We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value - Great location - Great service”
Review of Jesmond Dene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Ranked #305 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2010

Our party consisted of my parents (72-74 yrs old), husband and two teenage girls.

Darren was wonderful to work with. I had A LOT of emails wih questions and he answered every one. There was a problem with my email so I wasn't receiving his responses so he called me a couple of times to check. That was months before we arrived.

Great locaton - just down the road from the St Pancras/Kings Cross station which connects to many main tube lines,buses and train. Clean station as well. The British museum is withing walking distance.

Rooms were small but we didn't need much room anyway - just to sleep. The rooms were clean, beds were comfy and we did get fresh towels every other day. The teens had the bedroom in the basement next to the kitchen. Their room had shower which they appreciated. They said they only heard people in the morning but they were already awake.

My only "complaints" would be

1. Noise from outside - the rooms did not have air conditioning so we had to keep the window open (which we like anyway) but we then heard the traffic and people walking by with suitcases. That is something that can't be helped by The Jesmond though. It wasn't that bad, just something we noticed. We still slept well.

2. Breakfast was great but after a few days, the English breakfast gets kind of old. There was cereal. Just some more options would be nice. Fresh fruit, scones, ect. I understand that it could increase cost but maybe have those to purchae?

3. Toilets - we knew this before we arrived but you have to share the toilet/shower. Wasn't a problem for us as our room was across the hall but my parents had to go up or down a flight for a toilet/shower. The shower/toilets were always clean and supplied though.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Next time I am in London, I will be staying at the Jesmond!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GetOutThere2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,788)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

948 - 954 of 1,788 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2010

OUr family of three, husband and wife and 11 year old son stayed at the Jesmond Dene for 5 nights at the beginnning of July, 2010. The inn was full for the dates we needed so we were booked in a 1st floor flat a block from the inn. It included a kitchen and washer/dryer in an adjoining room. We were surprised that our son's bed was a mattress on the floor. The TV only had 4 channels and a terrible picture. The manager promised to tix or replace the TV the entire time we were there but he couldn't get it replaced. He did refund us 50 pounds for the inconvenience I should add. There were not enough tables for everyone to eat breakfast so we had to wait for a table. The location was ideal for us close to the underground and King's Cross and
St. Pancras station. The manager was helpful but the whold place seemed understaffed during the time we were in the inn to ask questions or have breakfast. The flat was 170 pounds a night which was high compared to other B & B's we stayed in but may not be high for London.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank altalomafolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2010

Booking in , paying and obtaining information on local sites was done in a friendly and efficient manner. The rooms were very clean and bright although a little small.
Breakfast was plentiful and well presented

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mminowk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2010

The hotel was everything we were looking for: reasonably priced, in the right area and a pleasant place to stay. Will definitely stay again if we find ourselves overnight in London! The breakfast was delicious as well!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nephthys104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2010

Staff very unfriendly especially the girl on reception found her rudeand obnoxious she was eastern euroopean and never experienced anything like that before would recommend anyone not to go there couldnt wait to leave!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank pathoulihan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JesmondDeneHotel, Manager at Jesmond Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2010

Mr. Houligan,

The reason why the girl on reception was rude and obnoxious was because you tried to sexually assault her. You came in drunk with your 2 friends and attempted to lure her to your bedroom. I have this on CCTV. I have already reported this and suggest you do not return to my hotel as you are not welcome.

If you want to try and get a companion I suggest cutting down on your alcohol consumption.

Darren
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2010

I was actually visiting France but flew in and out of Heathrow and spent a night at the Desmond Jene both upon arriving in London and prior to flying out. It was refreshing - very clean, very modern, very comfortable. The staff were friendly and incredibly helpful, and it was wonderful to be able to leave bags at the hotel and wander around prior to checking in and after checking out. The breakfast that is included was lovely and it was nice to be at a hotel where it didn't cost extra! It was also very quiet, despite being so close to the King's Cross and St Pancras stations. The location was also ideal - the Underground was right there as well as several bus lines - it didn't take long to get anywhere. I enjoyed everything about the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Asamlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2010

Very well located in a quiet street next to King's Cross and St Pancras Stations. Close to extravagant Camden town with excellent access to the Underground leading very easily to all parts of London. A place we do recommand and keep in our address book for our next stay in the British capital ! Caroline & Nicolas - Strasbourg - France

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vega1904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#270 of 1,081 in London
2,078 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross St Pancras
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#135 of 1,081 in London
1,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Hotel Melville
Hotel Melville
#842 of 1,081 in London
461 reviews
The Westbridge Hotel
#97 of 1,081 in London
1,519 reviews
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#143 of 1,081 in London
2,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jesmond Dene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jesmond Dene Hotel

Address: 27 Argyle Street, London WC1H 8EP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras , Regent's Park / Kings Cross
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #305 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Price Range: £68 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jesmond Dene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located across the road from Kings Cross St. Pancras International. The Jesmond Dene is a 3 Star family run bed and breakfast hotel which has an excellent reputation. Our high standards in cleanliness and service make us a number one choice for your visit to London. Read from over 1800 reviews online to hear from our many happy customers! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Jesmond Dene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing