We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, Great Location, Decent Alternative to the big chains” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jesmond Dene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Ranked #240 of 1,087 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Berkswell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Clean, Great Location, Decent Alternative to the big chains”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

I'll stay here again, and I can't say that about others I've stayed in, even on the same street. This hotel is one of a few independent hotel/guest houses bunched around this area and in my opinion is better than the others.
One of the reasons is the location/aspect - it sits on a corner not too far into the crowded street and not bunched onto a terrace and another is that, although it has a few faults, its is very clean and friendly.
My room was OK-ish in size. A double, and I've certainly stayed in smaller but more than ample for one. The window opened nice and wide on the hot day I was there. The small shower/toilet was small but well-done and clean.
What made the difference was the little touches - the map with the Fish and Chip shop marked on it, the comfortable bed, the fact that the receptionist had time for a chat and looked after my case all day.
To be honest the Full English was a bit small but the waitresses were polite and efficient - and when you consider you could easily pay twice as much and end up in a dump you don't mind so much.
I travel, mostly on my own, to London for business and also for hospital visits and this place is PERFECT for the lone traveller arriving knackered at Kings Cross/St Pancras - it is less than 3 mins walk from the door of the train to your bed. LIke I said, highly likely i will be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MalteseAdonis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,710 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    796
    691
    169
    33
    21
See reviews for
534
519
168
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed in the family room on the top floor of the hotel. The room is great, 2 single beds and 1 double bed. The room has been remodeled and is very modern. The shower is awesome. The beds are comfortable. We were 3 adults sharing the room and it was perfect.

It is on the top floor, requiring you to climb 4 flights of stairs.

Breakfast was included and it was great every morning. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the basement or on the first floor, I am sure these rooms get a lot of noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elsa_Wong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Probably a nice hotel but if you plan on sleeping post 6am then select your room carefully, ie not the one sandwiched delightfully between a kitchen that has 100,000 pieces of cutlery and crockery that are being cleaned from 6am onwards and the dining room. Maybe I am getting old and aloof but if you value sleep then this may not be the place for you, been up since 6am each morning here and I am more tired than a 1 legged man in a Hokey Cokey contest.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Geoff0799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Stayed at Jesmond Dene for 1 night last week. I was given a room in the new building adjacent to the old building.The room was clean and very spacious. I ordered room service, which arrived within 30 mins which was perfect.After a good nights sleep I made my way to the restaurant/conservatory for breakfast.This was a very pleasant experience,I had salmon and scrabbled eggs followed by fruit toast etc. The staff are professional,and there is car parking.I stay in a lot of hotels with business and this is top of my list.Please do not sell out to one of the larger hotel brands !!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank T Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilydale, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

This hotel is 5 to 10 minutes walk from Kings Cross Station, which is a direct ride on the train from Heathrow. The breakfast is wonderful, plenty to choose from but the room is tiny. The double rooms are very small, we struggled to walk around the bed let alone unpack our suitcases. Overnight would be okay but our 4 night stay was way too long in this small place. Ensuite small too.

Room Tip: Overnight only!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebMarmion1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antioch
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

My daughter and I had a nice 4 night stay here. Rooms are as described, well suited but small. Breakfast is very good, and they will accommodate to your taste. Easy walk to underground or trains. Safe area, but very busy. People passed by our window until 2am, and morning commuters started at 5am. We had to leave our window open, warm spell while we were in London, so noise was an issue.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harold P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stayed for one night after visiting Wimbledon for the tennis. Spotlessly clean. Good quality towels etc. Lovely soft pillows and comfy bed. Very nice full English breakfast. Staff very helpful. So close to St Pancras, which is ideal for us.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jab007Derby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#244 of 1,087 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,914 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#114 of 1,087 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Ibis London Euston St Pancras
Bloomsbury
The California
The California
#366 of 1,087 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Point A Hotel, London Paddington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jesmond Dene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jesmond Dene Hotel

Property: Jesmond Dene Hotel
Address: 27 Argyle Street, London WC1H 8EP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras , Regent's Park / Kings Cross
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #240 of 1,087 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Jesmond Dene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located across the road from Kings Cross St. Pancras International. The Jesmond Dene is a 3 Star family run bed and breakfast hotel which has an excellent reputation. Our high standards in cleanliness and service make us a number one choice for your visit to London. Read from over 1800 reviews online to hear from our many happy customers! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Superbreak UK so you can book your Jesmond Dene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing