake up at an ungodly hour to take the train at St Pancras , you really should stay here because it's just a 5 minutes walk. It's also centrally located with tubes and lots of buses nearby. Area felt safe at night.
I'd recommend this hotel because the Mgt was kind and accommodated our random requests to make our stay comfortable. There's a personal touch and we felt we were taken care of.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 5A (number doesn't denote the level). It was ok for me and my boyfriend though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aki_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glassblower10
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We stayed in room 10 (twin room) for two nights recently. Book direct with the hotel cos it's cheaper than doing it via booking.com etc.......... and you get a beautiful free English breakfast booked direct where they charge £5 per breakfast if you book via an agent. The hotel is right across the road from Kings Cross & St. Pancras rail and tube stations. No hauling bags for miles to the hotel, great!! We received a pleasant welcome from the receptionist and were given the keys to our room. The room was en-suite and quite small, but how much room do you need. TV and coffee/tea making facilities included. Spotlessly clean throughout. We will definitely be staying here again when we next go to London.

Room Tip: Get a your room cheaper by booking one that has a shared bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glassblower10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

I stayed at the hotel for two nights. The location is perfect, a short walk from Kings Cross station. Reception staff are very pleasant and efficient, wifi, breakfast arrangements etc all explained. My room was on the second floor, up two flights of well lit stairs. The room was immaculately clean, not a big room but perfectly fine, wardrobe, drawers and chair and tv, kettle and a generous supply of tea coffee and milk. Lots space to put your belongings and plenty electric sockets-exactly what travellers need these days. The bed was as comfortable as a sleeping on a cloud, very nice indeed. The ensuite was beautifully clean, the light and fan come on when the door opens so no searching for light switches in the dark. The breakfast room is on the lower ground floor. Again it is obvious that cleanliness is taken very seriously here, the room is bright and sparkling and nicely set out. Staff in the breakfast room were as cheerful and efficient as those on reception. I opted for the cooked breakfast which was well presented and cooked to perfection with orange juice, toast and a good sized pot of coffee.

Room Tip: Two flights of stairs to the second floor so could be difficult for those with mobility problems, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DorsetNomad49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#251 of 1,069 in London
2,000 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross St Pancras
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#128 of 1,069 in London
1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#132 of 1,069 in London
2,450 reviews
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London St Pancras Hotel
Bloomsbury
The California
The California
#393 of 1,069 in London
1,914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jesmond Dene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jesmond Dene Hotel

Property: Jesmond Dene Hotel
Address: 27 Argyle Street, London WC1H 8EP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras , Regent's Park / Kings Cross
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #257 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Jesmond Dene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located across the road from Kings Cross St. Pancras International. The Jesmond Dene is a 3 Star family run bed and breakfast hotel which has an excellent reputation. Our high standards in cleanliness and service make us a number one choice for your visit to London. Read from over 1800 reviews online to hear from our many happy customers! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, HotelsClick, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jesmond Dene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing