We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice small place next to Kings Cross station”
Review of Jesmond Dene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Ranked #239 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice small place next to Kings Cross station”
Reviewed 1 September 2010

This hotel is located near Kings Cross station in London, which suited my needs well. The rooms are on the small side, but that's to be expected in London. It was very warm out when we were visiting. My room had a functioning AC unit (though, oddly, I had to ask for a remote from the front desk in order to turn it on). However, my associates' rooms did not have functioning AC units. Access to the building was restricted with a locked door, which I thought was nice. Free, reliable, wireless Internet was provided, which is always a bonus.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheedum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,727 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    804
    697
    172
    33
    21
See reviews for
539
526
170
188
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2010

The hotel was under renovation when we went, but the rooms were comfortable (if small) and reasonably modern.

Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank KHATatonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venlo, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 30 August 2010

This was the second time we stayed here. The full English breakfast was lovely as ever, the staff warm and welcoming and the rooms, albeit somewhat small, clean and with all amenities.
The proximity to King's Cross station is about two minutes so who could ask for anything more!!
We will be back!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josette14-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2010

Our party consisted of my parents (72-74 yrs old), husband and two teenage girls.

Darren was wonderful to work with. I had A LOT of emails wih questions and he answered every one. There was a problem with my email so I wasn't receiving his responses so he called me a couple of times to check. That was months before we arrived.

Great locaton - just down the road from the St Pancras/Kings Cross station which connects to many main tube lines,buses and train. Clean station as well. The British museum is withing walking distance.

Rooms were small but we didn't need much room anyway - just to sleep. The rooms were clean, beds were comfy and we did get fresh towels every other day. The teens had the bedroom in the basement next to the kitchen. Their room had shower which they appreciated. They said they only heard people in the morning but they were already awake.

My only "complaints" would be

1. Noise from outside - the rooms did not have air conditioning so we had to keep the window open (which we like anyway) but we then heard the traffic and people walking by with suitcases. That is something that can't be helped by The Jesmond though. It wasn't that bad, just something we noticed. We still slept well.

2. Breakfast was great but after a few days, the English breakfast gets kind of old. There was cereal. Just some more options would be nice. Fresh fruit, scones, ect. I understand that it could increase cost but maybe have those to purchae?

3. Toilets - we knew this before we arrived but you have to share the toilet/shower. Wasn't a problem for us as our room was across the hall but my parents had to go up or down a flight for a toilet/shower. The shower/toilets were always clean and supplied though.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Next time I am in London, I will be staying at the Jesmond!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GetOutThere2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2010

OUr family of three, husband and wife and 11 year old son stayed at the Jesmond Dene for 5 nights at the beginnning of July, 2010. The inn was full for the dates we needed so we were booked in a 1st floor flat a block from the inn. It included a kitchen and washer/dryer in an adjoining room. We were surprised that our son's bed was a mattress on the floor. The TV only had 4 channels and a terrible picture. The manager promised to tix or replace the TV the entire time we were there but he couldn't get it replaced. He did refund us 50 pounds for the inconvenience I should add. There were not enough tables for everyone to eat breakfast so we had to wait for a table. The location was ideal for us close to the underground and King's Cross and
St. Pancras station. The manager was helpful but the whold place seemed understaffed during the time we were in the inn to ask questions or have breakfast. The flat was 170 pounds a night which was high compared to other B & B's we stayed in but may not be high for London.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank altalomafolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2010

Booking in , paying and obtaining information on local sites was done in a friendly and efficient manner. The rooms were very clean and bright although a little small.
Breakfast was plentiful and well presented

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mminowk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2010

The hotel was everything we were looking for: reasonably priced, in the right area and a pleasant place to stay. Will definitely stay again if we find ourselves overnight in London! The breakfast was delicious as well!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nephthys104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#248 of 1,067 in London
1,967 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross St Pancras
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#123 of 1,067 in London
2,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#129 of 1,067 in London
1,201 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Point A Hotel, London Paddington
Bloomsbury
The California
The California
#373 of 1,067 in London
1,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jesmond Dene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jesmond Dene Hotel

Property: Jesmond Dene Hotel
Address: 27 Argyle Street, London WC1H 8EP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras , Regent's Park / Kings Cross
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #239 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Jesmond Dene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located across the road from Kings Cross St. Pancras International. The Jesmond Dene is a 3 Star family run bed and breakfast hotel which has an excellent reputation. Our high standards in cleanliness and service make us a number one choice for your visit to London. Read from over 1800 reviews online to hear from our many happy customers! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Jesmond Dene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing