We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but great location great staff and always clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Jesmond Dene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Ranked #235 of 1,090 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
derbydshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Basic but great location great staff and always clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

Stayed here from 1st-4th feb staff are great only thing to say was there was no showers in the standard rooms and after a long day walking round all you need is a shower but that's the only bad point about it all in all had a good stay :-)

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mellya1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,717 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    802
    691
    170
    33
    21
See reviews for
537
521
169
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

We stayed for two nights. Excellent value for money, with very friendly and helpful personal. In walking distance to tube stations but even the city center. Very calm what is amazing so close to King's Cross

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Th W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

Genuine, friendly and hospitable family service and great rooms.
If you miss breakfast................You'll miss London hospitality!!!!!!!!!!!
Staff were very helpful and always at hand to assist.
Will definitely be back on our next trip to London.
This hotel desrve more than 2 star rating.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mohamad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

My teenage sons and I stayed during the holiday period and had a great experience. Our room, two twins and a full size bed, had plenty of storage and closets for our six night stay. Very clean, great beds and pillows. The bathroom is small but functional.

I was impressed with the neighborhood. On my first trip to London 20 years ago, the area around Euston and Kings Cross was "dodgy" at best. What a change! Pubs, restaurants, St Pancras station fully restored, it is busy and safe with lots of options and unbeatable as a transportation hub to get around the capital, to go to points around the UK and even take the Eurostar to Paris, as we did--all in less than five minutes from the hotel's front door.

But as good as all of this is, the reason to stay is Darren and the staff. Outstanding people. Very helpful, advice on touring and getting around, etc. They really impressed when some on-line football tickets I ordered were mistakenly sent to the wrong address--Darren and staff contacted the ticket broker, delivery service and others to straighten out the whole mess, much to my relief and the gratitude of my Chelsea-loving son. Thank you Jesmond Dene, we will be back!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

My group stayed at the Jesmond Dene for six nights. The rooms are very nice and consistently clean. The location is perfect - one block from King's Cross with it's many transportation connections, but just off the main street, so it is quiet and safe. There are many food options nearby, as well. The breakfast at the hotel is a true English breakfast, cooked to order. And, perhaps above all, the manager (Darren) and his staff is so helpful, just a pleasure. I've stayed at several hotels in the neighborhood, but never found a hotel I liked. I'm so pleased to have found the Jesmond Dene - I will stay here every time I'm in London.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jbcarthage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

A wonderful place! The staff is friendly and helpful; the room was very clean, roomy and comfortable (we had a family room); and the location of the hotel was excellent- just across the street and one block down from St. Pancras/Kings Cross. Though we stayed in a room facing the street on a Saturday night, it was silent as the crypt- no street noise. We were very happy with our stay and would recommend the hotel without hesitation. Hope to visit again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carrie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karlsruhe, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

I've stayed a few times here over the last years. The last visit was even better than those before. Single rooms in London are often tiny, and unpleasantly so. My room was a reasonable size, with a large and comfortable bed, and was very well designed and had everything one needed. Tastefully decorated and very clean and an excellent shower (not so common in the UK!) Only the wireless service was a bit slow at busy times of the day. Very friendly staff, good breakfast, and it feels like a family business.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#249 of 1,090 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,934 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#114 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#133 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,170 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Point A Hotel, London Paddington
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Ibis London Euston St Pancras
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jesmond Dene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jesmond Dene Hotel

Property: Jesmond Dene Hotel
Address: 27 Argyle Street, London WC1H 8EP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras , Regent's Park / Kings Cross
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #235 of 1,090 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Jesmond Dene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located across the road from Kings Cross St. Pancras International. The Jesmond Dene is a 3 Star family run bed and breakfast hotel which has an excellent reputation. Our high standards in cleanliness and service make us a number one choice for your visit to London. Read from over 1800 reviews online to hear from our many happy customers! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Jesmond Dene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing