We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel”
Review of Jesmond Dene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Ranked #254 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic hotel”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

This hotel is fantastic-only 5 minutes walk from kings cross and yet quiet. It is clean and welcoming with real attention to detail. Everything is of a high quality from the bedding to the shower. I stayed here with my family for one night for a short break to London and I was not disappointed with my choice. Yes it has a staircase and no lift but the hotel staff are happy to carry cases for you yes the breakfast room is small but they have a great system and we didn't have to wait at all.

Room Tip: The only thing I would say is if you have difficulty walking up stairs I would ask for a lower groun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G4354MSangelas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,743 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    810
    703
    174
    34
    22
See reviews for
541
532
173
188
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We wanted a one night stop over in London as we were going to a show. Selecting a hotel in London is difficult as there are so many. Most are grossly overpriced and many of the budget hotels can be of very poor quality, judged from TripAdvisor reviews. After much research we settled on the Jesmond Dene which proved to be an excellent choice. The hotel is conveniently located very close to St Pancras and Kings Cross stations and is only a short walk from Euston station. We arrived early in the afternoon and were warmly greeted. Our room wasn't quite ready as there had been a lot of checkouts that day. We left our luggage with the assurance that it would be in our room on our return. We went for a short stroll and a coffee and on our return the room was ready. It was fairly small but perfectly adequate and well eqipped with tea/coffee facilities, TV, large wardrobe, clean and tidy bathroom with a shower, and what proved to be a very comfortable bed. The decoration was in good condition and we particularly noticed how clean the room was (no dust above the door and picture frames). The same standard of cleanliness seemed the same throughout the hotel. The hotel is really more of a bed and breakfasr than a fuly fledged hotel (i.e. no restaurant or public areas) but this is not a problem in London as there area multitude of restaurants nearby. The night was quiet and peaceful (the hotel is on a quiet side street) and in the morning we had a good full English breakfast served by very friendly staff. It was nice to see breakfast included in the price (although you can do room only) as many London hotel prices are room only and they often charge £10-15 per person for breakfast which is a rip off. Getting to the West End is easy by No 91 bus which goes to Trafalgar Suqare and runs all night. The stop very close to the hotel (St Pancras Station.) Journey is about 30min and definitely easier than the Tube. We would definitely recommend the Jesmond Dene as particlarly good value (for London) and we will certainly use it for future for trips to London.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 18 on the ground floor. Good if you don't want to carry luggage up the stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I stayed for 5 nights on 31st March 04. My room was # 21 on the second floor with private bathroom (shower included) and a queen size bed very comfortable. Everything is in good conditions and very clean. The housekeeping service is very good and the breakfast delicious! Darren....the manager....such a nice guide, always there to help you, as well as Riluca (his assistant). All the staff are helpful.The location of the hotel is very good too, is like 5 min walking distance to the St. Pancras Station, where you can get the train and connect to the touristic places in London. British library is near the hotel as well. Madame Tussaud (the wax museum) is like 15 min by walking.
I highly recommend this hotel!!!
Magali (56 years old)

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are good and clean. Mine was with private bathroom and it was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 414Magali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Wife and I stayed for a couple of nights on 1st April 04. Our room was No 1 on the ground floor and everything was brand new, shower, toilet, washbasin etc Nice touches with a box of tissues and toiletries provided. The bed was comfortable and sleep quality very good. Although the room faced onto a street there was virtually no noise as the hotel is located in a fairly quiet area, yet only two minutes from the rail stations ( important when lugging cases ). Full English breakfast cooked individually and very tasty. Lots of staff and all most pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PercivalHartlepool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somma Lombardo, Italia
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

...that's all one might need for a great holiday. If you also add a well served location, a central but quite area, a good choice of bars and restaurants nearby and a fairly reasonable price, then you will have found THE place to stay.

Comfortable, cosy rooms, small but with all the necessary for a perfect stay. Even basic toiletries. I would definitely come back here next time I'm in London.

A special thanks goes to the kitchen/dining room staff that made all they could so as to have my 8-year-old son have something to eat for breakfast!!!

Wonderful, really wonderful. Can't be thankful enough! :-)

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are great / Le stanze al piano terra sono ottime
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gabiancarola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Booked this hotel for the guys who work for our company who were working in London, Darren the Manager what a star nothing is to much trouble for him, he has been a great help to me in the booking of rooms in advance. The lads who stayed there have told me great hotel lovely breakfast and parking also Darren and the staff nothing is to much trouble for them. Will stay at this hotel again

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AAC01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

In the Jesmond Dene hotel, the atmosphere was generally good because the manager was helpful
and friendly. The hotel was near the station (St Pancras).
The breakfast was very delicious, we had the choice between continental and English breakfast.
The rooms were specious and the bathrooms were modern. The mattress and the bedding were
comfortable.
The tube was near the hotel.
The trip was very good and the hotel was friendly.
In the hotel, the staff was very friendly and available.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexandra280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#258 of 1,068 in London
1,985 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross St Pancras
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#129 of 1,068 in London
2,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#124 of 1,068 in London
1,220 reviews
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London St Pancras Hotel
Bloomsbury
The California
The California
#383 of 1,068 in London
1,861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jesmond Dene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jesmond Dene Hotel

Property: Jesmond Dene Hotel
Address: 27 Argyle Street, London WC1H 8EP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras , Regent's Park / Kings Cross
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #254 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Jesmond Dene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located across the road from Kings Cross St. Pancras International. The Jesmond Dene is a 3 Star family run bed and breakfast hotel which has an excellent reputation. Our high standards in cleanliness and service make us a number one choice for your visit to London. Read from over 1800 reviews online to hear from our many happy customers! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Ctrip TA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Jesmond Dene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing