We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location”
Review of Jesmond Dene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Ranked #239 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Seven Hills, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Location”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Well situated and comfortable hotel in middle of where you need to be. We had a triple room on the lower ground floor, although small it has everything you need. When you're on the go in London all you need is a clean quiet place to crash. We loved the breakfast and the warm staff. The hotel is great value in London and its convenience to Kings Cross St Pancras station makes it a great choice.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
Helpful?
Thank Cath2147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,727 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    804
    697
    172
    33
    21
See reviews for
539
526
170
188
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We stayed in October for six nights. This is our second time here. We had a ground floor twin room, (same room both times) as requested. The size of the room was adequate as we only wanted to sleep in it.

The Jesmond Dene is literally 2-3 minutes from Kings Cross/St Pancras which was convenient as we arrived on the Eurostar. Also National trains and the tube.

Pubs and restaurants are close as is a Laundromat which is next door to a pub. Have a drink and meal while you wait.

Will definitely stay again if visiting London.

Room Tip: We had our own ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyDragon53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield,CT
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Darren and the rest of the staff were all very helpful and friendly. Our room was warm, well appointed, and had a great bathroom. Breakfast was both good and fast. The location could not be better. Kings Cross andSt Pancras right down the street. So whether it's the Tube, National Rail or Eurostar, transportation is a breeze. There are plenty of restaurants and shopping areas all within walking distance. They are happy to look after your luggage if you arrive before check-in or after checkout. Free fast WiFi. I would not think twice about staying again, and will recommend the Jesmond Dene to friends.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soundguyFairfield_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We stayed in the apartment, which was tiny but modern and clean.The staff at this family-run hotel is exceptionally friendly and accomodating, and compared to most of the hotels we looked into, the Jesmone Dene is a great value.

The street below the apartment can be a bit loud at at night (at least it was over Halloween and Guy Fawkes day, but I guess that's to be expected...), but the apartment is comfortable enough, and we were tired out from sight-seeing, so slept well despite the noise. The location is convenient to trains and the tube station and walking distance to central London. Bloomsbury and Camden Town are nearby, and we found plenty of good resaurants..

We are recommending the Jesmond Dene to friends who are traveling to London soon, and would definitely stay there again ourselves.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peggy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

It's in a great location for Kings Cross or St Pancras stations - literally a couple of minutes walk away. When I first arrived I was a bit concerned because the reception area has seen better days. But the room was great - basic and small, but good for the price in London, clean and with fast free wifi. What really sold me was the staff. They were so very friendly and helpful. For this reason I would recommend the hotel and would stay there again.

Room Tip: I'm told that there are apartments which are nicer than the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 26 November 2013

The hotel is just 2-3 min walk from Kings Cross station which is very handy to hop on the trains. We enjoyed our short stay - the room is small comparing this NA style but got everything a traveller would need. Very clean and tidy. The staff are quite helpful and patient. We would definitely recommend to our friends for their future trips!

Room Tip: choose a room with private bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chee d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vichy, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Located 200m from St Pacrass station, Jesmon dene hotel, is high added valuable hôtel where the staff is customer-oriented. You will be 10-15 minutes form central London with all monument related to it. (Picadilly circus, Westminster abbey, Buckingham Palace, Soho street, and china town). It is also close to Camden market. A cosmopolitan place whare you can buy all type of souvenirs. (Beware of thiefs)..

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Petit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#248 of 1,067 in London
1,967 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross St Pancras
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#123 of 1,067 in London
2,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#129 of 1,067 in London
1,201 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Point A Hotel, London Paddington
Bloomsbury
The California
The California
#373 of 1,067 in London
1,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jesmond Dene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jesmond Dene Hotel

Property: Jesmond Dene Hotel
Address: 27 Argyle Street, London WC1H 8EP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras , Regent's Park / Kings Cross
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #239 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Jesmond Dene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located across the road from Kings Cross St. Pancras International. The Jesmond Dene is a 3 Star family run bed and breakfast hotel which has an excellent reputation. Our high standards in cleanliness and service make us a number one choice for your visit to London. Read from over 1800 reviews online to hear from our many happy customers! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Superbreak UK, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Jesmond Dene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing