We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short break stay in London”
Review of Jesmond Dene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Ranked #254 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Short break stay in London”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

First time we've booked a hotel so near Kings Cross - what a difference this made to our short break to London! All the staff at this hotel are exceptionally friendly and very welcoming. We were upgraded to a studio room and this made our stay even more special. The location is great as a base for getting around London, with access to all your travel needs just a very short walk away. Yet you don't feel like you're in the heart of the city, as it is actually quite quiet once you close your door on the evening back at the hotel. Recommended for short break stays.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,743 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    810
    703
    174
    34
    22
See reviews for
541
532
173
188
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We recently stayed at the Hotel after flying in to London for Chicago. We were looking for a place that was close to St. Pancreas Station as we were taking the Eurostar to France the next morning. The Hotel suited all our needs -- we were two couples and given nice rooms on the 1st floor next to each other. The rooms were small in comparison to American hotel rooms, but what we expected for Central London. They were clean with comfortable beds and perfect for catching up on a night's sleep as the hotel was very quiet at night. Lots of places to eat and shop nearby. Nice English breakfast served the next day. All in all, a great place for a quick night's stay in central London. Staff was very accommodating as well.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Small but comfortable room which was very quiet. Ideally situated near Kings X / St. Pancras for a quick trip to London. Darren on reception was particularly friendly and helpful. Overall, good value.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jplaurak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

If you are a Hobbit this hotel might be fine.
Stayed here for one night in July 2013 with my wife.
At check in the receptionist was just not interested in us, more concerned watching the large screen TV on the wall. She had no local knowledge of any thing. Our room on the ground was tiny and the en suite could not possibly have been any smaller. The double bed was wedged against the wall. No room for suitcases. After getting into bed we found there was no control for the A/C. Called reception who refused to bring us one, so had to climb over my wife, dress and go to reception.
As the breakfast room was so small breakfast was on a rota. You had to ring down in the morning for your slot. Service and choice was terrible. Given thimble of orange juice, no cereal offered. Cooked breakfast was 2 pieces of bacon, one sausage and one egg. No coffee was available, only tea and only white bread toast. No brown. This outfit is so mean they even gave us the heel of the loaf as a toast slice.

Very bad hotel. We used it as we were using Eurostar to Bruges the next morning, and by contrast our hotel there was cheaper and much much better quality with great service.

Be careful of you credit card pre authorisation, as the Jesmond charged us 3 times and I received a call from my bank's fraud dept asking for clarification.

Just don't stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Derek270353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Room very clean, which is essential in my book.
Very nice and personal service, especially from the sympathetic brothers running the place. Breakfast good and professionally handled. If a table is not available staff will call you in your room when one is ready - so no waiting in the corridor.
Private and safe parking available, for a price of course.
Our room was rather cramped for a family, maybe could have wished for some "warning", when booking. But we got what we ordered. Also, the weather was hot, so look for A/C, if you value a cool night. A bit of a hassle to carry up the luggage, but we knew there was no elevator, so not an issue. Anyway, as Darren writes, book directly with the hotel, and take their advice. Extremely close to the tube. Would definitely recommend Jesmond Dene, and stay there another time. 4 very large stars (5 reserved for the absolutely outstanding).

Room Tip: Rooms are different - contact the hotel and let them help you choose the right one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Auggie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbydshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Stayed here from 1st-4th feb staff are great only thing to say was there was no showers in the standard rooms and after a long day walking round all you need is a shower but that's the only bad point about it all in all had a good stay :-)

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mellya1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We stayed for two nights. Excellent value for money, with very friendly and helpful personal. In walking distance to tube stations but even the city center. Very calm what is amazing so close to King's Cross

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Th W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#258 of 1,068 in London
1,985 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross St Pancras
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#129 of 1,068 in London
2,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#124 of 1,068 in London
1,220 reviews
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London St Pancras Hotel
Bloomsbury
The California
The California
#383 of 1,068 in London
1,861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jesmond Dene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jesmond Dene Hotel

Property: Jesmond Dene Hotel
Address: 27 Argyle Street, London WC1H 8EP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras , Regent's Park / Kings Cross
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #254 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Jesmond Dene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located across the road from Kings Cross St. Pancras International. The Jesmond Dene is a 3 Star family run bed and breakfast hotel which has an excellent reputation. Our high standards in cleanliness and service make us a number one choice for your visit to London. Read from over 1800 reviews online to hear from our many happy customers! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Superbreak UK, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jesmond Dene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing