We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience”
Review of Jesmond Dene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Ranked #239 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
1 review
“Excellent experience”
Reviewed 23 October 2010

my friend and I stayed here for 2 nights. We choose the basic twin room which need to share bathroom and toilet with other rooms. We was concerned about the bathroom as we had been told that the bathroom may share among 8 rooms. but it's clean!
Location is quite near Kings Cross Station, staff are nice. The experience is absolutely more than I expect. I'd love to stay there again! The only thing is, there's quite a lot steps, and we was arranged to stay at a 4th floor room... but staff are really nice to help us take the suitcase to the room.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PlanetGallifrey_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,727 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    804
    697
    172
    33
    21
See reviews for
539
526
170
188
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West lothian
Level Contributor
86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2010

The Jesmond Dene is a small and friendly hotel. The location is superb under 5 minutes walk to Kings Cross station and underground.

I found that the room was a little small. We had a 3 bed room and really there wasn’t much room to relax or put suitcases. This however wasn’t a major disadvantage for us as we were out most of the day and only used the rooms for sleeping at night and getting ready to go out. But the room did offer all the amenities that you want, E.G. Kettle, tea, coffee, shower gel and shampoo. Our room was cleaned daily which was always done to an exceptional standard.

We went for breakfast normally at 7.30 and never had to wait for a table which was a plus. The breakfasts were superb they offered toast, Cereals and a lovely cooked breakfast. A suggestion to make breakfast better would be to offer a second pot of tea or coffee.

The free wifi in hotel was really good and I always found it fast and reliable. I liked the fact that they offered two separate networks you could use, so if one got slow you could move onto the other network. However I never needed to do this.

The Staff couldn’t be more friendly or helpful and happily give you directions if you are unsure.

If you want nice quiet and well run accommodation the Jesmond Dene is the place to stay in London.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timecapsule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prato, Italy
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2010

Just come back from one week in londo where i stayed in this beatiful b&b.
The room was very nice, pretty small, but clean and with a almost new bathroom.
Everyday they changed the towel and arrange the room.
Also it's very near to the king's cross station making move very easy.
The staff is very nice and helpul.
Recommended!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morga11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boone, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2010

I loved staying at the Jesmond Dene Hotel ! All of the employees were kind and respectful. The accommodations were perfect- Hardwood floors, high ceilings, lots of windows- all very clean and cheery !

The host and hostess were so generous and helpful.

I thinks this is such a wonderful place to stay-

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkyscakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2010

The hotel was warm, spotlessly clean, and reception welcoming. Great thought had been put into making sure that everything was right for the guests. The room was "compact", to say the least, tiny, not much bigger than a caravan (!), but comfortable, clean, up-to-date and well maintained, and contained everything we needed for a one night stay. We had a quiet room at the back of the hotel and slept well. The (German made) pillows were the most comfortable we have ever slept on - and we'd like to know where to buy some for our home! Having been forewarned by others on this website we got up early for breakfast and had no difficulty getting a table. In fact accommodation kept up with demand, and no-one had to wait for a table. Breakfast itself, and service, was excellent. Location is excellent. A quiet part of London with choice of restaurants and pubs roundabout, and a few minutes level walk from busy Euston Road and Kings Cross/ Eurostar stations. Yes, you can get 2-3 times the space nearby at 2-3 times the price and you can find cheaper hotels locally, but we thought these prices were fair for the quality,

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geodent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2010

very nice hotel for the money, and frankly a more than decent hotel irrespective of cost. Right next to Kings Cross/St Pancras, excellent quick breakfast in the morning, commfortable rooms with flat screen TVs, cable, tea-making facilities, free wireless internet. My room was up a very narrow staircase and had a very small bathroom, but for the price I was paying, this really did not bother me, and I was expecting these features from prior trip-advisor reports. The wakeup call failed, so set an alarm (which I always do as backup anyway, so no harm done on this particular occasion). I would definitely stay here again if I needed to stay near Kings Cross.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adl8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2010

Stayed with my teenage son on our first trip to London. Location fantastic as despite being near King's Cross station the hotel was located on a quiet street. It was very convenient to get buses and to take the underground to any part of London.
Especially useful were the maps provided by the hotel. We managed to make our way around London by the second day.
Breakfast was good and filling. Rooms though small are adequate
Our suggestion would be to have coffee / tea making facilities in the room or lobby. This will enable guests to make some drinks at other times of the day.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jademalaysia07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#248 of 1,067 in London
1,967 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross St Pancras
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#123 of 1,067 in London
2,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#129 of 1,067 in London
1,201 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Point A Hotel, London Paddington
Bloomsbury
The California
The California
#373 of 1,067 in London
1,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jesmond Dene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jesmond Dene Hotel

Property: Jesmond Dene Hotel
Address: 27 Argyle Street, London WC1H 8EP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras , Regent's Park / Kings Cross
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #239 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Jesmond Dene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located across the road from Kings Cross St. Pancras International. The Jesmond Dene is a 3 Star family run bed and breakfast hotel which has an excellent reputation. Our high standards in cleanliness and service make us a number one choice for your visit to London. Read from over 1800 reviews online to hear from our many happy customers! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Jesmond Dene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing