We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, nice and near the underground!!!!”
Review of Jesmond Dene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Ranked #258 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Prato, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Clean, nice and near the underground!!!!”
Reviewed 21 October 2010

Just come back from one week in londo where i stayed in this beatiful b&b.
The room was very nice, pretty small, but clean and with a almost new bathroom.
Everyday they changed the towel and arrange the room.
Also it's very near to the king's cross station making move very easy.
The staff is very nice and helpul.
Recommended!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morga11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,750 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    814
    705
    174
    35
    22
See reviews for
545
534
173
188
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boone, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2010

I loved staying at the Jesmond Dene Hotel ! All of the employees were kind and respectful. The accommodations were perfect- Hardwood floors, high ceilings, lots of windows- all very clean and cheery !

The host and hostess were so generous and helpful.

I thinks this is such a wonderful place to stay-

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkyscakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2010

The hotel was warm, spotlessly clean, and reception welcoming. Great thought had been put into making sure that everything was right for the guests. The room was "compact", to say the least, tiny, not much bigger than a caravan (!), but comfortable, clean, up-to-date and well maintained, and contained everything we needed for a one night stay. We had a quiet room at the back of the hotel and slept well. The (German made) pillows were the most comfortable we have ever slept on - and we'd like to know where to buy some for our home! Having been forewarned by others on this website we got up early for breakfast and had no difficulty getting a table. In fact accommodation kept up with demand, and no-one had to wait for a table. Breakfast itself, and service, was excellent. Location is excellent. A quiet part of London with choice of restaurants and pubs roundabout, and a few minutes level walk from busy Euston Road and Kings Cross/ Eurostar stations. Yes, you can get 2-3 times the space nearby at 2-3 times the price and you can find cheaper hotels locally, but we thought these prices were fair for the quality,

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geodent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2010

very nice hotel for the money, and frankly a more than decent hotel irrespective of cost. Right next to Kings Cross/St Pancras, excellent quick breakfast in the morning, commfortable rooms with flat screen TVs, cable, tea-making facilities, free wireless internet. My room was up a very narrow staircase and had a very small bathroom, but for the price I was paying, this really did not bother me, and I was expecting these features from prior trip-advisor reports. The wakeup call failed, so set an alarm (which I always do as backup anyway, so no harm done on this particular occasion). I would definitely stay here again if I needed to stay near Kings Cross.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adl8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2010

Stayed with my teenage son on our first trip to London. Location fantastic as despite being near King's Cross station the hotel was located on a quiet street. It was very convenient to get buses and to take the underground to any part of London.
Especially useful were the maps provided by the hotel. We managed to make our way around London by the second day.
Breakfast was good and filling. Rooms though small are adequate
Our suggestion would be to have coffee / tea making facilities in the room or lobby. This will enable guests to make some drinks at other times of the day.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jademalaysia07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2010

I had the pleasure of staying at the Jesmond Dene Hotel in London on Sept. 24. Because I have a slight disability and use a cane, Darren very helpfully booked me in one of the ground floor rooms with en suite facilities. The cleanliness and superior bedding more than made up for the smaller size than the average American hotel room. While I was away in Nottinghamshire for the weekend, I was allowed to leave my larger suitcase at the hotel--a blessing indeed. I returned to London on Sept. 27 and stayed through Sept. 30. During this stay the hotel itself was full, so Darren arranged for me to stay in an apartment close by in St. Chad's Street. The apartment was thoroughly up-to-date, sparkling clean and had a kitchen (pots, cutlery, etc. included) and a washer/dryer. Also, someone cleaned the bathroom and made the bed daily while I was out. Although the apartment was closer to Gray's Inn Road and more traffic noise, I was very happy there and was able to have breakfast at the hotel still. On the plus side, several restaurants and an off license shop are within easy walking distance of the apartment.

The excellent breakfast is made to order, and the serving staff is quite friendly. Frankly, I could not have asked for a more helpful and courteous hotel staff. I never felt as if I was inconveniencing anyone with my questions and requests. Darren and the rest--especially Paul, who helped me to St. Pancras with my luggage upon checkout and very unwillingly accepted a tip for his trouble--are wonderful and obviously take pride in a job well done. Without any qualms, I recommend the Jesmond Dene to anyone wishing to
stay in central London.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mcsmith1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south yorkshire
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2010

Stayed here ovenight on our Ruby wedding trip to London. The double superior room with shower was more than adequate for our needs. Plenty of tea and coffee facilities and television. The room was spotless and well appointed. Service was excellent and so was the brillliant breakfast. The dining room was bright and cheerful staff extremely helpful.. We were able to have the window open all night and not a bit of noise disturbed us. We will most certainly stay here next time we visit London as it is only a few minutes walk from Kings Cross /St. Pancras Station. Truly extremely good value.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank topsyduff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#250 of 1,069 in London
2,000 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross St Pancras
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#131 of 1,069 in London
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#132 of 1,069 in London
2,446 reviews
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London St Pancras Hotel
Bloomsbury
The California
The California
#391 of 1,069 in London
1,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jesmond Dene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jesmond Dene Hotel

Property: Jesmond Dene Hotel
Address: 27 Argyle Street, London WC1H 8EP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras , Regent's Park / Kings Cross
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #258 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Jesmond Dene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located across the road from Kings Cross St. Pancras International. The Jesmond Dene is a 3 Star family run bed and breakfast hotel which has an excellent reputation. Our high standards in cleanliness and service make us a number one choice for your visit to London. Read from over 1800 reviews online to hear from our many happy customers! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jesmond Dene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing