We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Jesmond Dene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Ranked #235 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
timisoara
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2010

We stayed for 2 nights. The hotel seems to be fully booked all the time. Unfortunately our flight arrived at 8 in the morning and we walked a bit in London in order to delay our arrival at the hotel but it was too windy and at about 11 am we arrived there. Obviously the room was not ready. We were told it would be ready by 14, as it is also mentioned on their site, butthe room was not ready even at 14. This was the only minor inconvenience. I explained that I had a meeting at 15 and I needed to change and in no time they gave us our room.

English breakfast with the best scrambled eggs I've had in ages. Skipped the beans and sausages. No cheese. That was a minus, but there is an M&S 5 minutes from the hotel inside St Pancras station and you can buy some...as we did:)

All in all would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluedeep77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,717 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    802
    691
    170
    33
    21
See reviews for
537
521
169
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2010

I chose this hotel after reading the tripadvisor's reviews. I stayed two nights with my daughter and we are very happy with our choice. The hotel was very close to the King's Cross station but quiet. The room was small but very clean especially the bathroom was really nice. The people were very friendly as well. I would go back to this hotel again when we go to London.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miki47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2010

Very good room, very clean and fresh.
The management is extremly keen to ensure everyone has a good stay.
We needed to drop our car off early - it was not a problem.
Thank you Jesmond Dene Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kath_hardman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2010

Stayed here one night before getting the Eurostar early the next morning. It's about five minutes walk to the Eurostar terminal, so couldn't be more convenient. Staff were friendly, the room was clean and comfortable and the shower was excellent. We didn't go for an en-suite, but the shower and loo were just across the corridor and no queues (actually didn't see any other guests on our landing).

Breakfast was a full english; we restricted ourselves to a couple of items but all seemed OK. Would definitely look to stay here again in similar circumstances.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnnie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2010

my friend and I stayed here for 2 nights. We choose the basic twin room which need to share bathroom and toilet with other rooms. We was concerned about the bathroom as we had been told that the bathroom may share among 8 rooms. but it's clean!
Location is quite near Kings Cross Station, staff are nice. The experience is absolutely more than I expect. I'd love to stay there again! The only thing is, there's quite a lot steps, and we was arranged to stay at a 4th floor room... but staff are really nice to help us take the suitcase to the room.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PlanetGallifrey_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West lothian
Level Contributor
84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2010

The Jesmond Dene is a small and friendly hotel. The location is superb under 5 minutes walk to Kings Cross station and underground.

I found that the room was a little small. We had a 3 bed room and really there wasn’t much room to relax or put suitcases. This however wasn’t a major disadvantage for us as we were out most of the day and only used the rooms for sleeping at night and getting ready to go out. But the room did offer all the amenities that you want, E.G. Kettle, tea, coffee, shower gel and shampoo. Our room was cleaned daily which was always done to an exceptional standard.

We went for breakfast normally at 7.30 and never had to wait for a table which was a plus. The breakfasts were superb they offered toast, Cereals and a lovely cooked breakfast. A suggestion to make breakfast better would be to offer a second pot of tea or coffee.

The free wifi in hotel was really good and I always found it fast and reliable. I liked the fact that they offered two separate networks you could use, so if one got slow you could move onto the other network. However I never needed to do this.

The Staff couldn’t be more friendly or helpful and happily give you directions if you are unsure.

If you want nice quiet and well run accommodation the Jesmond Dene is the place to stay in London.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timecapsule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prato, Italy
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2010

Just come back from one week in londo where i stayed in this beatiful b&b.
The room was very nice, pretty small, but clean and with a almost new bathroom.
Everyday they changed the towel and arrange the room.
Also it's very near to the king's cross station making move very easy.
The staff is very nice and helpul.
Recommended!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morga11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#247 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,933 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#114 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#129 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Point A Hotel, London Paddington
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Ibis London Euston St Pancras
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jesmond Dene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jesmond Dene Hotel

Property: Jesmond Dene Hotel
Address: 27 Argyle Street, London WC1H 8EP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras , Regent's Park / Kings Cross
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #235 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Jesmond Dene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located across the road from Kings Cross St. Pancras International. The Jesmond Dene is a 3 Star family run bed and breakfast hotel which has an excellent reputation. Our high standards in cleanliness and service make us a number one choice for your visit to London. Read from over 1800 reviews online to hear from our many happy customers! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Superbreak UK, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Jesmond Dene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing