We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location!”
Review of Jesmond Dene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Ranked #284 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We were quite pleased with our stay the hotel is very clean and breakfast is run very efficiently. Great value for the money as it is so close to St Pancras station and has access to many bus routes. I would definitely stay here on my next trip.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank B W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,767)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

392 - 398 of 1,768 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

I stayed at the Jesmond Dene for 3 nights in late April 2014 with my husband and daughter. Our room, in the basement level, was extremely small, with one small window at the end and a tiny bathroom that smelled a bit of sewer. I do have a sensitive nose, so the smell may not be an issue for others, and it was tolerable even for me. Perhaps the rooms on the upper floors are better.

The staff was helpful, giving us a map of the area and making car arrangements for our very early morning trip to the airport. The breakfast was not to our liking so after the first morning we ate elsewhere (favorite was the Cornish and other pasties at St Pancras station).

The location was terrific, with easy tube and bus access at Kings Cross/St Pancras and Euston stations. The British Library is very close, and the British Museum only a short walk. There are lots of restaurants nearby. For a drink we enjoyed the stand-up pub outside Euston station.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kbskbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I was very satisfied with this hotel that's why I am writing this review. I stayed in it for three night and our stay was excellent. The breakfast was very good. I was very impressed with the cleanness of the hotel and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel was walking distance from St Pancras station that it was what I was looking for.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rodrick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The hotel is very well situated, the breakfast was very good and the staff extremely helpful.The room was comfortable and the place is very clean. Will definitely be back again and recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ella_zammit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We just returned from spending seven days at the Jesmond Dene Hotel. The room was clean, the hotel staff friendly and helpful. The English breakfast was very good, with quite a variety of food. I didn't expect the room to be large based on reviews of all hotels in London, it was pretty much as pictured on their website. We had the double standard with en suite and had enough room for our luggage and clothes to be put away. The location at Kings Cross was easy to find, and being close to the train station made it easy to get to wherever you were traveling. It was quiet at night and the bed was the most comfortable of all the places we stayed on this vacation. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone and if traveling to London again would use this hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed three nights for a short visit to London. Very well placed hotel, excellent for public transport access. We had a superior room which was a reasonable size, clean although the décor was decidedly tired. The ensuite is small but perfectly adequate with an excellent shower. Room servicing was OK but far from perfect. No AC so we had windows open and that made it a bit noisy at times. Nescafe or one type of tea in the room - although plentiful supplies. Breakfast in a fairly small dining room in the basement - nicely presented and very good food but very limited range. Overall, very good value for money considering the standard and position of the hotel. We would definitely consider using it again.

Room Tip: We are glad we chose a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 321Roger123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JesmondDeneHotel, Manager at Jesmond Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Hello Roger,

Thank you very much for your review.

Please note that you did not book a room with AC and I would like to remind potential travellers that we do have rooms with AC however in order to receive the correct room you must make it known at the time of booking.

Unfortunately we do not have AC in all of our rooms which is the reason why they are on request. There may also a supplement fee applicable which will be given at the time of booking.

Please also note that these rooms are only available when booking direct with the official website. You cannot get them via any booking agent online.

Regards
Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I really enjoyed this stay at the Jesmond Dene, and will definitely keep these guys on my "hotels to keep in mind" list for future stays in London: a walking distance from St Pancras, a very friendly welcome, and an overall excellent stay.

Room Tip: Ask for quiet rooms not facing the street - the area may be a bit noisy with late-nighters having a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Domois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#277 of 1,076 in London
2,026 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross St Pancras
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#131 of 1,076 in London
1,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Point A Hotel, London Paddington
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#139 of 1,076 in London
2,544 reviews
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London St Pancras Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jesmond Dene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jesmond Dene Hotel

Address: 27 Argyle Street, London WC1H 8EP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras , Regent's Park / Kings Cross
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #284 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Price Range: £65 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jesmond Dene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located across the road from Kings Cross St. Pancras International. The Jesmond Dene is a 3 Star family run bed and breakfast hotel which has an excellent reputation. Our high standards in cleanliness and service make us a number one choice for your visit to London. Read from over 1800 reviews online to hear from our many happy customers! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jesmond Dene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing