We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value, Staff and Location for London - Popular King's Cross Station” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jesmond Dene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Ranked #242 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Austin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Value, Staff and Location for London - Popular King's Cross Station”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We were very satisfied with our small, clean and comfortable room at the Jesmond Dene Hotel. We were on the main level and faced the interior courtyard (Room 17). Yes, our room was small by American standards, but it was comfortable and quiet in busy London. The room had a very comfortable double bed and several built-in cabinets for clothes, plus a nice flat screen TV. The small bathroom, with gleaming white and blue tile, was perfectly adequate. The staff was very professional and courteous, we had a full English breakfast every morning. The hotel is just a few minutes from the King's Cross metro station, so getting around London is easy. It is also located just a few minutes from Paddington Station, so getting outside of London was a breeze too. Loads of pubs and restaurants in the area. The hotel needs a bit of TLC, especially in the lobby and hallways, although the restaurant downstairs was bright and inviting. I would recommend this hotel for any experienced traveller looking for a good deal in a great London location!

Room Tip: Room 17 is on the main level at the end of the hallway. Comfy double bed, private bath, quiet inter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,711 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    797
    691
    169
    33
    21
See reviews for
535
519
168
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edgewater, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

The location is perfect as it is in walking distance to the St. Pancras station, but far enough from Euston Road to avoid the noise. Stayed four nights -- it was very clean and the proprietors were quite helpful and accommodating. The breakfast was hearty and helped start the day off right. Unless the steep stairs are an issue, this hotel is an excellent value compared to the competition.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveling_Boomis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

We were quite pleased with our stay the hotel is very clean and breakfast is run very efficiently. Great value for the money as it is so close to St Pancras station and has access to many bus routes. I would definitely stay here on my next trip.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank B W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walla Walla, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

I stayed at the Jesmond Dene for 3 nights in late April 2014 with my husband and daughter. Our room, in the basement level, was extremely small, with one small window at the end and a tiny bathroom that smelled a bit of sewer. I do have a sensitive nose, so the smell may not be an issue for others, and it was tolerable even for me. Perhaps the rooms on the upper floors are better.

The staff was helpful, giving us a map of the area and making car arrangements for our very early morning trip to the airport. The breakfast was not to our liking so after the first morning we ate elsewhere (favorite was the Cornish and other pasties at St Pancras station).

The location was terrific, with easy tube and bus access at Kings Cross/St Pancras and Euston stations. The British Library is very close, and the British Museum only a short walk. There are lots of restaurants nearby. For a drink we enjoyed the stand-up pub outside Euston station.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kbskbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naxxar, Malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I was very satisfied with this hotel that's why I am writing this review. I stayed in it for three night and our stay was excellent. The breakfast was very good. I was very impressed with the cleanness of the hotel and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel was walking distance from St Pancras station that it was what I was looking for.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rodrick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Malta, Malta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

The hotel is very well situated, the breakfast was very good and the staff extremely helpful.The room was comfortable and the place is very clean. Will definitely be back again and recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ella_zammit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgeville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We just returned from spending seven days at the Jesmond Dene Hotel. The room was clean, the hotel staff friendly and helpful. The English breakfast was very good, with quite a variety of food. I didn't expect the room to be large based on reviews of all hotels in London, it was pretty much as pictured on their website. We had the double standard with en suite and had enough room for our luggage and clothes to be put away. The location at Kings Cross was easy to find, and being close to the train station made it easy to get to wherever you were traveling. It was quiet at night and the bed was the most comfortable of all the places we stayed on this vacation. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone and if traveling to London again would use this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#244 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,917 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#114 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#132 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Ibis London Euston St Pancras
Bloomsbury
The California
The California
#366 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jesmond Dene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jesmond Dene Hotel

Property: Jesmond Dene Hotel
Address: 27 Argyle Street, London WC1H 8EP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras , Regent's Park / Kings Cross
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #242 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Jesmond Dene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located across the road from Kings Cross St. Pancras International. The Jesmond Dene is a 3 Star family run bed and breakfast hotel which has an excellent reputation. Our high standards in cleanliness and service make us a number one choice for your visit to London. Read from over 1800 reviews online to hear from our many happy customers! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Superbreak UK so you can book your Jesmond Dene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing