We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place to Stay near St. Pancreas Station”
Review of Jesmond Dene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Ranked #284 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We recently stayed at the Hotel after flying in to London for Chicago. We were looking for a place that was close to St. Pancreas Station as we were taking the Eurostar to France the next morning. The Hotel suited all our needs -- we were two couples and given nice rooms on the 1st floor next to each other. The rooms were small in comparison to American hotel rooms, but what we expected for Central London. They were clean with comfortable beds and perfect for catching up on a night's sleep as the hotel was very quiet at night. Lots of places to eat and shop nearby. Nice English breakfast served the next day. All in all, a great place for a quick night's stay in central London. Staff was very accommodating as well.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Terry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,767)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

450 - 456 of 1,768 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2014

Small but comfortable room which was very quiet. Ideally situated near Kings X / St. Pancras for a quick trip to London. Darren on reception was particularly friendly and helpful. Overall, good value.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jplaurak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

If you are a Hobbit this hotel might be fine.
Stayed here for one night in July 2013 with my wife.
At check in the receptionist was just not interested in us, more concerned watching the large screen TV on the wall. She had no local knowledge of any thing. Our room on the ground was tiny and the en suite could not possibly have been any smaller. The double bed was wedged against the wall. No room for suitcases. After getting into bed we found there was no control for the A/C. Called reception who refused to bring us one, so had to climb over my wife, dress and go to reception.
As the breakfast room was so small breakfast was on a rota. You had to ring down in the morning for your slot. Service and choice was terrible. Given thimble of orange juice, no cereal offered. Cooked breakfast was 2 pieces of bacon, one sausage and one egg. No coffee was available, only tea and only white bread toast. No brown. This outfit is so mean they even gave us the heel of the loaf as a toast slice.

Very bad hotel. We used it as we were using Eurostar to Bruges the next morning, and by contrast our hotel there was cheaper and much much better quality with great service.

Be careful of you credit card pre authorisation, as the Jesmond charged us 3 times and I received a call from my bank's fraud dept asking for clarification.

Just don't stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Derek270353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Room very clean, which is essential in my book.
Very nice and personal service, especially from the sympathetic brothers running the place. Breakfast good and professionally handled. If a table is not available staff will call you in your room when one is ready - so no waiting in the corridor.
Private and safe parking available, for a price of course.
Our room was rather cramped for a family, maybe could have wished for some "warning", when booking. But we got what we ordered. Also, the weather was hot, so look for A/C, if you value a cool night. A bit of a hassle to carry up the luggage, but we knew there was no elevator, so not an issue. Anyway, as Darren writes, book directly with the hotel, and take their advice. Extremely close to the tube. Would definitely recommend Jesmond Dene, and stay there another time. 4 very large stars (5 reserved for the absolutely outstanding).

Room Tip: Rooms are different - contact the hotel and let them help you choose the right one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Auggie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Stayed here from 1st-4th feb staff are great only thing to say was there was no showers in the standard rooms and after a long day walking round all you need is a shower but that's the only bad point about it all in all had a good stay :-)

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mellya1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We stayed for two nights. Excellent value for money, with very friendly and helpful personal. In walking distance to tube stations but even the city center. Very calm what is amazing so close to King's Cross

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Th W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Genuine, friendly and hospitable family service and great rooms.
If you miss breakfast................You'll miss London hospitality!!!!!!!!!!!
Staff were very helpful and always at hand to assist.
Will definitely be back on our next trip to London.
This hotel desrve more than 2 star rating.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mohamad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#277 of 1,076 in London
2,026 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross St Pancras
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#131 of 1,076 in London
1,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Point A Hotel, London Paddington
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#139 of 1,076 in London
2,544 reviews
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London St Pancras Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jesmond Dene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jesmond Dene Hotel

Address: 27 Argyle Street, London WC1H 8EP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras , Regent's Park / Kings Cross
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #284 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Price Range: £65 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jesmond Dene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located across the road from Kings Cross St. Pancras International. The Jesmond Dene is a 3 Star family run bed and breakfast hotel which has an excellent reputation. Our high standards in cleanliness and service make us a number one choice for your visit to London. Read from over 1800 reviews online to hear from our many happy customers! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jesmond Dene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing